We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel with a big heart”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small hotel with a big heart”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just got back from the Suger Cane after two weeks of a very relaxing holiday at this wonderful hotel in a great location. I would just like to echo what everyone else is saying about this hotel I have never met staff and management who are so friendly and helpful and live to ensure that this hotel lives upto all of the reviews that you have read before this. Roy and Tonia at the bar are excellent, Ryan was great fun during meals always with a great smile and laughter, the wonderful Sade, Shamira to name a few.

If you want a quiet and peaceful holiday in a Barbados hotel that should be a least 4 stars or more and want food that is better than most five star hotels then come here, if you want a load noisey holiday then this is not for you.

Despite not being on the beach there is a lovely beach that is walkable within ten minutes that the locals use and has excellent snorkeling and a saw a turtle here. The location is also great for getting out and exploring and the buses are an excellent means of getting around be it a yellow or blue bus.

The best compliment I can tell you actually came from someone who was on the island safari tour and said the best meal they had was the one at the Suger cane during their trip.

Peter Charles. and all of his staff have built a great little hotel and I hope it never changes as we would love to come back one day

Martin and Sarah

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank tas1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Tas 1967, Thank you for posting this amazing review on your recent visit to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa. we are delighted that you had a lovely time with us here at SCC.
Sugar Cane Club is great for its warm ambiance and intimate setting. It’s the perfect place for those who wish to get away and have a relaxing holiday with great food and drinks.
We trust that you will return to our Island and the Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa in the near future. In the meantime please let everyone know about us!
Best regards......Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    196
    52
    13
    6
See reviews for
94
898
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place came with wife for our honeymoon will waiting for our cruise can't wait to come again just hop all the staff are still there. Visited 22 aug 2010. The accommodation is set in beautifully kept gardens with a pool, open restaurant and terrace. It's not on a beach but there is a regular shuttle down for the sea lovers.The rooms are comfortable and set in a relaxing and beautiful garden setting. The food was excellent, plentiful and exciting. Although not on the beach, the location of the Sugar Cane Club set on a hill surrounded by lush vegetation made this the ideal setting. The staff were the most friendly I have come across anywhere. They were helpful in every way and could not do enough for you from the manager to the kitchen staff made this a Honeymoon to remember.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lsapompey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Lsapompy, Wow! Thank you for choosing Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa for that special time in your life (your Honeymoon!). I am so happy we were able to deliver a fantastic holiday experience for you to enjoy and remember. Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is a very special place for us in Barbados and we thrive to deliver the best Barbadian experience there is. We are working to improve the hotel on every level and are passionate about being the best we can be.
We are all delighted that you had such a fantastic time here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best Wishes....Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A well run friendly hotel that seemed to have a lot of repeat customers, and I can understand why. Although not near the sea they have a free shuttle bus to a lovely beach where you can find sun beds and shades for a few dollars. The shuttle also goes to the town, and takes you to the complimentary glass bottom boat trip to swim with the turtles (fantastic).
If you prefer the pool you wont be disappointed, set in lovely gardens, and very well maintained, although they could do with more shades for the sun beds.
We booked breakfast only,but decided to go all inclusive at a extra cost of 80us a day,seems a lot but if you add up all your food and drink costs it is probably the right option although the drinks were not great, unless you paid extra for brand names, the exceptions were the beer,and the wine which were really good. We stayed in room 302 which was nice and quiet, and a short distance from everything.
Overall you wont go wrong if you come here, good food, lovely staff,quiet accommodation, and best of all no children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Peter r, Many thanks for sharing this review! At SCC we continuously strive to provide our guests with an enjoyable and memorable holiday experience and from your comments it seems as though we achieved this.
Our team certainly is an excellent one and we thank you for highlighting the fantastic service provided by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to SCC in the very near future!
Kind Regards,
Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fabulously meticulously kept resort starts your trip to paradise with the best of impressions, front desk staff are real caring individuals all with spectacular personal people skills. Housekeeping girls warm and friendly, gardeners, maintenance staff and crystal clear pool staff daily support genuine smiles, small talk and welcome each day to be fabulous. Catering staff showed us heartfelt concerns when changing the menu up to deal with my "onion allergies", this has never ever happened to me in all my years of travel. We made true friends of many of the restaurant staff, bartenders and management.
The Sugar Cane Club has accomplished the job of bringing the best warm real and efficient people together as a team to showcase their hotel resort to top level.
I am surprised the rating is not a 5 star.
Green Monkey Lounge works perfect for lovely area when checking out as well as throughout our trip we learned to play the piano, played board games in the rain or a quick cool when it was so hot outside.
Marilda's artwork throughout the hotel and rooms can be found at the Art Gallery for sale along with some other great local artists work for good value and variety.
La Salsa Restaurant stands on its own and a great destination, local catch of the day always a favorite as well as a fabulous breakfast menu, great lunch variety and transforms to a Buffet Banquet that creates bajan or caribbean flavor! Sheda and Jennell are fantastic dynamic people working hard to make your stay max out!
All week long mini adventures on site include a brilliant Gully walk to show the local sustainable jungle, wildlife including the Green Monkeys and hows and ways of the Bajan people. These tours help you connect with other traveler's staying at the resort as well as create personal contact with the staff. Mix-ology with Roy and Chef demonstrations with Creative Chef David Yarde, most friendly and genuine real people.
Who have i missed, many but one last tidbit will be the Friday, Glass bottom boat tour with the General as guide on a perfectly timed 2 hours on the stunning sea, to see, swim and learn about the treasures under that torquois carrib.
We used the Squash court for volleyball for two throughout our 3 weeks at the Sugar Cane Club as well as the Gym, Shuttle service to the beach all throughout the day or to Speightston was perfect if you ever wanted to leave the resort on your own, only wished there was a bit of the same service at the beach but beyond the hotels control.
Meeting with the management at the Monday evening Rum punch cocktail hour could be the creme de la creme, this shows how much the people mean to the resort!
The monkeys and turtles are just icing on the cake!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank arterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Arterri, Many of our guests have commented on how significantly they feel our Food & Beverage program has improved over the past 8 Months, particularly in the La Salsa restaurant menu and theme Buffet nights including Bajan, BBQ, and International evenings. Barbados is still the best island in the Caribbean to experience amazing restaurants however our offerings at SCC give good reason never to leave! We have much in store in the upcoming months as our chef and his team continue to refine our menus and source local products.

I join you in commending our team for the excellent service they provide daily and your comments have been relayed to them all, they are truly our best asset!
Best Regards.....Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I have just returned after spending 10 days at SCC-we had a wonderful time! It has such a relaxing atmosphere (child-free-perfect for a teacher!), the food was outstanding, the staff are all so helpful and the setting is perfect. Would highly recommend for anyone wanting a peaceful and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melodie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Melodie W, Thank you for sharing this fantastic review and many thanks for highlighting those aspects of which we take great pride and that is our staff, excellent customer service and the experience of staying here at SCC. We are all delighted that you had such a fantastic time here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!!
Best regards......Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We recently returned from a 10 night stay at Sugar Cane Club & Spa (Aug 6-16), which was our first stay in Barbados and it certainly will not be our last! The hotel was probably one of the best we have ever stayed in. On arrival at reception, we were presented with refreshing scented flannels to freshen up, along with some rum punch which went down very well!

Our room, 502 was immaculate and had a fantastic view of the ocean. As we were on our honeymoon, we were left a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine in our room and breakfast brought up to our room on our first morning, which we enjoyed on the balcony with the lovely ocean view. We also had a great view of the green monkeys each morning and evening from the balcony!

The hotel offered various activities which were complimentary to all guests, such as a twice weekly guided tour of the immaculately kept extensive grounds, a Bajan cooking demonstration, a weekly trip to go snorkelling with sea turtles and a massive stingray, a cocktail mixtology afternoon and a complimentary shuttle bus to take you to Speightstown and Mullins Beach. We were all inclusive and greatly appreciated the free packed lunches/drinks coolers that were made up for us on the days that we were not around for lunch. We also took advantage of the spa facilities and had a Green Monkey Massage by Alicia and Barbara, who were absolutely fantastic.

The hotel's restaurant, La Salsa served the most amazing food on a daily basis. There was a large variety to choose from on the menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the dinner menu is changed each week to ensure there is enough variety. As we always like to sample local cuisine whenever we travel, we were not disappointed with the choice of Bajan dishes to try. There were also three themed evening buffets per week which were served poolside (weather permitting) with a steel drum band providing fantastic music.

All of the staff at the hotel cannot be praised enough for everything that they did for us throughout our stay to make sure we had an unforgetable holiday. In particular, Michelle and Julie on reception were extremely helpful. In the kitchen, we enjoyed getting to know David Yarde, Yvette and Lassandra. Ryan, Sade, and Antonio made all our eating experiences enjoyable and Roy, Neil and Ricardo in the bar did a great job keeping us well stocked with rum punches and other great cocktails throughout our stay!

One further person to mention who really took a lot of time out to ensure we had a memorable stay is the manager, Peter Charles, who regularly asked for feedback as to how the hotel/service could be improved, to which we had to honestly answer - we simply could not think of anything that could be done better, so keep up the good work Sugar Cane Club and we will be back at some point in the future!

Patrick & Ajit, UK

Room Tip: Room 502 had magnificent views of the ocean and monkeys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PL_ASL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest, We are all glad that the Hotel of choice on your first trip to Barbados was SCC.. We really do appreciate you taking the time from your busy schedule to Post this amazing review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay at SCC. It is always rewarding to know that we lived up to every aspect of your expectation, from the food, service, down to the cleanliness of your room. We are all very proud of the hotel and have a passion in the delivery of service we provide. Our team certainly is an excellent one as they ensure consistency in our product. We are all working hard to improve the hotel on every level and are passionate about being the best we can be.
We truly look forward to welcoming you back to SCC in the very near future!
Best regards Peter Charles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We attended prior to our cruise, on arrival we were met in reception by Michelle who was then, and, all the way through our stay 'A STAR' she made us feel very welcome and deserves a medal in customer services.
We were shown to our room by Roy.... Another absolute star.... A warm man with a genuine heart of gold, again he couldn't do enough for us.
The accommodation is set in beautifully kept gardens with a pool, open restaurant and terrace. It's not on a beach but there is a regular shuttle down for the sea lovers.
The head gardener will take you on a lovely walk around the grounds and even cut down coconuts for you to try. He has a great knowledge of all the trees and points out mango, lime, banana, almond, lemon trees and more!
There are regular visits from a large family of wild green monkeys, a highlight for me as I love monkeys!
An evening visit to Sandys chattel bar will amaze with an evening show put on by hundreds of fire flys.
The food was absolutely quality, lots of choice and cooked to perfection.
The general manager Peter Charles is always around making sure this place is home from home for you and we met Roddy, director who again was warm and open to converse!
There are many stairs around with a number of ramps to support the less able.
I would like to balance this review with a negative point but I am afraid I can not think of one.
This place is a dream and we will most definitely recommend. Thank you to ALL the staff for the warm Barbados welcome and making it another pleasurable stay.... But BIG hugs to Roy and Michelle for going the extra mile.
Will we stay again? .... Just try stopping us!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank werenotstoppingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Richard a, First of all, thank you for choosing Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa for your ultimate vacation. SCC is home away from home for all our guests and we are elated that you recognized that. We have been working really hard to make SCC a very special place for food service and facilities, and I am glad you felt we were able to provide you with such an experience. I have passed your compliments to all staff mentioned. We are all delighted that you had such a fantastic time here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best regards...... Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Peter Parish
7.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
14.0 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
292 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
757 reviews
0.7 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,356 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Property: Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Address: Maynards, BB26011, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is graciously located on the North West Coast & Caribbean side of the Island Barbados. This 4 star deluxe Boutique Hotel is set upon a hilltop and has a charming Mediterranean architecture amongst tranquil and tropical ambiance. The Hotel & Spa is known for its warm hospitality, delivery of outstanding staff, service, and facilities in a casual setting. The 45 all-suite Hotel boasts one of the islands leading spa’s, two restaurants and bars, two swimming pools, a guest lounge, gym, art gallery, souvenir shop, squash court, and complimentary shuttle service amongst many more. Sugar Cane Club only accepts teenagers from ages 14 years and up, and no children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Club Hotel Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel And Spa
Sugar Cane Hotel
Sugar Cane Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing