We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brill lovely relaxing hotel great week” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brill lovely relaxing hotel great week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just back from a fantastic stay at the Sugar Cane Club. Our first time in Barbados and have to say we loved it. We had a garden view room that was so private and comfortable, it felt like home from home. Lovely food for all inclusive with good service and the rum punches are wonderful! Hotel is spotless, the grounds are lovely and we liked that we were away from the beach in a quiet area of Barbados. Easy to get to the beach via the shuttle bus and the local buses make getting around the island easy and cheap. Will defiantly return when we re visit Barbados.

Room Tip: Our garden room 113 was single storey private quiet with great for watching the monkeys
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Elly F,Many thanks for posting such a great review of your recent stay at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & spa. We do no less than to exceed expectations to all who visit our well loved property. It is always rewarding to know that we lived up to every aspect of your expectation, from the food, service and the facilities. Our World class Spa offers treatments that are truly amazing. Our staffs are truly a gem as we all share the same goal and that is total guests satisfaction. Please check our Facebook page and Website for ongoing specials.
Best wishes.....Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    189
    51
    13
    6
See reviews for
90
869
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

we have just returned from this fantastic hotel in Barbados. From the moment we arrived to the moment they waved us off we had the most relaxing time. This is a very well looked after Hotel and has the "home from home" feel due to the lovely family that own and run it. Nothing was ever too much trouble and the food is the very best. I am reluctant to write this review really as I would prefer this little paradise to remain a secret. However the staff team working here really deserve all the praise they can get as they are all so hard working. The whole experience was very good. We booked with Virgin who were also wonderful and as a Virgin customer we received a complimentry Green Monkey Massage which was totally relaxing and of very good quality. The hotel also arranged a complimentary boat trip to swim with the turtles which was great too.
We did venture down to their sister hotel Almond Beach but didn't stay there for more than an hour as it is vastly different to Sugar Cane. You felt like you were on holiday with hundreds of others so we quickly returned to the peace and tranquility of Sugar cane.
The pool is warm and immaculate as are the gardens. We used the shuttle bus which runs several times per day but no longer takes you to Mullins Beach which is a real shame as the beach at Almond Beach has alot of coral so isn't that great for swimming. However we walked down the hill to Port St Charles where there is a beautiful little beach where you will see locals having swimming lessons. You can walk under the little bridge through the water to a very quiet beach no need to venture further. The walk down isn't difficult either although walking back up in the heat is a little more difficult.
I coundn't fault this hotel and we will definately be going back, cannot wait.

Room Tip: We were in room 402 which is the middle floor of the main hotel. It was fab, had everything you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachLoverWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Beachloverwest, Thank you for such an amazing review of your recent visit here at SCC. We are so delighted you had an amazing experience with us at SCC and our team members in particular provided excellent service. Our staffs are truly a gem as we all share the same goal and that is total guests satisfaction. It was a pleasure having you stayed with us and we sincerely thank you for choosing our property for your Barbados experience!
Many thanks from the entire SCC team
Best wishes......Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our second stay at the Sugar Cane Club. We are always wary that the second stay at a resort will not be as good as the first but we were not disappointed. From the welcome when we arrived to Sade seeing us, remembering us and giving us a hug we felt that
We were at home. David the chef and the kitchen crew made us excellent vegetarian food every night.
Our room, althought not a sea view, did have a view of the sea. The staff are excellent, the food good.
We hope that it is not spoilt by guests from the Almond beach. The hotel, restaurant and pool are not equipped for additional guests. Please do not spoil it.
Will we be back? I think so, and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear William W, Many thanks for your review and that we have pleasantly created an atmosphere that gets better with each visit. We are all very proud of the hotel and being the best that we can be by delivering service that you may only get at SCC. Our team certainly is an excellent one and we thank you for highlighting the fantastic service provided by them all. They are truly our best asset! I will ensure that Sade and David are made aware of your very kind comments. We will see you again next year for your third visit!
Best regards
Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Having read the reviews my wife and I were not disappointed. There is not a lot to complain about, the food was good with specials available each day to choose from - the house wine was disappointing but thankfully changed during the week to a more palatable wine. Peter the manager was very welcoming and encouraged feedback which gave the impression that he looks for continual improvement. The balance between staffing levels and good service is fine a line but hey your there to relax so one more staff would be an improvement for the bar areas. That said we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will consider returning as we got what was promised. A nice touch was the present of a bottle of bubbly to celebrate our 40th Wedding anniversary.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnstone L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Johnstone L, It gives us such great pleasure to read a glowing review about your resent stay at SCC. it warms our heart to know that we have exceeded your expectations by delivering what was promised. our team continues to deliver an experience you may only get right here at SCC by ensuring the food service and facilities are consistently of high standards. Many thanks and we do look forward to welcoming you back to SCC at your earliest to enjoy the wonders of Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa.
Best regards.....Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have just come home from the sugar cane hotel it ticked all the boxes,great holiday, fab staff. could not find anything bad to say.will definitely go back.quiet, and very relaxing no 'kids' had a great time, amazing gardens, excellent food.the shuttle was great as my husband is waiting a hip op so we were able to go to the almond hotel to use their facilities they give use a ice box with food and drink in so we could relax on the beach as its under the sugar cane management you can all so eat at the restaurant and use the bars as part of all-inclusive,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazura l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Cazura I, Thanks a Mil for such a raving review on your recent visit at SCC. What else can I say, you have definitely tick all the boxes therefore leaving none for me to tick. Many thanks and look forward to your next visit. Please check our Facebook page and Website for ongoing specials.
Best regards
Peter Charles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just back from our second visit to the Suger Cane Club, and it was every bit as good as last year. In fact it was even better, because now that the Almond Beach Resort has reopened, under Sugar Cane's management, it is possible to use their beach facilities, bars and restaurants as part of your all-inclusive, and the shuttle bus delivers you to and collects you from their main entrance.

It was good to see the Chattel Bar & Restauant open for a la carte meals, as opposed to last year's themed evenings, which were very nice but a bit restrictive.

As on our previous visit, the superb staff really helped make our stay so enjoyable. and they are to be congratulated for their hard work and eagerness to please. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

Just two minor niggles. The beer at the pool bar wasn't very cold (Maybe the myth that the British like warm beer has reached the Caribbean). Secondly, on the Friday evening the live music in the restaurant was too loud. People like to gather and chat in the seating area, but the sheer volume of the music made that impossible. Perhaps a bit of background piano would be more appropriate?

All in all, another very enjoyable stay and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I wouldn't personally bother with a sea view room. I really like the rooms overlooking the gully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sollerbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Sollerbeen, Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor telling the Whole world that your second visit to SCC was better than the first. That is great news as we at SCC strive on such comments which confirms to us that what we are doing is working to our benefit.
The Chattel bar is Open Three nights per week during the High season and two nights during the summer. During those opening evenings Local delicacies are served much to the delight of our guests.
Your comments regarding the staff have been passed on to them all. The issue with Warm beer being served at the bar has been address with the technicians. I have also spoken to the entertainers and they will ensure the noise level is at an acceptable level for all to enjoy.
Thank you and we look forward to your third and many more visits to SCC.
Best regards
Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Just back from The Sugar Cane Club Hotel.
We had an apartment with a terrace which overlooked the forest and it was fantastic! Watching the green monkeys playing in the trees! ( number 114)
The apartment was fully equipped and spacious and cleaned every day.
The beautiful gardens are very well kept, and the pool area was lovely and very clean.
Knowing the hotel is inland we hired a car for 5 days so we could explore. However the free shuttle can take you to the beach nearby or to Speightstown.
The food was ok especially the breakfast, and even though we weren't all inclusive, it wasn't expensive.
All the staff are excellent! I can't say enough about how attentive and friendly they are. A credit to the management!
A quiet retreat in idyllic surroundings

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank How666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear How666, Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent visit to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa. Our team certainly do delivers exceptional service consistently with ease. We are all very proud of the hotel and have a passion for entertaining guests at our Home. I am glad you felt we were able to provide you with an experience that you may only get at SCC. We are all delighted that you had a really great time here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best regards
Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Peter Parish
7.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
14.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
14.0 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,377 reviews
0.9 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
14.6 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Property: Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Address: Maynards, BB26011, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is graciously located on the North West Coast & Caribbean side of the Island Barbados. This 4 star deluxe Boutique Hotel is set upon a hilltop and has a charming Mediterranean architecture amongst tranquil and tropical ambiance. The Hotel & Spa is known for its warm hospitality, delivery of outstanding staff, service, and facilities in a casual setting. The 45 all-suite Hotel boasts one of the islands leading spa’s, two restaurants and bars, two swimming pools, a guest lounge, gym, art gallery, souvenir shop, squash court, and complimentary shuttle service amongst many more. Sugar Cane Club only accepts teenagers from ages 14 years and up, and no children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Club Hotel Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel And Spa
Sugar Cane Hotel
Sugar Cane Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing