We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A once in a lifetime holiday... that we intend to repeat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A once in a lifetime holiday... that we intend to repeat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We are a young couple who were booking 7 days in Barbados for the first time. We looked through a number of hotels and researched them thoroughly including tripadvisor reviews. We stumbled across a reasonably priced all-inclusive offer at Sugar Cane Club and with rave reviews on tripadvisor we went ahead and booked. We set out with high expectations and yet I would say they were probably exceeded. Sugar Cane Club justifies the somewhat lengthy review that is to follow. The information is accurate for all-inclusive guests but not all will apply to non all-inclusive guests.

The hotel is nestled in decent sized grounds that are beautiful and feel secluded and relaxing. As mentioned in many other reviews this does not, however, mean you are far from the beach. At a decent pace you are about a 10-15 minute walk from the nearest beach. Being on the west coast of Barbados the sea nearby is calm, warm and beautifully clear. If you do not want to walk then there is an air-conditioned shuttle service that will take you to and from the nearby Almond Beach Club for free. The Almond Beach club is a reasonably large hotel right on the beach that Sugar Cane Club guests can use the beach chairs/sun lougers of and also we were told all inclusive guests could get drinks and food there too but we never tried.

The shuttle service also provides a drop-off in the nearest town, Speightstown, as well as at the Speightstown bus depot where you can easily take a bus all the way down to Bridgetown. It is convenient and usually runs to time. Occcasionally we waited an extra 10-15 minutes.

When we arrived at SCC we were welcomed by very friendly, professional staff and a lovely rum punch. We were shown to our room, a Garden view room, which I highly recommend. The room itself is more than just a room - it is more like a suite. There is a decent sized balcony backing onto the gully behind the hotel and equipped with table, chairs and two sun loungers. When you first walk into the 'room' there is a living room type area with a sofa and tv with a few international news channels, sports channels and a couple of local channels. There is a fully equipped kitchen. The bedroom had a large, VERY comfortable bed with fully functional AC in the room. There was a large wardrobe including ironing board and safe for valuables plus an adjoining decent sized bathroom complete with hand towels, bath towels, beach towels plus hairdryer, shampoo, conditioner, body wash. We were absolutely amazed!! Even better - all of this was spotlessly clean.

The hotel is not as small as you might think from other reviews and photos however, it is always very calm. It was occupied mostly by couples aged 40+ and yet as a younger couple we could not recommend it highly enough. The place seems to attract friendly, sociable guests who politely say good morning, have a little chat, but generally leave you to your own devices. Particularly if you are a very busy young couple who want to go somewhere to relax (as we are) then this is the perfect place for you.

Service in the hotel is as every other review points out - excellent. Staff are polite and friendly, attentive but not intrusive. Absolutely ideal. The place is clearly very well run and yet I noticed the manager would often be helping out on the "shop floor"... carving meat, topping up your glass of water - all part of the service.

Speaking of food and drink - at sugar cane club the F&D is exceptional. It seems a well known fact along the west coast that SCC serves wonderful food and we would whole-heartedly agree. The main restaurant "La Salsa" has a varied a la carte menu several days a week both for lunch and then a seperate one for dinner. For breakfast there was an extensive hot food buffet, cereal, yoghurts, fruit, omelette bar and pastries. On other days dinner moves to around the beautiful, large swimming pool for live Caribbean music and a very tasty buffet (far better than your usual all-inclusive buffet fare). The gem for us though, was the wonderfully secluded Chattel Restaurant which serves a more limited selection of lovely local food in an almost tropical rainforest type setting. It's open less frequently so book a table at least the day before so you're not disappointed. Cocktails were available from 10am til late and were lovely. Neil, the wonderful, friendly bartender at the poolside bar whipped up some great cocktails. I would echo one or two other reviews however, in saying that the beer and soft drinks were sometimes a little warm and/or flat - generally NOT though.

The pool is large and warm with just enough sun loungers around it for the number of guests.

We used the Spa once and it was fantastic. We had a free head, neck and back massage in the "couples" room which was professional and highly relaxing. The team then organised for us to have our lunch in the quiet little retreat garden out the back which is usually empty, has a cute little pool to cool down in and a large wooden gazebo to retreat under to eat. All beautiful, quiet and relaxing. The gym facilities looked good but we didn't use them. There was a little shop with nice souvenirs and a range of snacks..plus you can pick up sun tan lotion, other medicine etc.

Just a few final words on excursions. All inclusive customers get a couple of extra trips free of charge that you can book. One is the gully walk where you take a walk through a valley-like, lush, green area behind the hotel etched out by water. The member of staff whose name i'm sorry I have forgotten takes you on an interesting, entertaining walk punctuated by hilarious tales from his childhood before leading you to a coconut tree where he retrieves a few for you to try the fresh coconut water. We also went on the glass bottom boat, which is exactly as it says - a boat with a glass bottom where you can see right down to the bottom of the clear sea. The ultimate prize at the end of the boat trip is stopping where turtles are swimming around - you can jump in and swim with them for a good 20 minutes or so. Bring a goggles/mask and optionally, a snorkel, if you want to get the most out of it. They are not provided.

A quick word on value for money - We spoke to a traveller who spent a LOT more for a hotel right on the beach and it sounds like it was inferior in every way - food, service, cleanliness not to mention no spa! I think the value for money you get at SCC must be amongst the best on the island.

Sorry for the excessively lengthy review but since every review is overwhelmingly positive I hope it is helpful for people to get a detailed sense of why this place is so special. We will be coming back again for sure and I have recommended to friends and family.

Thanks SCC. See you again in the future.

Room Tip: Take a garden room and you've got a good chance of seeing monkeys in the morning and again the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear James J, Many thanks for such a fantastic review that best describes SCC in its entirety. This comprehensive review has all staffs blown away by your observations as a young couple staying at a boutique hotel where most guests seem to be 40+. I’m sure potential guests reading your review will get a sense of home away from home feel that most of today’s busy travellers are searching for.SCC is the perfect place for those who wish to get away from the hustle and bustle of the large Cities and have a relaxing holiday, great food and excellent facilities all right here at no extra cost. Our staffs are truly a gem as we all share the same goal and that is total guests satisfaction. Thank you once again for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back!
Best wishes from the entire SCC team!!
Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    191
    52
    13
    6
See reviews for
91
876
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed here fr 3 nights before a Royal Clipper cruise and it made a wonderful and relaxing start to the holiday. As others have said the hotel is a little away from the sea and beach but the shuttle service was good and it was always a pleasure to get back to the tranquility of the Sugar cane Club, Food was good - especially breakfast and lunch and the rooms were very comfortable and spotless. We also were extremely impressed by the lovely and welcoming staff. We would certainly come back here when we come back to Barbados - highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room and enjoyed the views from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 36ADP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
36ADP, SCC is our Island Gem and sits very close in our hearts. The special care and attention we put into it and its family of staffs are what makes SCC what it is. Tripadvisor reviews are the best form of praise and reward for us the Staffs and management at Sugar Cane Club. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future to experience the wonders of Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa.
Regards from the entire SCC team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Although the hotel was a little away from the city in the south, it was nice to be in the tranquil setting of the hotel's gardens. It was also easy to catch the bus back to Bridgetown or catch a cab to holetown and there were plenty of restaurants nearby. We recommend the private tour with Damien who was the perfect host and who's commentary and passion for the island was fantastic. The staff were always friendly, provided a great service and all had such wonderful characters.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R0ma01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
ROmaO 1, Many thanks for your brief but excellent review on your visit to SCC. Sugar Cane Club is really a special place, great for its warm ambiance; and intimate setting. I am so glad that you have taken the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit. We have been working really hard to make SCC a very special place Food, service and facilities, and I am glad you felt we were able to provide you such a great experience. We appreciate you staying with us and please let me know if I may ever be of service.
Best regards Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed there in March for 3 nights after a Royal Clipper cruise and even though we arrived very early in the day we were still made to feel welcome and given our rooms as soon as possible. There was no quibble about arriving early as regards when the meal/drinks package started (as we were on all inclusive package). Some hotels can treat you as a nuisance when you arrive too early but of course when getting off a cruise you have no choice about timings. We were also upgraded to a suite with sea views

The location is beautiful although quite away from the beach. This is not really a problem and there is a shuttle bus provided by the hotel. It is however surrounded by a jungle gully area in which you can walk along and see the monkeys (which do also come into the grounds). There are loads of birds and butterflies in the gardens. This is not the sort of hotel that you would think would exist in the relatively developed island of Barbados.

The rooms, hotel and grounds are all kept in very good condition. The swimming pool area is lovely with good quality sunbeds and a nice-sized pool and a small bar.

The hotel is very quiet though and had quite an older clientel when we were there. We found that everyone retired to bed early, almost as soon as they had eaten dinner and even while the low key entertainment was still on. As a consequence nearly everyone had gone to bed before 10pm and it was quite difficult to get a drink after that time and we felt a bit uncomfortable keeping the staff working or making any noise. This is great if you are looking for a very peaceful break but be warned that you may find it too quiet if you want a bit more going on in the evenings. You are also not in walking distance of anywhere so going out in the evening will require a taxi. This is not meant as a negative comment just trying to describe how the hotel is as it may not suit some customers.

The staff however were very friendly and helpful. The food was good, particulary the lunch menu. Two of the nights we were there they set the tables up around the pool for a buffet dinner with music. It was lovely to be able to eat outside under the stars as not all the larger hotels are able to do this. The other night we booked the Bajan restuarant (Sandy's Chattel House) which was down by the jungle gully and had a very caribbean atmosphere.

We did not explore much having been to Barbdos twice but the hotel organised various activities and appeared to make a real effort for the customer. Despite it being a small hotel they had spa, gym, shop and art gallery.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelhappyalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Travelhappy always, On behalf of the Management and staff of the Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa we take this opportunity to thank you for making us your hotel of choice and for recognizing that Sugar Cane is pure Bliss and relaxation! SCC a very special place and I am glad you felt we were able to provide you with a remarkable experience! our aim is always to create an atmosphere that is tatally relaxed and chilled. Many thanks again for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and we do look forward to your return visit.
Best regards......Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were looking for a quiet week in paradise to relax and the sugar cane club delivered in spades. We could not fault a thing. The room (suite) was lovely, the gardens/surroundings immaculate and the food gorgeous. However, what made the stay extra special was the wonderful staff, who were all so friendly, welcoming and efficient, even during busy periods. The general manager, Peter Charles, was often in the middle of things and clearly cares very much about the guest experience. The hotel is in such a wonderfully tranquil location that we really didn't mind not being right on the beach, especially with the free shuttle service and ability to use the facilities of the Almond Beach whenever we wanted. We felt thoroughly spoilt and our stay was over all too soon - can t wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Paul R, Thank you for your rave review on your recent stay right here at SCC. we all here certainly take great pride in delivering 5 star service and lasting memories that will stay with you right up until your next holiday. You have gracefully mentioned to Tripadvisor readers that if they are ever looking for a relaxed and tranquil holiday then SCC is the place for such.
Thank you once again for your glowing review and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the wonders of SCC
Best regards
Peter Charles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just back from a fantastic stay at the Sugar Cane Club. Our first time in Barbados and have to say we loved it. We had a garden view room that was so private and comfortable, it felt like home from home. Lovely food for all inclusive with good service and the rum punches are wonderful! Hotel is spotless, the grounds are lovely and we liked that we were away from the beach in a quiet area of Barbados. Easy to get to the beach via the shuttle bus and the local buses make getting around the island easy and cheap. Will defiantly return when we re visit Barbados.

Room Tip: Our garden room 113 was single storey private quiet with great for watching the monkeys
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Elly F,Many thanks for posting such a great review of your recent stay at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & spa. We do no less than to exceed expectations to all who visit our well loved property. It is always rewarding to know that we lived up to every aspect of your expectation, from the food, service and the facilities. Our World class Spa offers treatments that are truly amazing. Our staffs are truly a gem as we all share the same goal and that is total guests satisfaction. Please check our Facebook page and Website for ongoing specials.
Best wishes.....Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

we have just returned from this fantastic hotel in Barbados. From the moment we arrived to the moment they waved us off we had the most relaxing time. This is a very well looked after Hotel and has the "home from home" feel due to the lovely family that own and run it. Nothing was ever too much trouble and the food is the very best. I am reluctant to write this review really as I would prefer this little paradise to remain a secret. However the staff team working here really deserve all the praise they can get as they are all so hard working. The whole experience was very good. We booked with Virgin who were also wonderful and as a Virgin customer we received a complimentry Green Monkey Massage which was totally relaxing and of very good quality. The hotel also arranged a complimentary boat trip to swim with the turtles which was great too.
We did venture down to their sister hotel Almond Beach but didn't stay there for more than an hour as it is vastly different to Sugar Cane. You felt like you were on holiday with hundreds of others so we quickly returned to the peace and tranquility of Sugar cane.
The pool is warm and immaculate as are the gardens. We used the shuttle bus which runs several times per day but no longer takes you to Mullins Beach which is a real shame as the beach at Almond Beach has alot of coral so isn't that great for swimming. However we walked down the hill to Port St Charles where there is a beautiful little beach where you will see locals having swimming lessons. You can walk under the little bridge through the water to a very quiet beach no need to venture further. The walk down isn't difficult either although walking back up in the heat is a little more difficult.
I coundn't fault this hotel and we will definately be going back, cannot wait.

Room Tip: We were in room 402 which is the middle floor of the main hotel. It was fab, had everything you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachLoverWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Beachloverwest, Thank you for such an amazing review of your recent visit here at SCC. We are so delighted you had an amazing experience with us at SCC and our team members in particular provided excellent service. Our staffs are truly a gem as we all share the same goal and that is total guests satisfaction. It was a pleasure having you stayed with us and we sincerely thank you for choosing our property for your Barbados experience!
Many thanks from the entire SCC team
Best wishes......Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Peter Parish
7.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
14.0 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.7 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Property: Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Address: Maynards, BB26011, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is graciously located on the North West Coast & Caribbean side of the Island Barbados. This 4 star deluxe Boutique Hotel is set upon a hilltop and has a charming Mediterranean architecture amongst tranquil and tropical ambiance. The Hotel & Spa is known for its warm hospitality, delivery of outstanding staff, service, and facilities in a casual setting. The 45 all-suite Hotel boasts one of the islands leading spa’s, two restaurants and bars, two swimming pools, a guest lounge, gym, art gallery, souvenir shop, squash court, and complimentary shuttle service amongst many more. Sugar Cane Club only accepts teenagers from ages 14 years and up, and no children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Club Hotel Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel And Spa
Sugar Cane Hotel
Sugar Cane Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing