We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dar Zitoune

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dar Zitoune
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taroudant
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Really loved it. Beautiful gardens, two lovely pools, some of the best food I have ever had in Morocco. But more importantly, the staff were so helpful and had such a great vibe. They were completely willing to cook child friendly meals at odd times of the day and to help in whatever way they could. The room was excellent too. We loved Taroudant and if we ever went back I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bexavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    106
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
171
393
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Dar Zitoune was excellent, but we will try to go easy on the superlatives!

Setting, service, food, cleanliness and amenities easily match and often surpass all the hotels we’ve been fortunate to enjoy across Europe.

A wonderful setting, the swimming pool is striking and well kept, sitting in an idyllic garden of fruit trees and sweet smelling flowers, the birdsong and free roaming tortoise are a delight.

Staff were all very helpful, going about their business with the right degree of attention, not too much, not too little, all good.

Breakfast was generous with freshly squeezed orange juice providing a good start to the day and the eggs always cooked to perfection (for us at least!). The lunch menu was extensive, offering a broad choice and although we only had lunch once it was tasty and well presented. Dinner was excellent; we ate our evening meal here 5 of the 7 nights, the Moroccan dish on the menu was always our choice.

The room (chalet) was very comfortable, clean and well appointed. We had one problem with the shower that was fixed quickly and efficiently.

The main square in the center or Touroudant is about 2 miles (3km) away and although it’s an easy walk, the taxis are quick and cheap and were at the hotel within 5 minutes of reception calling.

We booked direct via the Dar Zitoune website and chose their ‘discovering south Morocco’ 7 day package. We found this to be very good value, well balanced, with a choice of activates and some nice details that gave our break a touch of VIP treatment.

If you want a holiday in the sun, with good food, a mix of relaxation, sightseeing, culture and discovery, this is a perfect choice and we highly recommend Dar Zitoune, Tourudant – a modern day Moroccan oasis.

ITALIANO

Dar Zitoune e' eccellente, e il servizio curato nei dettagli lo rende speciale. Siamo stati in parecchi hotels in Europa, e Dar Zitoune e' tra il top.

Le piscine sono belle e ben curate, incastonate in un giardino da sogno pieno di alberi da frutta e fiori. Il cibo e' eccellente, e nel menù e' sempre presente un piatto locale ( sempre prescelto da noi).

Taroudant e' circa 3 km dall'hotel, facilmente raggiungibile a piedi, o in Taxi per circa 3 Euro.

Consiglio di prenotare direttamente dal website dell'hotel dove propongono diversi pacchetti di buon valore con un giusto mix di attività, rilassamento e tempo per esplorare la cittadina. Noi abbiamo scelto il pacchetto di 7 giorni 'scoprire i sud del Marocco'.

Se quello che volete e' una vacanza al sole, con cibo buono, un misto di relax, cultura e spettacoli della natura ( le Catene dell'Atlas offrono una varietà di paesaggi mozzafiato) questa e' sicuramente una scelta che raccomando.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefania_RW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villeneuve de duras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Excellent - after riding through floods on motorbikes to reach the hotel - one route was closed due to very bad flooding - we were very pleased to be met by friendly staff, excellent accommodation in individual chalets set among beautiful flower beds and fruit trees. Very good meal, didn't use the pool but it looked perfect. All the hotels we stayed in during our trip to Moroc were good but this one was one of the best - air con working and quiet, could even pick up the news on tv in English - but can't remember which programme !! Bit far to walk into town, even without the rain.Evening meal & breakfast v.good - cooked breakfast offered at no extra.

Room Tip: all accommodation we used - 3 chalets - were v.good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesBakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

very impressed! stayed in four hotels in morocco and found that all of them (barring this one) were dirty and had unhelpful staff. the rooms here were excellent, tidy, plenty of space and air conditioned (in my experience most air conditioning in morocco doesn't work). the food was second to none and the atmosphere of the place is very friendly. i found that the staff were incredibly helpful and spoke reasonable english. the city of taroudant is not the best of places however this hotel is a gem.
i would not go back to taroudant unless i was booked n this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AN25_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is great - spaceous room, spotlessly clean, with complementary water and nibbles. No mini bar but who needed it with very reasonable bar prices. One of the best evening meals and breakfast during the whole of my stay in Morocco, the cutlery so clean looked like it had just been taken out the box! Staff friendly, eager to please, very polite. Would have liked to stay longer. Stayed here as part of a Jules Verne tour and everyone very impressed. Very relaxing. Just a small establishment, so no crowds of people. Great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FionaG350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during our 2.5wk trip with 2 young kids (2y and 4y). Very pleasant bungalows, reasonably priced and perfect swimming pool (incl warmed jaccuzi) and food. City Tourandant itself was not a highlight on our trip, but perfect stop between Ouarzazate and coastal region (Essaouira/Agadir).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jochem h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Fantastic bungalow rooms in beautiful gardens. Spacious and cool with easily adjustable air conditioning. Fruit and water and Moroccan pastries in our rooms. Lovely pool, good food. Nothing was too much trouble for the helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 549Sarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taroudant hotels
1.0 mi away
La Gazelle d'Or
La Gazelle d'Or
#10 of 17 in Taroudant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Tafilag
Riad Tafilag
#2 of 17 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
3.2 mi away
Riad Ain Khadra
Riad Ain Khadra
#3 of 17 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Palais Oumensour
Palais Oumensour
#5 of 17 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Jnane Ines
Riad Jnane Ines
#7 of 17 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dar Fatima
Dar Fatima
#6 of 17 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dar Zitoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dar Zitoune

Property: Hotel Dar Zitoune
Address: Boutarialt El Barrania, Taroudant 83000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Taroudant
#1 Spa Hotel in Taroudant
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taroudant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dar Zitoune 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zitoune is located just a few miles from Taroudant. It was created in Berber style using local materials and consists of 14 bungalows and 8 suites, set in 4 acres of landscaped grounds with olive, papaya and citrus trees. The restaurant prepares an excellent choice of Moroccan and European meals including vegetarian options. Amenities: a spa with Hammam, massage, sauna and other beauty treatments such as manicure, pedicure...Only half an hour from Agadir airport, Dar Zitoune is ideal for clients seeking peace, calm, comfort and luxury. We are so pleased to announce the extension of our hotel of a deluxe Berber village. It's located in the back of the existing garden and composed of 8 tented rooms all equipped with a separate WC and a shower, air-conditioning, TV, satellite wireless, safe and wifi. All the tented room are surrounded by palm trees, roses and olive trees. There is a private swimming pool with a Moroccan restaurant. Tented rooms are built using local materials in Berber style to make you feel as if you are living in a traditional Moroccan setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dar Zitoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zitoune Hotel Taroudant
Riad Dar Zitoune Taroudannt
Riad Dar Zitoune Hotel Taroudannt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing