We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect break after our wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Barbados
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect break after our wedding”
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We live in Barbados, but stayed at Sugar Cane Club on our wedding night and the following night in November last year, and it was just perfect for a honeymoon. We opted for the all inclusive package. The food was fantastic. I have stayed all inclusive at other hotels in Barbados, and have never been given the option of a 4 course a la carte meal at any of the others. I had steak which was amazing! The staff are also very friendly, Terry makes you feel very welcome and Natasha in the spa is lovely too. We had a green monkey express message while staying at the hotel and enjoyed it so much, we are booked in again next week for the same massage. The accommodation is of very good standard and the 1 bedroom apartment we had was spacious. There seemed to be mainly couples staying there, instead of groups, however, as the hotel is small, everyone got to know each other, even within the 2 days we stayed there for.

If you are after an action packed holiday, this is probably not the place for you. If you want to chill, with good food and lovely surroundings, make sure you stay here.

I am already looking at staying there again for our wedding anniversary this year. We live no more than 20 minute walk from Sugar Cane Club, but still felt like we were a million miles away.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glittergirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    196
    52
    13
    6
See reviews for
94
898
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We came to this hotel on recommendation from a couple we met on another holiday and we were not disappointed. The hotel is small and friendly. The grounds and pool area are really well maintained and the suites are clean, comfortable and of a high standard - the full kitchen is not needed by those of us on all inclusive, but the fridge/freezer and kettle were very useful. The food was outstanding, by far the best we have ever had on any other all inclusive holiday. The steaks are wonderful along with everything else on the menu. Our only 'complaint' was that the portion sizes were huge and there must be a large amount of food wasted which is such a shame as it is so delicious.
We hired a car for 2 days and had a good look around the island. There are some lovely areas and driving was easy with quiet roads (except in the towns) and good road signage.
We loved every minute of our stay, but if you are looking for a hectic day or night life then this is not the place for you. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere, the lack of organised entertainment and the company of many like minded other guests. We hope to return again to this wonderful hotel. Thanks to all the staff who make this such a relaxing space.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

The hotel is adult only & is in a lovely area, which is nice & quiet, but if you want you can go to Speightstown which is about 2 miles away if you want a more liveley area! Our room was on the first floor & it was more like an apartment, it was clean & spacious & it had a big balcony. Every room has either a balcony or a terrace. the staff were really friendly & the food was absolutely gorgeous!! They had themed food nights like caribbean BBQ & International night with entertainment. We met some really nice people out there. The beach is about a 10 minute walk or you can get on the free shuttle bus. The guy who looks after the beach is called the General & he is Great!! If you fancy a trip to the capital Bridgetown, try the Reggae bus (Yellow Buses) they are absolutely Banging! & we felt totally safe whenever we used them. It costs $1.50 each wherever you go in Barbados! BARGAIN!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank natashka76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

The hotel is everything it should be and promised to be. Not the hotel if you want lots of night life or activity (we didn't) but a very relaxing place for those people who want some time away from it all. It is a small hotel with none of the "resort" feel to it. Although it is not on the water's edge there is transport back and forth from the hotel to the beach every day at various times. However the gardens and pool area are of such a standard that there is no real need to go to the sea and the staff are absolutely superb. . Nothing is too much trouble and they are all friendly and cheerful. The quality of the food is adequate rather than exciting but that is the only criticism. Recommended

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vietatofumare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

The Sugar Cane is in a very lovely tropical setting with lots of nice trees, plants and wildlife. The food was excellent (the best I have had in an all inclusive), you must try the Caesar Salad and the Honeymoon Fantasy cocktail which was gorgeous.
The room was nicely furnished and the lounge area was a nice bonus! The pool was very clean and the grounds well maintained. We had a massage at the Spa which was great and the ponds at the front of the property had some beautiful Koi and Stingray.
We also met some lovely people while we there (hi Paul and Lucy)! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cosmicgirl_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We stayed at the Sugar Cane Club for our 10th wedding anniversary. We like boutique hotels and liked what we read on TripAdvisor. Seemed very reasonable as a Virgin package too. We were disappointed with our welcome and front of house, but it seems to vary depending on who's on when you arrive.
I'd asked for a first floor room so we could see the sea, but got put right next to the trees. We tried to move, but it was 98% full and we couldn't. Anyway, the next morning we went out on our balcony and saw the monkeys in the dappled sun and decided it was actually really nice and private.
Food was exceptional for an all inclusive - enjoyed every meal. Ate far too much and still trying to lose the pounds! We also had a wonderful meal at the Fish Pot one evening - pricey, but well worth it.
We came to do as little as possible and did, by and large. We enjoyed our time on the little beach, but other couples ventured farther afield and found bigger and better ones - we couldn't be bothered. We spent afternoons by the pool and always found a space we liked.
We took advantage of the included trip to Bridgetown and the turtle swim. And the complimentary massage was superb - can't believe someone so small could have so much strength - just what my shoulders needed.
We stayed 10 days and found it just right. By the end, I was ready to come home - the holiday had done its job. We were relaxed and had slept more than we've done in years. If we'd stayed longer, I'd have explored more, but that wasn't the objective of our holiday this time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debs&Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Excellent, informal check in with refreshing towel and fruit or rum punch offered. Just what you need after a long flight. Luggage taken directly to our room. Spacious accommodation with gorgeous and very generous complimentary toiletries. Staff throughout our stay were excellent, could not fault anyone in any way, they were obviously very well trained and made our stay a pleasure. We also had the opportunity of a chat with the manager at the roof top rum punch party, he was a joy to meet. Lovely swimming pool with ample sunbeds. Loved the food and the first class service. The poolside BBQ evening was a great way of getting to know everyone and there is a very friendly feel to the hotel. We had a hire car and went out most days. A very good packed lunch was available, but mostly we lunched out and about. sadly, Can't wait to go back!

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank moneyconvertor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Peter Parish
7.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
14.0 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
292 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
754 reviews
0.7 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,355 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Property: Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Address: Maynards, BB26011, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is graciously located on the North West Coast & Caribbean side of the Island Barbados. This 4 star deluxe Boutique Hotel is set upon a hilltop and has a charming Mediterranean architecture amongst tranquil and tropical ambiance. The Hotel & Spa is known for its warm hospitality, delivery of outstanding staff, service, and facilities in a casual setting. The 45 all-suite Hotel boasts one of the islands leading spa’s, two restaurants and bars, two swimming pools, a guest lounge, gym, art gallery, souvenir shop, squash court, and complimentary shuttle service amongst many more. Sugar Cane Club only accepts teenagers from ages 14 years and up, and no children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Club Hotel Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel And Spa
Sugar Cane Hotel
Sugar Cane Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing