We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Palace in Taroundant, great Riad!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palais Oumensour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palais Oumensour
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Taroudant
Certificate of Excellence
Fagernes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Palace in Taroundant, great Riad!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I am back to Palais Omensour for sure. All you can ask for, is what you get when visiting this wonderful riad. The sevice, food, hospitality is just great. We where so lucky, to catch up wih the owner's great people. They took us to the local workshop, where they had all the intrior made. Both for this and their new project. A Gran new Villa only a short drive away, wich was due to open in a few weeks.
A great thing about the Riad, it is run run by females, with Mary as the "chief" in charge.
We are coming back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    31
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
51
117
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had four nights in a suite at this gorgeous place. Everything was perfect - the rooms are out of Arabian nights, the bed comfortable, the shower excellent. Food was wonderful and we ate each night (four of us) in a small dining room with a roaring log fire. The garden is lovely - the pool icy but refreshing in February and there were banana trees, lemon trees, bougainvillea, palms, roses, fountains trickling and a super jacuzzi up its own flight of steps on a little balcony surrounded by plants. The staff could not have been more kind and charming. And it is only five minutes walk from the relaxed and fascinating artisan souk which is crammed with gorgeous craftwork. Can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have their own roof garden and are sunny in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I spent a week here in the Safran Suite which is on the same level as a lovely sun terrace with views over the patio, garden and the distant High Atlas mountains. We do not eat meat and the staff provided wonderful vegetarian or fish meals which we appreciated. We had Moroccan wine also, The Cooks and kitchen staff were first-class and were very responsive to any requests we made. The Receptionist seems to work mornings and evenings, so our main communication was with kitchen staff. The hotel is very clean.

Breakfast is orange juice, bagette, pancakes, yoghurt, coffee tea, pastries, jam and honey. If you wish to have fruit you need to ask for it. One tip for showering is you need to leave the left hot tap running for quite some time before the hot water comes through, but it is very hot when it does.

The small pool is not heated, but some brave people did swim for a short time. It would be very welcome soon as the temperature goes up, although we experienced 75F in February, but cold in the evenings. The room has heating and air conditioning. As has been mentioned by others the cockerel starts at about 6.30am and goes on most of the day, and someitmes has about six crows during the night, so it did wake us up for a little while. Some guests in other parts of the hotel said they did not hear it. My husband said it should get a medal!

The hotel/Riad has another very small pool, a hot tub, which we did not use and a small hammam. We visited the souks, did a Caleche ride, had coffees in the main square to watch the world go by, but spent most of our time relaxing in the sun. There is not a lot to do in Taroudant, but most people do tours outside the town. The hotel and the sunshine made it for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrigued068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We spent a week in February in this amazing riad - once through the unassuming doors you enter the cool, green, garden with birds, water and pool to be invited to sit for a while with fresh mint tea. In the evening, when the temperature starts to fall away, there's a warm terrace on the roof with a view across the city to the Atlas Mountains. There's a good variation of room types, but all carefully stylish (see comment for 'Cumin' below). All the women who run Palais Oumensour are helpful, assured and not remotely subservient. Taroudant is one of the gentlest and friendliest places I've ever visited in Africa, and it's easy to walk from the road out and around the town. Food was good, though not with quite enough interest or variety to eat there more than 3 times in the week. Lovely selection of breads for breakfast. I asked about one of the Moroccan flatbreads and was shown how to make it.
We went on 3 excursions - two with Hisham, and one with Naturally Morocco - all interesting, different and unforgettable - arranged though the hotel.
As far as finding the place, which seems to have caused others a few problems, nothing in Taroudant is signposted or labelled. Just ask anyone and they'll help you. Thanks to Mery and all for this wonderful, welcoming refuge.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cumin which was a little dark in February, but would be ideal in the hotter months. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was heavenly. We had a large room at the top of the Riad with a lovely sunny patio- big enough for the four of us (2 teenage girls 14 and 16!). It is a women's cooperative which I thought great in a country where males feature largely in the public arena. All the staff are friendly, efficient and very relaxed. The food is excellent, large portions of authentic morocco food, delicious chicken and lemon Tagine, fish tagines, cous cous and great soups too. Lovely fires are lit in the evening to keep you warm while you eat. We ate out at a few places and were disappointed (L'agence and ferme Jeanne)
They were no where near as good as our riad in terms of taste and atmosphere, so we decided to stay put for our last meal.
The pool is a bit chilly in February, but we all swam, since it was hot enough for a dip by mid afternoon.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank EmskiCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

The choice of beautiful places to stay remains limited in Taroudant (I'm sure that will change) but Palais Oumensour ticks all the boxes and is excellent value. Small enough to ensure a personal welcome but with great attention to detail in the food and decor, we had a really relaxing 3 nights here before heading on to Tafrouate. The all women team are charming but don't intrude, and the public and private spaces are really stylish. If there was one gripe, it was the lack of any ambience at dinner in the evening, despite the excellent food. A little music would have perhaps added something.

Room Tip: The Sama suite is one of only two bedrooms that opens out onto the terrace and allowed for a very pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahWiskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Yes the cockerel crows a lot and is still there but maybe that is just part of the charm of this place: the muezzin is at it too but maybe not quite as often as the cockerel! We had a room Sama on the second (top) floor with our own terrace and that was really nice out in the afternoon sun on the loungers and a view of the snow capped Atlas Mountains to the north - probably the best room to have in the winter as the other rooms are for the most part in the shade and best for summer: the room itself was well furnished in traditional style and the bed extremely comfortable: if anything the bathroom was a bit lacking in finesse but it was all there. The air con heating system worked well and you really needed it in the evening. The two sisters who run the Palais are very efficient and with their staff run a good show. We felt that the two things missing from breakfast were fruit (none till asked for) and perhaps the offer of an egg sometimes. Otherwise yoghurt, bread, pancakes, butter and jam with tea or coffee was the norm. We ate in each of the four evenings we were there and other than one pretty poor main course on one night we found the food on offer was much to our liking even if alcohol free ( though we found the local bar down in the town centre). It would have been good to have a fire lit of an evening in one of the lounges but it was never offered though I am sure we could have asked for it. We had a hamman and a massage, all on site and well priced. As others have said it is not easy to find when first arriving amongst the hubbub of people, bikes, shops and animals but the easiest way is to pay and follow a taxi. Parking is easy at the front in a vacant building plot almost next door. We found all the local people hassle free and very friendly and have nothing but good feelings for Taroudant which is more than you can say for some other places in Morocco.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taroudant hotels
0.7 mi away
La Gazelle d'Or
La Gazelle d'Or
#10 of 17 in Taroudant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Dar Zitoune
Hotel Dar Zitoune
#1 of 17 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Tafilag
Riad Tafilag
#2 of 17 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Riad Ain Khadra
Riad Ain Khadra
#3 of 17 in Taroudant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Jnane Ines
Riad Jnane Ines
#7 of 17 in Taroudant
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palais Salam
Palais Salam
#13 of 17 in Taroudant
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Oumensour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Oumensour

Property: Palais Oumensour
Address: Borg Oumensour | Quartier Tadjount, Taroudant 83000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Taroudant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palais Oumensour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house palais oumensour is located 200 m far from the souks of taroudants medina. These tasteful riad surrounded a quiet garden equiped with big swimming pool .The six rooms all with large bathrooms are at the 1st and 2d floor facing the garden and the atlas mountains.The cooking is highly raffined served on reservation for half or full board.The terrasses at the 2d floor is ideal for bronzing with amazing view on the atlas and the quiet garden of taroudant church.Transfert and car reservation can be arranged on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palais Oumensour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing