We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“One of the best in Morocco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dar Zitoune

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dar Zitoune
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taroudant
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
178 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“One of the best in Morocco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is one of the best places I stayed in Morocco. It's luxury at still affordable prices, though not cheap compared to other places in Taroudant. I like the city and it's at walking distance from this place to the medina/kasbah and fortified walls etc. We had the cheapest bungalow but it was still luxury for us. Breakfast is included and we chose half board as well. The food is very good and there is a decent wine choice. We liked the wine coolers so much and asked if we could buy one...no need to, because after telling this we got one for free! Friendly folks and the pool is heaven (especially in June with 40 degrees!). Great bungalow, with plenty of space to sit, nice details and beautiful decor. It's also nice because of the fact that's it's quieter than Marrakech or the coast near Agadir, but the area is right in between and at the foot of the Atlas, which make for nice daytrips. Love it and will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    104
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
161
374
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff at the hotel were exceptional,the food was excellent.the gardens were magnificent,the swimming pool was very cold,not heated.large warm jacuzzi though.nowhere better for March weather within 4hours of UK.

Room Tip: Ask to have table and chairs outside your roomg
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here in February 2112 and simply had to come back, although not for long enough, alas. Sadly the weather was not so good as last year so we didn't use the pool. Again we found the service excellent and the staff very friendly. Also the food was delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have recently been staying at the Dar Zetoune hotel Taraudant Morocco. It lies near the foothills of the Anti Atlas Mountains. When you arrive you are led through the reception room and through to the courtyard where you are served with welome freshly squeezed orange juice. You are surrounded by perfume of orange, lemon and pawpaw blossom. Our room was a bungalow amongst others round a large swimming pool. The room itself was comfortable tidy and clean.
The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Dinners in the dinning room in front of a roaring log fire
were delicious and service perfect. The Manager Monaime was always on hand to answer questions and give you advise. The atmosphere was one of tranquility and peace.
I cannot speak more highly of this little bit of heaven. Next time I would choose to go in April as March was still a little cool and cloudy.

Room Tip: If you prefer more privacy and quietness a bungalo further away from the swimming pool would be bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mornay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

A peaceful "oasis" with lovely gardens and an attractive swimming pool just a short drive away from tourist friendly Taroudant. Our very nice bungalow was a shady retreat from the hot sun with a lovely private terrace where we enjoyed an excellent breakfast.

Service was excellent from everyone at Dar Zitoune, and the Receptionist even re-wrapped our purchases from the Souk so well that they travelled around Morocco and arrived back home still firmly wrapped and intact.

Eating a lovely meal by candlelight under the stars while hearing evening calls to prayer was a wonderful experience that remains etched in my memory.

I would thoroughly recommend Dar Zitoune to anyone. It is much better than many so called 5 star hotels and good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank James287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Dar Zitoune is situated just outside the town of Taroudant and the entrance belies what you find inside. The rooms are individual bungalows set in lovely landscaped gardens and are furnished and equipped beautifully with a private terrace with tables and chairs. There is a lovely large swimming pool and jacuzzi and a great Hamman which my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed - what a treat! The breakfasts were lovely with fresh fruit and delicious pastries and hot options such as eggs, ham etc. - different choices every day. The restaurant has a lovely open fire and the evening 5-course meal was excellent with freshly cooked Moroccan dishes with a touch of sophistication. All in all, excellent value for money and everything was well appointed and in very good decorative order - it would put some 5 star hotels I have stayed in to shame, which can sometimes be a little tired. Would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krystina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The bungalows are excelent value for money. Clean and well appointed. Swimming pool area and gardens look great and will give you a holiday feeling. It's a small drive to Taroundant, with it's Sunday market, walls and lovely views over the surrounding mountains.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Jrd28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taroudant hotels
1.3 mi away
La Gazelle d'Or
La Gazelle d'Or
#10 of 17 in Taroudant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Tafilag
Riad Tafilag
#2 of 17 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riad Ain Khadra
Riad Ain Khadra
#3 of 17 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Palais Oumensour
Palais Oumensour
#5 of 17 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palais Salam
Palais Salam
#11 of 17 in Taroudant
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Jnane Ines
Riad Jnane Ines
#7 of 17 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar Zitoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar Zitoune

Property: Hotel Dar Zitoune
Address: Boutarialt El Barrania, Taroudant 83000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taroudant
#1 Family Hotel in Taroudant
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taroudant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar Zitoune 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zitoune is located just a few miles from Taroudant. It was created in Berber style using local materials and consists of 14 bungalows and 8 suites, set in 4 acres of landscaped grounds with olive, papaya and citrus trees. The restaurant prepares an excellent choice of Moroccan and European meals including vegetarian options. Amenities: a spa with Hammam, massage, sauna and other beauty treatments such as manicure, pedicure...Only half an hour from Agadir airport, Dar Zitoune is ideal for clients seeking peace, calm, comfort and luxury. We are so pleased to announce the extension of our hotel of a deluxe Berber village. It's located in the back of the existing garden and composed of 8 tented rooms all equipped with a separate WC and a shower, air-conditioning, TV, satellite wireless, safe and wifi. All the tented room are surrounded by palm trees, roses and olive trees. There is a private swimming pool with a Moroccan restaurant. Tented rooms are built using local materials in Berber style to make you feel as if you are living in a traditional Moroccan setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dar Zitoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zitoune Hotel Taroudant
Riad Dar Zitoune Taroudannt
Riad Dar Zitoune Hotel Taroudannt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing