We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything but the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Everything but the Beach”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

wow, wow, wow!

My wife and I stayed here for 11 nights in June 2010. This really is a great place for relaxing and letting go.
The hotel itself is set in beautiful, scenic, well kept gardens with a great view of the sea about a mile away and a deep pool. It has about 40 suites.
We were shown by Terry to room 103 which was a ground floor suite in the gardens. The room was clean and large with a living room, kitchenette, bathroom, and bedroom with twin beds.
The bar and restaurant are in the main building overlooking the pool and gardens and just off of the reception area. The bar is unfortunately quite small and if there are any more than 6 people around it, it is a little difficult to get to but even so the staff are great for keeping you watered.
The restaurant is open plan and large. Breakfast is varied with eggs made to order, buffet English breakfast or cereal, fruit and toast. Lunch is on menu, with various sandwiches, salads or fresh local fish. Evening food is either buffet or A'la carte and again very varied. Overall the food is sensational.
We received a free couple’s massage from the onsite spa which was very professional and totally relaxing. My wife also had a facial. The spa facilitates and treatments are of a very high standard and the staff were very knowledgeable and welcoming.
If you want to keep up your fitness regime there is a well equipped gym but for me it was the full size squash court that kept me busy in the morning before breakfast.
Finally on reception you can pre book tours and a 3 times a day shuttle to the local beach (15 min walk). It's not the greatest of beaches (there are so much better including, Bottom Bay, Foal Bay, Mullins Beach and Rockley) so I would highly recommend hiring a car (we used Coconut Car Hire - best price). In terms of tours we didn't really want to do too much but Terry highly recommended a night out in Oistins. I can see why. We had an amazing evening with great company and great tour guide.

The only small downsides are obviously your not on the beach and the pool side bar is only open for the bbq evenings.

Overall we had a magical 11 days and really didn't want to come home. The reason, well the hotel is great but the whole expericane is topped off by the best staff and guests ever.

We were told the hotel will be closed at the end of June for some renovations. I understand that this is to build a new bar and change some of the kitchen area. Overall this will help the hotel and I think it will make it even better.

If you are looking for pure relaxation with heavenly staff then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    196
    52
    13
    6
See reviews for
94
898
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We had the penthouse suite for a week and if your sharing (it has 2 bedrooms) then do yourself a favour and pay a little extra to have this. Its one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in.

We didnt do all-inclusive as we were working a bit and not at teh hotel enough. The kitchens as very well equipped though and a trip to the supermarket sorted us out very well.

They are trying hard to raise the calibre of this hotel and the staff are very helpful. The food is excellent (though could perhaps vary a little more) and even the house red was great. The spa and gym are very good. Lovely pool and the views spectacular.

Eating out is expensive in Barbados, so all-inclusive is a good deal, but do yourself a favour and go to Fish Pot (10 mins) for lunch, or Mullins. Spieghtown looks grotty at first but is great if you explore a bit. Casareep is meant to be good according to local chums.

This hotel is a great deal. If you can afford Sandy Lane you probably dont bother with Tripadvisor, but this is a much better deal than the bigger beach all-inclusives which are a bit soulless.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camberleybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

This is hotel, was set up a cul-de-sac up a steap hill from the beach, upon arrival, there was a little faffing around but a rum punch goes down very well ! And as soon as you check in to your apartment - you cant help but relax into things !! It was huge, and like a home from home.
The pool area was fab - and the pool itself was never cold, even earnly morning - just perfect.
The grounds were lovely also, and the monkeys were truely brilliant. Just sit amongst them and you can get some brilliant pictures :)
The staff are friendly - but very laid back, so after you get used to the fact asking them to repeat themselves, things are fine. Sometimes there is a wait on drinks as there is only 1 barman on at a time.
The food is totally 1st class - we didn't have a bad meal and we were AI for a week.
The beach - to be honest we were very dissapointed with this, and i think it should be moved or changed. There is a shuttle service daily. But we never used this.
We actually hired a car as they drive on the same side of the road and it only worked out to have a Jeep soft top at £35 a day, which we thought was very good. From cocanut car rentals, they drop the car off and collect from the hotel.
We toured all around the island - and had a ball at doing it - stopped off at all of the little unknown coves and beaches, went into town, made our way to the beach for sunsets - its was fab.
Driving over there is really safe, and Barbados as a whole is such a safe place to go.

Kate and David Alvarez.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katelized7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport S Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Stayed at the Sugar cane for one week in May and this was our first all inclusive stay in Barbados. Was not disappointed at all by this hotel and its staff and facilities. If you just want to chill out for a week then this certainly is the place for you. We rather the beach and as this hotel is not on the beach was the only downside. There is a shuttle bus to the small beach which provides AI customers with limited but ample drinks. The grounds are immaculate and monkeys can often be seen in the mornings. Staff are fantastic and will do everything to make you feel welcome. Food at this hotel is first class and even the buffet BBQ nights are superb with steaks that you would gladly pay £20 back home. Would we go back? Yes for a weeks chill but not for two weeks. We are fans of the Bougainvillea Beach in the south but this does not offer AI and with the parity of the dollar will be very expensive compared to what we got for the money at Sugar Cane. Will be back to Barbados again, who knows where we will stay next time!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NotoSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

This hotel is the tops. Really friendly staff who are trying really hard to make everything as comfortable as possible. The food was fantastic, with beautiful local fish every day as part of a wide menu. It is a bit away from the beach but with three shuttles a day to the beach and town, this wasn't a problem. Also, when at the beach, they have a facility with drinks, shower, toilet, deck chairs and parasols with staff to look after your needs. They will lend out snorkel kit & kyaks etc as well.
We had a room with a sea view balcony and air conditioning in the room. When we filled in the survey at the end, the only improvement I could think of was to be served drinks more often by the pool - I had to walk 20 yrds to the bar otherwise!
It was a fabulous relaxing holiday, and because of the small number of rooms, we made good friends with four other couples during our stay and had a really good time.
We had one trip out to see Harrisons Cave, which was interesteing but a bit sanitised and a trip shopping in Speightstown which was a bit uninspiring. The hotel do a glass bottom boat trip (in the price) to see turtles and we had the opportunity to swim with them and touch them which was really good.
There was also the spectacle of the local green monkeys sneaking onto the hotel gardens to steal the mangos - they were nervous but exciting to watch.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rpasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unoted kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2010

we stayed at sugar cane for 3 days before going on a cruise [cruise was fab] but we loved the sugar cane i was upset leaVING THERE RODDY AND ALL HIS STAFF WERE FAB we are hopeing to go back next year for a 10 day stay what a fab and relaxing place you would not be dissapointed if you go to this hotel

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madmaz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level 6 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We live in Barbados, but stayed at Sugar Cane Club on our wedding night and the following night in November last year, and it was just perfect for a honeymoon. We opted for the all inclusive package. The food was fantastic. I have stayed all inclusive at other hotels in Barbados, and have never been given the option of a 4 course a la carte meal at any of the others. I had steak which was amazing! The staff are also very friendly, Terry makes you feel very welcome and Natasha in the spa is lovely too. We had a green monkey express message while staying at the hotel and enjoyed it so much, we are booked in again next week for the same massage. The accommodation is of very good standard and the 1 bedroom apartment we had was spacious. There seemed to be mainly couples staying there, instead of groups, however, as the hotel is small, everyone got to know each other, even within the 2 days we stayed there for.

If you are after an action packed holiday, this is probably not the place for you. If you want to chill, with good food and lovely surroundings, make sure you stay here.

I am already looking at staying there again for our wedding anniversary this year. We live no more than 20 minute walk from Sugar Cane Club, but still felt like we were a million miles away.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glittergirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Peter Parish
7.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,050 reviews
14.0 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
307 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
763 reviews
0.7 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,369 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Property: Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Address: Maynards, BB26011, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is graciously located on the North West Coast & Caribbean side of the Island Barbados. This 4 star deluxe Boutique Hotel is set upon a hilltop and has a charming Mediterranean architecture amongst tranquil and tropical ambiance. The Hotel & Spa is known for its warm hospitality, delivery of outstanding staff, service, and facilities in a casual setting. The 45 all-suite Hotel boasts one of the islands leading spa’s, two restaurants and bars, two swimming pools, a guest lounge, gym, art gallery, souvenir shop, squash court, and complimentary shuttle service amongst many more. Sugar Cane Club only accepts teenagers from ages 14 years and up, and no children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Club Hotel And Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Hotel
Sugar Cane Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing