We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good fun ruined by questionable food and housekeeping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diani Beach Road, Galu-Kinondo Beach, Galu Beach 80400, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Galu Beach
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Good fun ruined by questionable food and housekeeping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent 10 nights at the Neptune village in a big group of 10 adults and 9 children all under 12 years of age from December 23, 2013 to January 1, 2014. The kids had a wonderful time with the kids club attendant- Binti doing a wonderful job by having fun activities all day long. The animation team was also wonderful with fun sports e.g aqua aerobics, water polo, beach volleyball e.t.c. The restaurant supervisors organized a good sitting place for us all at the restaurant and attended to our requirements well enough- kudos to David and Douglas.
However the whole group was sick at one point or another during the trip with running stomach and discomfort for some lasting for days. My wife had to go to hospital where she got antibiotics from the infection. We realized that the vegetable salads at the restaurant were not always fresh even smelling at times and opted out of eating uncooked vegetables. The fish also looked slimey even when cooked and we had to stop eating it especially after a number of us got sick.
The telephone in my room never worked and I had to walk to reception to ask for information or make requests. Towels and bedsheets would not be changed regularly in the rooms and we had to make several requests for extra towels required in our room on daily basis. Pool towels were rarely available for replacement and we had to spend 3 days with the same towels because returning and getting towel cards did not guarantee getting towels on the next day. Some towels were so old that the edges were torn we were left wondering why they could not just have acquired new towels for a facility that advertised itself as 4 star. Some members of our group who went for massage service were disappointed and deemed the aromatherapy poor and not worth trying.
We did not meet any senior management at the restaurant or pool side where we spent a lot of our time during our stay. Senior management were only introduced during new year's eve dinner. My family had an option of spending an extra night at the facility as our flight was a day later but we changed hotels for one night because of our bad experience. We spent our last night at Diani Reef hotel which was quite pricey but at least we felt that it was of much better value.
Although our kids had a lot of fun and we adults enjoyed relaxing around the hotel and beach, this was not value for money and lesson learnt was that we should not spend such a long time at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENTIDO-Neptune, Manager at Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for finding time to comment on your stay with us.
We do value you as our guest and appreciate constructive criticism which will go a long way in helping us take corrective measures.
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused during your holiday.
It is unfortunate that you and your party did fall sick and it is my hope that you are well recovered.
Be rest assured that the issues raised will be addressed and corrected
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    74
    22
    14
    3
See reviews for
48
80
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The pros: Very nice grounds - the pool and beach areas are lovely, and the rooms look quite nice from the outside. The staff in the restaurants and by the pool are quite friendly.

The cons: First, they did not have enough beach towels, so we were only able to get beach towels on 2 of our 4 days there. This is atrocious - this is a BEACH resort. Everyone wants a beach towel. There is no excuse for running out of towels. Once, the staff instructed us that they were out of towels so we should just use the bath towels from our room. This would have been okay, except that we were unable to get clean bath towels afterwards. We requested clean towels from four or five different staff members. Finally, a day and a half later, we were provided with one clean bath towel (for the two of us to share, I guess?)

Second, in general, the staff seems to say yes to any request but never carries through. In addition to the towel debacle, we had to make multiple requests for pillows (the room only came with one pillow, and it did not even have a pillowcase), someone to fix our telephone (which only mattered because we kept having to walk up to the reception to make multiple requests for towels and pillows), and help using the safes in the room (we eventually gave up here, as they were clearly broken and no one came to help us).

Third, I was quite underwhelmed by the food, which is very starchy and fried, with almost no green vegetables to speak of. Breakfast (eggs to order) was certainly the highlight, although the pasta station at lunch and dinner is decent.

Fourth, the toilets in the rooms don't flush properly and the hot water is intermittent at best.

I most certainly will not be staying here again - Diani has many places with nicer amenities and a much better value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica249592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune-Hotels, General Manager at Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Jessica,
Greetings from Neptune Hotels!
At the outset thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with at the Neptune Village, South Coast!
Do accept our sincere apologies that your stay was not enjoyable and you had multiple issues with towels, linen, telephones, quality of food etc.
Your feedback is being taken very seriously and all efforts will be made to correct the shortcomings so there is no repetition of the same. I acknowledge there was a problem with the towels which we managed to sort out but a bit late..
I would like to get in touch with you personally to apologise and understand some more details regarding your experience and would appreciate if you could please send me your email address. My email ID is vkorla@neptunehotels.com
Thank you and kind regards,

Vickram Korla
Regional Director of Operations
Neptune Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

In the meantime a couple of years ago (March 2009) but still have good memories of our Mombasa-Ukunda & safari trips in Kenya.
Nice hotel with beautiful surroundings & very helpfull staff.We could even use bikes for free.
We made some safari-trips for a couple of days starting from there toTsavo East+West and Amboseli N.P.(beautiful Kilimandjaro views)
We also visited a school in the neighbourhood which is also woth doing.
Still a nice vacation with memories never to be forgotten.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank will_7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune-Hotels, Manager at Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Will_7777

Thank you for finding time and reviewing our resort.
We take pride on the well manicured gardens which of course are well taken care of by our staff.
The bikes are there for guests who would like to take a slow ride while at the same time touring Galu beach on their way to visit the nearest shopping centre.
We are delighted to note that you have fond memories and you are welcome once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here for one week in Nov 2013 as we wanted to compare it with Neptune Beach resort, Bamburi, north Mombasa.Overall it gave value for money but I am of the opinion that the extra cost for the Bamburi hotel was worth it. What I did like about the Village Resort was the extensive beach front which enabled one to get away from the Animation Team for some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

It was already my second time in Neptune Sentido and I was again amazed about this resort.
Nice and clean rooms, very friendly staff, good food and a nice view are all ingredients to enjoy a pleasant stay.
I was here the second time with 80 clients and all of them were very enthousiastic. Hope to get back there more than once in my life

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 9 nights in October 2012 - We thought that the hotel overall was lovely.

The rooms were clean, the only problem we had was with a few bugs getting under the door at night, but nothing that a towel couldn't fix - we were on the ground floor so I would imagine that you wouldn't have these problems if you were on the first floor.

I thought the food was of a really high quality, the portions in the pool restaurant were small, so we stuck with the buffet.

The only downside really is the locals on the beach, they are friendly but really don't leave you alone, it would have been nice to spend some time on the beach or in the sea but they literally don't leave you alone.

If you travel to Kenya make sure you take sweets and pencils for children you may come across on day trips, we also left all of our toiletries with one of the local guys, what seems like not very much to us, they were so so grateful for.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, we are hoping to go back to kenya in a few years time and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Drove to Diani from Mombasa with the family for the weekend.Diani is approx 50 km south of Mombasa Island.The road is tarmac throughtout Mombasa To the Hotel.Guest check in was swift with a welcome drink and warm reception.Porters were around to assist in carrying luggage.We checked in on an all inclusive arrangement.Food quality and variety was good considering the low season bargain all inclusive price of Usd 90 per person.Soft drinks,snacks ,meals unlimited throughout the stay.Rooms were comfortable with functional aircon and wifi with strong signal during my entire stay.TV was also provided in the room ,though not a flat screen.The rooms consited of circular cottages which was rather creative.Each cottage had a solar panel for its water heating.The pool area also had strong wifi signal.Nice local evening entertainment with a live band.Hotel animators took good care of the children who also had a childrens separate activity area.Children here would never get bored. In summing up I intend to visit this hotel again with my family.

Room Tip: Choose the cottages next to the pool area if you intend to sleep late.Otherwise choose the rooms nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galu Beach
7.0 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
4.1 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Neptune Paradise Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Galu-Kinondo Beach, Galu Beach 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Galu Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Galu Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated at the beautiful Diani beach. It is here that you can experience African hospitality up close and at its best. Perfect match between resort and nature thanks to makuti roofs on rooms, restaurants and bars and the very large tropical garden. One of the widest beach front hotels of Mombasa. Enjoy the All Inclusive concept. Ca. 40 km south from Mombasa, ca. 45 km from Moi International airport and only ca. 8 km away from the nearby Ukunda Airstrip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing