We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Riad Taroudant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Taroudant
Ranked #12 of 47 Taroudant B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We booked the Riad Taroudant as we were only spending four nights in Morocco and wanted to sample the surrounding area (goats in trees, Atlas mountains etc). However, on our first night after having checked in we set out to explore the town only to find upon our return that we had been locked out. After calling the reception desk countless times and ringing the doorbell for over an hour (the website says the reception is open 24 hours) we had to try and find somewhere else to stay. But nowhere in Taroudant would accept us as our passports were locked inside the Riad Taroudant, just as things were looking very desperate some kind people took pity on us and to cut a long story short after about two hours and relying completely on the kindness of strangers the Palais Salam hotel let us stay there (I cannot express enough the gratitude we felt towards the staff at the Palais Salam and their calm efficiency).
On return the next morning we were offered a free night at The Riad Taroudant - however it wasn't really free for us as we'd had to pay elsewhere, and one other night at half price so we decided to persevere.
We then enquired about two other services that are offered on the website, a selection of food - being vegetarian and having travelled extensively in Morocco we realised that this could be a problem so we were pleased to see that the Riad offered Moroccan and in their own words 'more familiar food ' and excursions, however it turned out that neither trips or 'familiar food' were available, so the next day we decided to check out.
All of this was a real shame as the Riad is decorated beautifully and the one breakfast we had there was great, but it couldn't really make up for a night nearly having to sleep rough or the lack of promised services.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kokomonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 120 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2010

We are stayed one night in this ryad suggested by an owner of a guest house in Todra Gorges. It was a surprise because from the outside the riad is very simple but indoor you can find a very nice riad, with a terrasse on the Medina; the room are in maroc style and is very quiet to stay. The Owner was also happy to talk with us and our children (3 children) and to make us feel like at our home.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurmars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Stayed at this raid for two nights in October 2010. it was difficult to find but walking distance to places of interest Limited parking on street outside hotel.Free Wi fi in reception area. The rooms were adequately sized with A/C but sparsely furnished with only the bed to sit on. There seemed to be a slight smell of drains in our room which would have been helped if the bathroom had had a door. The lack of a bathroom door seemed common to all the other rooms and was not a feature to our taste. We did not find the courtyard pool appealing as the water looked murky . Standard continental breafast serveed round the pool. The owners were friendly and helpful particularly the young man at reception but this would not be enough for me to recommend this riad.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

This is an ideally situated Riad in the heart of Taroudant just off the main square. The young owners have done a beautiful job converting the old building to a high standard. There is a good size swimming pool in the central courtyard making it an ideal place for families with young children. The rooms are of a good size, cool and comfortable.The whole ambiance and atmosphere of the Riad is very relaxing. The breakfasts were the best we had in Morocco. If we are in that region again we will certainly go back. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gardners059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Very nice and comfortable riad, well situated in the city, nice staff, very clean

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

I stayed there for a week and left fully satisfied. The staff was helpful and kind, breakfast nicely presented next to the pool in the mornings by the time I woke up. The Riad and the pool is very clean and nicely furnished. The location is perfect, just in the heart of the medina but inside of the Riads walls it is still calm and tranquil. Best to have some rest after walking in Taroudant, in the Souk, which is only 2mins walk from the Riad. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and planning to go back soon! :)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anankeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Stayed for a very relaxing 2 nights at the riad. Superbly located down a quiet cul de sac only 3 minutes walk from the main square and right next to the Marche Berbere. Very friendly helpful service from all the staff. Pool was cool and relaxing and exactly what was needed after a few hours walking around in the heat or sitting up on the terrace.
Booking was easy and straightforward, and when it was noticed that our preferred room was already booked we were given a suite at no extra charge!
Would love to go back and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrtnww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taroudant hotels
0.4 mi away
Palais Oumensour
Palais Oumensour
#5 of 16 in Taroudant
229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Tafilag
Riad Tafilag
#2 of 16 in Taroudant
478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Jnane Ines
Riad Jnane Ines
#7 of 16 in Taroudant
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Dar Zitoune
Hotel Dar Zitoune
#1 of 16 in Taroudant
862 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Salam
Palais Salam
#13 of 16 in Taroudant
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Dzahra
Riad Dar Dzahra
#16 of 47 in Taroudant
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Taroudant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Taroudant

Address: 243 Av. Al Qods | Derb Jdid, Taroudant 83000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Taroudant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Taroudant
Price Range: $43 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Taroudant 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Taroudant is located in the center town of Taroudant. It has been fully renovated in 2008 in the berber style. Each of the 16 rooms has its bathroom, air conditionning, television. We offer a swimming pool, three lounges, a traditionnal hammam and a big terrasse with its pergola and a large mexican garden. Fouzia will cook for you wonderfull moroccan diners and splendid breakfasts. Riad Taroudant is also a transport and hiking agency. We offer hikes for a day, in the mountains or in others natural and cultural spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Taroudant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing