We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday at the Sugar Cane Hotel & Spa, Barbados” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Holiday at the Sugar Cane Hotel & Spa, Barbados”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel between the 16th - 31st May - it was excellant. The staff were all so good - management, housekeeping, bar, restaurant, reception, gardeners, shuttle bus driver etc. Everyone was so friendly. We had an excellant oceanview room and it was lovely that it was a child-free hotel. We did lots of walking and enjoyed visiting the local sites - in particular 'Six Men's Bay and Speightstown. We saw the whole island by rental car which was excellent. Alex, though, was extremely good as he picked us up in the shuttle bus many times and gave us lot's of helpful advice. It made no difference that the hotel was not on the beach because the shuttle bus ran so regularly to and from them and Speightstown. The food was also excellent and we stayed every evening at the hotel because of this. There were three buffet evenings which were so good - more of these if possible! We would like to say a special 'thank you' to Rod, Marilda, Peter Charles, Hendersen and Alex for making our stay so very special. We loved staying there and we will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Christine M, it was an absolute pleasure to have you and your Husband stay with us at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa for your Caribbean holiday. We really do appreciate you taking the time from your busy schedule to Post this amazing review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay at SCC. It is always rewarding to know that we lived up to every aspect of your expectation, from the food, service, down to the cleanliness of your room. We are all very proud of the hotel and have a passion in the delivery of service we provide. Our team certainly is an excellent one. We are working to improve the hotel on every level and are passionate about being the best we can be.
We truly look forward to welcoming you back to SCC in the very near future!
Best regards Peter Charles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    189
    52
    13
    6
See reviews for
90
871
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the sugar cane club for 4 days at the end of May 2013. The hotel was recommended by a work colleague. The service was perfect in every way. Check in was effortless, breakfast had a wide variety and was very tasty. We also had lunch and dinner at the restaurant and it was excellent. The swimming with the turtles trip was wonderful and a free service offered by the hotel. The staff were friendly and welcoming, full of advice on where to eat and visit. The hotel is perfect if you want to relax and be away from the hustle and bustle. We also thought it was great value for money as we got the caricom rate which was inclusive or breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mochamona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Mochamona, Thank you for posting this amazing review on your recent to SCC. We are so delighted that you had a lovely time with us and have exceeded your expectations.

Sugar Cane Club is great for its warm ambiance and intimate setting, the perfect place for those who wish to get away and have a relaxing holiday away from the Hassel of a larger hotel.
We trust that you will return to Barbados and the Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa in the near future. In the meantime please let everyone in T&T know about us!
Best wishes... Peter Charles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

It is very difficult to write a new review when practically everything has already been mentioned. We can only endorse all the glowing reviews previously posted.
If you want a hotel on the beach then there are plenty to choose. However, if you are looking for a secluded, tranquil retreat, this is the place for you. There is a regular shuttle bus to the beach and local town if required.
As the hotel is adults-only it is very quiet and peaceful. Others have complained about noisy guests. We found this only to be the case when newly-found friends were leaving the following day, hence a small “goodbye party”. Since the bar closed at 11.00 this rarely continued beyond that time and was never a problem.
We had a sea view suite which was extremely well appointed, having everything you could wish for. We only saw a few monkeys but having spoken to other guests, it seems that the garden bungalows are the best choice if monkeys are important.
Although there are plenty of opportunities to see the island organised from the hotel, we hired a car for a few days. While not essential, it is a great way to explore. The road signs in the interior are virtually non-existent so we got lost on occasions which added to the fun. There were always friendly people at the local bus-stops to help us out.
The hotel, gardens and pool are extremely well maintained with all the staff taking great pride in their work.
All the staff, housekeeping, gardeners and maintenance guys will take a few minutes to ask how the holiday is going and have a chat. Everyone is very good-natured and friendly.
We can't really add any more comments about the excellent food. It really is, so come and find out for yourselves. Apparently some people found the dress-code for the 'al a carte' nights too formal. We thought this added to the stature of the hotel. Very few mature couples would go to dinner in in shorts and flip-flops!!
Now for the staff.
It would be very difficult to single out individuals because they are all superb. They are most friendly, professional and welcoming and to list them all would be meaningless in a review until you meet them.
Having said that, we had a great rapport with Sade, Mya, Raquel, Sharron and Evette.
The boys- Antonio, Ricardo, Ryan, Ricky, 'Shortman' and the great man himself- Peter Charles.
At our request Antonio (on his day off) brought his beautiful baby girl to the hotel so that we could meet her, a real pleasure.
To summarise.
Read all the reviews for this hotel. 99.99% are extremely positive and we wholeheartedly agree.
Thank you Peter. The hotel is a credit to yourself and your hard-working dedicated staff.
The Sugar Cane is a wonderful hotel with great accommodation, great food and fantastic staff and we would recommend it to any wishing to visit Barbados.

Room Tip: We're sure all rooms are of equal standard. We had 204 which was close to the restaurant/bar, ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan_Dorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Alan_Dorothy, Thank you for posting this amazing review, we are delighted that you had a lovely time with us here at SCC.
Sugar Cane Club is really a special place, great for its warm ambiance; and intimate setting, the perfect place for those who wish to get away and have a relaxing holiday. I am so glad that you have taken the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit. We have been working really hard to make SCC a very special place in service and facilities, and I am glad you felt we were able to provide you such an experience. We appreciate your staying with us and please let me know if I may ever be of service.
Best regards Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charnocks, Christ Church, Barbados
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Visited twice in 2012: our honeymoon was the first visit and for our first Christmas as a married couple.

The warmth, friendliness and excellent service still existed on our second stay, it was almost as if we never left :) I recommend this hotel for tourists and locals. Its charm is in its ability to make you feel like you have gotten away from the hustle and bustle of city life and have come to relax. Fav feature: the gully walk. Peaceful moment for couple bliss!

If you are looking for a home away from home where everyone knows you name this is it :)


Fav moment from the honeymoon trip: we were allowed to take some awesome photos on the resort.
Fav Moment from the Christmas trip: Santa left us a present from the hotel management and staff

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Alicia G, Wow! Thank you for choosing SCC for that special time in your life (Your Honeymoon!). I am so happy we were able to deliver a fantastic holiday experience for you for you to enjoy and remember. Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is a very special place for us in Barbados and we thrive to deliver the best Barbadian experience there is. We are working to improve the hotel on every level and are passionate about being the best we can be.
We are all delighted that you had such a fantastic time here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best Wishes.......Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Sugar Cane Club is a small hotel compared to some of the larger resorts on the island, and when we stayed we found it quite quiet (which was nice!) - but it was low season. We were greeted with a lovely cool towel and cocktail, and showed to our room which was close to the pool. It was very clean and well presented, large and had everything you needed (including a kitchen which we didn't use as we were all inclusive). The hotel has two pools although one is really more of a bathing pool - but a lovely pool area with a bar, we had no problems finding a deck chair and you could also sunbathe in the extensive gardens too. The gardens were large and well maintained, the hotel also has a gully which you can walk in but take trainers! We went on the hotel's complimentary excursion to swim/snorkel with turtles which is brilliant and a must do. We also went on a complimentary shuttle to Bridgetown which can be arranged at the hotel. They also offer a regular complimentary shuttle bus to nearby Speightstown and beaches as the hotel is located away from the beach. However the beach is only 5mins away on the bus and we found it nice to be away from the hustle of the town. On all inclusive all drinks bar premium are included and food was a la carte in the restaurants mainly - with a few themed evenings (buffets). There were 2 restaurants, the main one and the 'Chattel bar' - down by the gully and worth a visit for a more Bajan feel. The food was really good - breakfast was a buffet with all you could want (hot & cold), I'm quite fussy and I found lots to eat! The staff are largely very friendly. The General Manager Peter made the time to speak to all the guests and they held a weekly Rum Punch party too. Special thanks to Sade - she is an absolute gem. She was always really friendly and took an interest in you. If you want a lively stay close to the action this is not the hotel for you - but for us this was a fantastic stay and so relaxing - we would not hesitate to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skirkham86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Smw 865,Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us at SCC.
Our staffs are one of our biggest assets as we try to deliver and maintain a service that is second to none on the Island. It is always rewarding to know that we lived up to every aspect of your expectation, from the food, service, down to the cleanliness of your room. We are all very proud of the hotel and have a passion in the delivery of service we provide. Our team certainly is an excellent one. We truly look forward to welcoming you back to SCC in the very near future! Best regards Peter Charles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the Sugar can from 14/5/13,had a great time. All the staff was very nice,could not do enough to make your stay special,we stayed in bungerlow we had a nice lounge, kitchen, wich was great because we was not in one room. The boat trip to swim with the turtels and the free massage was a real bonus,and the food was very very good no complaints at all. Although you are not on the beach it is not a problem as the curtsey bus was always going their,we will revisit the Sugar can had a wonderfull holiday.

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carolebrown33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Carolbrown33, I am so glad that you have taken the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit. We have been working hard to make SCC a very special place in service and facilities, and I am glad you felt we were able to provide you such an experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Barbados whenever your travel plans permit.
Warmest regards, Peter Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Other reviews cover the nuts and bolts of this place. We found it overall rather twee and not a little claustrophobic. The resort communial area is small so any noisey groups are hard to get away from. You also have to ask yourself if, in a place like Barbados, you want to be near the sea. We thought not but regretted that decision.
The resturant food is ok, but much preferred the buffets and feedom from unneccessary protocol they entailed. Despite being all inclusive they insist (and not always efficiently) in filling your wine glass from a bottle rather than leaving one on the table. Other big gripe as mentioned by others is that pool bar is not always manned-and it jolly well should be!
The staff are generally very friendly (not all), but there are no personalities to conduct the gulley walks or boat trips which were soulless and non descriptive. If you want to see the turtles go for a proper catamaran cruise in comfort. The bus to town works quite well, but there was little help or advice from staff as to what/where to go-how about a locally produced map by the hotel?
Without meaning to be too negative, we did have a very comfortable stay, but think with a little effort it could be a lot better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Riffmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Riffmaster, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We appreciate your feedback, as it gives us a clear understanding of our guests experiences and allows us to address any shortfalls in service delivery. We will look into the areas you highlighted.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Barbados whenever your travel plans permit.
Warmest regards........Peter Charles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Peter Parish
7.3 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
14.4 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
14.0 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
14.6 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Property: Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Address: Maynards, BB26011, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is graciously located on the North West Coast & Caribbean side of the Island Barbados. This 4 star deluxe Boutique Hotel is set upon a hilltop and has a charming Mediterranean architecture amongst tranquil and tropical ambiance. The Hotel & Spa is known for its warm hospitality, delivery of outstanding staff, service, and facilities in a casual setting. The 45 all-suite Hotel boasts one of the islands leading spa’s, two restaurants and bars, two swimming pools, a guest lounge, gym, art gallery, souvenir shop, squash court, and complimentary shuttle service amongst many more. Sugar Cane Club only accepts teenagers from ages 14 years and up, and no children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Club Hotel Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel And Spa
Sugar Cane Hotel
Sugar Cane Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing