We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Galu Sea Lodge -Tamani
Nearby Hotels
$220
$186
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
$166
Priceline
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PrideInn Express Diani(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$40
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Afrika Pearl & Spa(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$105
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinondo Kwetu(Diani Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
24
10
0
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
10
0
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprawnsretreatcookchefhousekeeperkenya
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 40 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I spent two days in Galu Sea Lodge in January 2013 with a friend of mine.

The manager was very fast at replying, the only accommodation still available was a three bedroom flat but since we were only two people, we got a big discount in the price.

The place is lovely: everything is well designed and decorated and clean. Standards are very good. We felt very comfortable there and had the chance to rest between our trips.
Our flat was not beach-front but we enjoyed its quiteness.

The staff is friendly and well trained: we tipped our cleaning lady because she did her best to do a good job without disturbing us. The cook assigned to us was very capable and delivered great meals according to our taste and needs, but we had the impression that he was trying to to chisel on the shopping all the time. I recommend you go with your cook to the local shops, they are quite close to the lodge and you can reach them by car or by matatu, and you buy your own ingredients after agreeing the menu with the cook.
I also invite you to tip staff if you are satisfied with their services to motivate them to continue to keep good standards.

I highly recommend this place if you want to relax, enjoy the beach and spend some good time by yourself, or with family/friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Galu Sea Lodge in December 2012 with a huge group of friends (around 20 people) and it was simply amazing! Hugh and Jo helped us so much organizing this big group trip and all of us had an unforgettable time. We will definitely want to be back there one day!
The houses (we stayed in three) were all beautiful and clean, the beds comfortable having mosquito nets and fans attached, the chefs cooked amazing, affordable food and the pool right outside the door is very refreshing.
The endless white, sandy beach is just 10sec away and there is lots of activities that can be booked (some of us did a glass boat snorkeling tour, a dhow safari tour, a fishing tour, etc.).
If you get annoyed by the beach boys, you can always get back to your property and feel completely safe while sun bathing or just reading a book - even at night time, having 24h security guards watching the place.
Although the chefs cook so well that there is no need to eat out, there are plenty of restaurants (the cave restaurant is very nice), supermarkets and bars close by and the super friendly lodge manager helps you out with your pick-up and drop-off at any time.
We had a great time and believe that Galu Sea Lodge is the place to be!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruiandyuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The houses are so well designed, it felt like being at home...it was very peaceful and the food/ cleanliness was excellent! Since we were in a fairly large group, it was easy to accommodate all of us as there are plenty of rooms available. Shared facilities are also more than adequate and the environment is interesting since each house is different. I could live there for months :)

The pool is just the right size too and patio furniture is set up for mealtimes or parties without much movement of furniture.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent three nights at Galu Sea Lodge. It was just perfect. The apartments are spacious and very nice decorated, with an amazing balcony. The manager and all the staff were very friendly. The cook was awesome. We were provided with cute kikoy towels for the pool and the beach. The beach is paradise. I definitely recommend Galu Sea Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed 10 days at GALU SEA LODGE:

the place has great service and perfect management, the staff takes care of all your worries, the apt is very luxurious, the design tasteful, the gardens beautiful and the pool perfect. The beach is ideal: no rocks easy waves and superb sand and water.

Special mention to Michael, our cook, who spoiled us with delicacies and finest cuisine and who took over the shopping almost entirely and very efficiently.
Special mention also to Mary, who discretely left the flat spotless daily.

We loved the service. We loved the easy going athmosphere, we loved the gentleness of the staff. We loved the manager, Jo, who was easy to talk to and much available for all our questions, worries and plans.

All in all: Galu Sea Lodge is just right for a stay in Diani Beach.

Room Tip: We liked being in Apt 3 which was in "second row" to the ocean and thus much easier to sit on the balcony with the pretty strong night winds.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bleupiscine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews