We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

It is very difficult to write a new review when practically everything has already been mentioned. We can only endorse all the glowing reviews previously posted.
If you want a hotel on the beach then there are plenty to choose. However, if you are looking for a secluded, tranquil retreat, this is the place for you. There is a regular shuttle bus to the beach and local town if required.
As the hotel is adults-only it is very quiet and peaceful. Others have complained about noisy guests. We found this only to be the case when newly-found friends were leaving the following day, hence a small “goodbye party”. Since the bar closed at 11.00 this rarely continued beyond that time and was never a problem.
We had a sea view suite which was extremely well appointed, having everything you could wish for. We only saw a few monkeys but having spoken to other guests, it seems that the garden bungalows are the best choice if monkeys are important.
Although there are plenty of opportunities to see the island organised from the hotel, we hired a car for a few days. While not essential, it is a great way to explore. The road signs in the interior are virtually non-existent so we got lost on occasions which added to the fun. There were always friendly people at the local bus-stops to help us out.
The hotel, gardens and pool are extremely well maintained with all the staff taking great pride in their work.
All the staff, housekeeping, gardeners and maintenance guys will take a few minutes to ask how the holiday is going and have a chat. Everyone is very good-natured and friendly.
We can't really add any more comments about the excellent food. It really is, so come and find out for yourselves. Apparently some people found the dress-code for the 'al a carte' nights too formal. We thought this added to the stature of the hotel. Very few mature couples would go to dinner in in shorts and flip-flops!!
Now for the staff.
It would be very difficult to single out individuals because they are all superb. They are most friendly, professional and welcoming and to list them all would be meaningless in a review until you meet them.
Having said that, we had a great rapport with Sade, Mya, Raquel, Sharron and Evette.
The boys- Antonio, Ricardo, Ryan, Ricky, 'Shortman' and the great man himself- Peter Charles.
At our request Antonio (on his day off) brought his beautiful baby girl to the hotel so that we could meet her, a real pleasure.
To summarise.
Read all the reviews for this hotel. 99.99% are extremely positive and we wholeheartedly agree.
Thank you Peter. The hotel is a credit to yourself and your hard-working dedicated staff.
The Sugar Cane is a wonderful hotel with great accommodation, great food and fantastic staff and we would recommend it to any wishing to visit Barbados.

Room Tip: We're sure all rooms are of equal standard. We had 204 which was close to the restaurant/bar, ov...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan_Dorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Alan_Dorothy, Thank you for posting this amazing review, we are delighted that you had a lovely time with us here at SCC.
Sugar Cane Club is really a special place, great for its warm ambiance; and intimate setting, the perfect place for those who wish to get away and have a relaxing holiday. I am so glad that you have taken the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit. We have been working really hard to make SCC a very special place in service and facilities, and I am glad you felt we were able to provide you such an experience. We appreciate your staying with us and please let me know if I may ever be of service.
Best regards Peter Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,173)
There are newer reviews for Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

777 - 783 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Visited twice in 2012: our honeymoon was the first visit and for our first Christmas as a married couple.

The warmth, friendliness and excellent service still existed on our second stay, it was almost as if we never left :) I recommend this hotel for tourists and locals. Its charm is in its ability to make you feel like you have gotten away from the hustle and bustle of city life and have come to relax. Fav feature: the gully walk. Peaceful moment for couple bliss!

If you are looking for a home away from home where everyone knows you name this is it :)


Fav moment from the honeymoon trip: we were allowed to take some awesome photos on the resort.
Fav Moment from the Christmas trip: Santa left us a present from the hotel management and staff

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Alicia G, Wow! Thank you for choosing SCC for that special time in your life (Your Honeymoon!). I am so happy we were able to deliver a fantastic holiday experience for you for you to enjoy and remember. Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is a very special place for us in Barbados and we thrive to deliver the best Barbadian experience there is. We are working to improve the hotel on every level and are passionate about being the best we can be.
We are all delighted that you had such a fantastic time here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best Wishes.......Peter Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Sugar Cane Club is a small hotel compared to some of the larger resorts on the island, and when we stayed we found it quite quiet (which was nice!) - but it was low season. We were greeted with a lovely cool towel and cocktail, and showed to our room which was close to the pool. It was very clean and well presented, large and had everything you needed (including a kitchen which we didn't use as we were all inclusive). The hotel has two pools although one is really more of a bathing pool - but a lovely pool area with a bar, we had no problems finding a deck chair and you could also sunbathe in the extensive gardens too. The gardens were large and well maintained, the hotel also has a gully which you can walk in but take trainers! We went on the hotel's complimentary excursion to swim/snorkel with turtles which is brilliant and a must do. We also went on a complimentary shuttle to Bridgetown which can be arranged at the hotel. They also offer a regular complimentary shuttle bus to nearby Speightstown and beaches as the hotel is located away from the beach. However the beach is only 5mins away on the bus and we found it nice to be away from the hustle of the town. On all inclusive all drinks bar premium are included and food was a la carte in the restaurants mainly - with a few themed evenings (buffets). There were 2 restaurants, the main one and the 'Chattel bar' - down by the gully and worth a visit for a more Bajan feel. The food was really good - breakfast was a buffet with all you could want (hot & cold), I'm quite fussy and I found lots to eat! The staff are largely very friendly. The General Manager Peter made the time to speak to all the guests and they held a weekly Rum Punch party too. Special thanks to Sade - she is an absolute gem. She was always really friendly and took an interest in you. If you want a lively stay close to the action this is not the hotel for you - but for us this was a fantastic stay and so relaxing - we would not hesitate to return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skirkham86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Smw 865,Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us at SCC.
Our staffs are one of our biggest assets as we try to deliver and maintain a service that is second to none on the Island. It is always rewarding to know that we lived up to every aspect of your expectation, from the food, service, down to the cleanliness of your room. We are all very proud of the hotel and have a passion in the delivery of service we provide. Our team certainly is an excellent one. We truly look forward to welcoming you back to SCC in the very near future! Best regards Peter Charles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the Sugar can from 14/5/13,had a great time. All the staff was very nice,could not do enough to make your stay special,we stayed in bungerlow we had a nice lounge, kitchen, wich was great because we was not in one room. The boat trip to swim with the turtels and the free massage was a real bonus,and the food was very very good no complaints at all. Although you are not on the beach it is not a problem as the curtsey bus was always going their,we will revisit the Sugar can had a wonderfull holiday.

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms are good
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carolebrown33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Carolbrown33, I am so glad that you have taken the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit. We have been working hard to make SCC a very special place in service and facilities, and I am glad you felt we were able to provide you such an experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Barbados whenever your travel plans permit.
Warmest regards, Peter Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Other reviews cover the nuts and bolts of this place. We found it overall rather twee and not a little claustrophobic. The resort communial area is small so any noisey groups are hard to get away from. You also have to ask yourself if, in a place like Barbados, you want to be near the sea. We thought not but regretted that decision.
The resturant food is ok, but much preferred the buffets and feedom from unneccessary protocol they entailed. Despite being all inclusive they insist (and not always efficiently) in filling your wine glass from a bottle rather than leaving one on the table. Other big gripe as mentioned by others is that pool bar is not always manned-and it jolly well should be!
The staff are generally very friendly (not all), but there are no personalities to conduct the gulley walks or boat trips which were soulless and non descriptive. If you want to see the turtles go for a proper catamaran cruise in comfort. The bus to town works quite well, but there was little help or advice from staff as to what/where to go-how about a locally produced map by the hotel?
Without meaning to be too negative, we did have a very comfortable stay, but think with a little effort it could be a lot better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Riffmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Riffmaster, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We appreciate your feedback, as it gives us a clear understanding of our guests experiences and allows us to address any shortfalls in service delivery. We will look into the areas you highlighted.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Barbados whenever your travel plans permit.
Warmest regards........Peter Charles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday (18/5/13) spending a split week in the Sugar Cane Club and a weeks cruise around the Caribbean Islands on the Carinval Velor Cruise Limer.
The Sugar Cane Club is a very friendly relxed establishment where the staff go out of their way to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. We were on an All Inclusive basis but B&B and Self Catering are available. The rooms are very spacious with a large living area, kitchenette, very large bedroom ans separate bathroom that had a bath / shower. There was air conditioning in the Bedroom and ceiling fan in the living quarters. There was also a TV that had BBC News ESPN Sport and local channels. The living room had French Doors leading to a patio.

The gardens are very well maintained with plenty of room if you wish to sunbathe on the gardens rather than by the poolside.

The food in the restaurant is of a high quality and cooked to order at lunch time and Evening Meal. This proved to be a bit of a concern as we felt a little embarressed asking for Salads rather than a main course. A note of warning to Gentlemen when they have A La Carte evenings they do insist that they ware long trousers. There is another quaint restaurant where the dress code is not so strong, They also have buffett evenings where again the dress code is more relaxed. The bar serves "Banks" beer and the cocktails are very good, however the bar was not always manned durring the day and there were times when you had to wait to be served. Also the Bar did close at 11pm each night, which was a little annoying especially when you have just struck up friendships with other guests and conversations keep going until the late hours.

The hotel offers a free shuttle service to the town of Speightown and to the local beeches. They also offer a free glass bottom boat trip, which is very good seeing plenty of fish and turtles.

A word of warning there are a number of cockerals and hens wandering the gardens and will give you an early morning call. There is a monkey sanctuary nearby so you may get the odd monkey roaming the grounds on the hunt for food. Also there are giant frogs that come out at night and congregate around the pathways and on the gardens.

All in all this is a destination I would highly recommend if you are looking for a relaxing chilled out holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bevnpaulonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Bevnpaulonholiday, Thank you for sharing this fantastic review and many thanks for highlighting those aspects of which we take great pride and that is our staff. SCC is one of the most relaxing places in Barbados. We are all very proud of the hotel and have a passion in the delivery of service we provide. We have been working really hard to make SCC a very special place for food service and facilities, and I am glad you felt we were able to provide you with such an experience. We are all delighted that you had such a fantastic time here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Kind Regards----Peter Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a brilliant time at this excellent hotel. If you like peace & quiet in beautiful surroundings this is ideal The food is very good, the staff first class (a special mention for Sade & Tonia), & the rooms & location lovely. We would also recommend Island Plates a small café/restaurant on the square in Speightown opposite Jordans supermarket. It offers great value food including gluten free & vegan options!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCCManagement, General Manager at Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear John N, Thank you for an amazing review highlighting our well trained staff and your recent visit to SCC. I have pass your compliments to all staff mentioned. At SCC we strive to exceed expectations and it certainly seems as though we hit the mark! We look forward to welcoming you back to SCC soon. Best regards........Peter Charles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Peter Parish
14.0 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
332 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,083 reviews
7.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
773 reviews
0.7 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,403 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa

Address: Maynards, BB26011, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Peter Parish
Price Range: $147 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa is graciously located on the North West Coast & Caribbean side of the Island Barbados. This 4 star deluxe Boutique Hotel is set upon a hilltop and has a charming Mediterranean architecture amongst tranquil and tropical ambiance. The Hotel & Spa is known for its warm hospitality, delivery of outstanding staff, service, and facilities in a casual setting. The 45 all-suite Hotel boasts one of the islands leading spa’s, two restaurants and bars, two swimming pools, a guest lounge, gym, art gallery, souvenir shop, squash court, and complimentary shuttle service amongst many more. Sugar Cane Club only accepts teenagers from ages 14 years and up, and no children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Club Hotel And Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Hotel
Sugar Cane Saint Peter
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing