We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just got back from a week at this lovely hotel, we've visited Barbados 5 times in 10 years, this is by far the best hotel we've stayed at, some other hotels are in big impersonal concrete blocks but the Sugar Cane hotel comprises several low rise buildings thoughtfully laid out in beautiful grounds, yes it's in the quieter north west of Barbados but we hired a car and got around, also used the shuttle bus to nearby Heywood's beach and Speightstown, we loved the fact the hotel is adults only, that was a definite plus for us, we stayed on a B&B basis but chose to eat in the hotel restaurant some evenings and we found the food was better than other restaurants elsewhere, the staff are very attentive, we could not fault this hotel and we'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 510Dai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear 510Dai, Thank you for letting Tripadvisor readers know what a lovely time you had here at SCC. We thank you for highlighting the food, service and facilities to the World. There are bigger, newer and fancier hotels in Barbados but few have the heart & soul of The Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa “much less our unique location”. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future to experience the wonders of Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa!
Best wishes
Peter Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

we've just had two very nice weeks at the Sugar Cane Club. Its very "quiet", not much happens and the clientele are generally "mature", but if thats what you're looking for it's ideal.
Food was very good, especially as my wife is lactose intolerant and needed to make sure what she was eating, but the chef and all the kitchen and serving staff went out of their way to make sure that she didn't encounter any problems.

Room Tip: if you have one of the garden rooms you get to see much more of the monkeys in the gulley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank terrysan2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Terrsan2109, Thank you for letting Tripadvisor readers know what a great relaxing Two weeks you had at SCC. It’s always rewarding to know we live up to all aspect of your expectations, from our ever friendly and helpful staff, food and facility. We are all thrilled that you had such a wonderful time with us and our team members in particular provided excellent service to you and yours.
Best regards
Peter Charles
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed at SCC with my wife in this Excellent hotel with beautiful gardens,excellent food and friendly helpful staff.although it is an Adult only hotel we think that to improve the hotel even further accommodate younger adults with younger themed entertainment as not all guests are not aged over 60 ! But would recommend this lovely hotel .

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thewednesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Thewednesday, Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us at SCC. Our staffs are one of our biggest assets as we try to deliver and maintain a service that is second to none on the Island. It is always rewarding to know that we lived up to every aspect of your expectation, from the food, service, down to the cleanliness of your room. We are well on our way to attracting younger professionals who just want to relax and enjoy what we have to offer. Thank you very much for your feedback and are truly delighted you had such a fantastic time here with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon to experience the wonders of SCC.
Best regards Peter Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We visited SCC from end of December for 6 nights before embarking on a cruise from Bridgetown.
While a little isolated, the hotel has everything you need for relaxing break on-site and shuttle buses are available for Speightstown and the beaches.
Best of all was the wonderful service we had from all staff at SCC.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms furthest from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ReggaeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear ReggaeLondon, Thank you for sharing this fantastic review and many thanks for highlighting those aspects of which we take great pride and that is our staff, excellent customer service and the experience of staying here at SCC. We are all delighted that you had such a fantastic time here with us and we look forward to having you back for many more visits.
Best wishes
Peter Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just back from 10 lovely days at this relaxing and peaceful resort. The weather was not perfect, we did have a little rain, but we met some really nice people and will keep in touch with some. The resort is well set out giving plenty of space with ample number of sun beds. The rooms are very comfortable and looked after well. The food is good, don't miss the Rum and Raisin ice cream. We hired a car and although the road signs leave a lot to be desired the driving is easy. The north and east coast is a must to visit especially Bethsheba. Takes a good 45 mins to transfer from the airport but well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StAlbansBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear StAlbansbrian, SCC is our Island Gem and sits very close in our hearts, the special care and attention we put into it and its family of staffs are what make SCC a great resort. Tripadvisor review is the best form of praise and reward for us the Staffs and management at Sugar Cane Club. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future to experience the wonders of Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa.
Best regards
Peter Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was our second visit to The Sugar Cane Club,having spent a fantastic 2 weeks at xmas 2011.
We returned in Jan for a wedding of Bajan friends,and looked forward to the same quality service we had previously experienced,however,our visit on this occasion was a little disappointing as we felt the standards compared to our previous visit has deteriorated.
The standard of the rooms and cleanliness were still excellent ,the reception staff were still as helpful as before, however, the problem that the Hotel management have, is that due the takeover of the Almond Beach Resort and the dining facilities that guest's from that hotel share. The food and the dining arrangements do not meet the standards as on our previous visit. The staff in the dining room are under pressure, we had to send one meal back which was undercooked,as previous reviews have commented the food at the buffet was often cold, we. could never get a tea or coffee after our meal. I put no blame on the staff as the majority of them are pleasant and hard working.
There is also an issue with security, as visiting Almond Beach guest's are allowed to wander around the resort unaccompanied, several guest's commented to me that they felt uncomfortable with this situation.
A message to Roddy and his management team. You have a good number of repeat guest's , however if you continue to prioritise the development of the Almond. Beach it will have an adverse effect on the guest at the Sugar Cane Club.
Would we return next year? I will look carefully at future reviews.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Jim N, Thank you for visiting SCC for a second visit in January which was a bit disappointing as you felt the standards had deteriorated since your previous visit. For that we do apologise. Thank you for highlighting the food, service and facilities which remained of a high standard as per your review. We have moved swiftly to correct that issue with Almond guests dining at random in our restaurant and wondering around the property which had an adverse effect on our guest at SCC. We appreciate you staying with us and please let me know if I may ever be of service.
Best regards Peter Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We arrived on 27 January 2014 and after 2 weeks still did not want to leave! This was our second visit and we wished we had found Sugar Cane many years before. It was again every thing we wanted for our winter holiday. It was always hot even when raining, accomodation was excellent, food excellent, drinks especially the virgin coladas were excellent, lovingly cared for gardens, free shuttle to the beach and local town. All the staff were good, friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble expecially Neal, Roy, Ricardo, Ryan, Sade. Thanks to all the restaurant staff whose names I have forgotten. Special thanks to Rodney for his gulley walk, the General helping us at Almond Beach when there was a misunderstanding by the Almond Beach staff not allowing us to use their sunbeds, David for his cooking lessons. Our rooms were thoroughly cleaned every day - thank you to all the housekeepers. The entertainment was low key and good. My thanks to Peter and all his staff for a wonderful 2 week holiday. Please don't let the reciprocol dining arrangement with Almond Beach spoil Sugar Cane, especially the evening dining. I believe that it will mainly be a one way traffic

Room Tip: We stayed in ground floor garden view rooms -excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Yvonne H, It was an honor having you stay with us right here at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa. Our team certainly delivers exceptional service with care and attention the Barbadian way. Thank you for letting the whole World knows that we have exceeded your expectation by delivering a true Barbadian experience. We are working really hard to improve the hotel on every level and are passionate about being the best we can be by maintaining our standards and direct feedback from our loyal guests.
Please note that the challenge we were experiencing with Almond guests dining at SCC in the evening and creating one way traffic is now sorted. Rest assured that when you return you will notice that your holiday with us will be free from any challenges with Almond guests.
Best regards
Peter Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Peter Parish
14 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
363 reviews
7.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,106 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
12.9 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,812 reviews
14.3 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Address: Maynards, BB26011, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range: $155 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is graciously located on the North West Coast & Caribbean side of the Island Barbados. This 4 star deluxe Boutique Hotel is set upon a hilltop and has a charming Mediterranean architecture amongst tranquil and tropical ambiance. The Hotel & Spa is known for its warm hospitality, delivery of outstanding staff, service, and facilities in a casual setting. The 45 all-suite Hotel boasts one of the islands leading spa’s, two restaurants and bars, two swimming pools, a guest lounge, gym, art gallery, souvenir shop, squash court, and complimentary shuttle service amongst many more. Sugar Cane Club only accepts teenagers from ages 14 years and up, and no children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Club Hotel And Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Hotel
Sugar Cane Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing