We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galu Sea Lodge -Tamani
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent three nights at Galu Sea Lodge. It was just perfect. The apartments are spacious and very nice decorated, with an amazing balcony. The manager and all the staff were very friendly. The cook was awesome. We were provided with cute kikoy towels for the pool and the beach. The beach is paradise. I definitely recommend Galu Sea Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    0
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed 10 days at GALU SEA LODGE:

the place has great service and perfect management, the staff takes care of all your worries, the apt is very luxurious, the design tasteful, the gardens beautiful and the pool perfect. The beach is ideal: no rocks easy waves and superb sand and water.

Special mention to Michael, our cook, who spoiled us with delicacies and finest cuisine and who took over the shopping almost entirely and very efficiently.
Special mention also to Mary, who discretely left the flat spotless daily.

We loved the service. We loved the easy going athmosphere, we loved the gentleness of the staff. We loved the manager, Jo, who was easy to talk to and much available for all our questions, worries and plans.

All in all: Galu Sea Lodge is just right for a stay in Diani Beach.

Room Tip: We liked being in Apt 3 which was in "second row" to the ocean and thus much easier to sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bleupiscine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dili, East Timor
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent 7 days last december in a beautiful beach villa. The maid was very nice and helpful; the chef excellent even with italian dishes. The beach is one of the best in Kenya.
Galu sea lodge is the best solution for family holidays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenya458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a group retreat at Galu Sea Lodge for four days. The experience was awesome. The housing was great, the white sandy beaches are nice and smooth, the water is clear with thriving marine life, the vegetation is bustling with green life, the atmosphere is serene and welcoming. The cooks too do a good job. I must say I plan to go back there again, hopefully, soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We go to Galu since four years, it was already beautiful before, but now it is amazing. The Managers Hugh and Margaret made us feel at home. The new apartments are decorated in a beautiful Swahili style. Besides, the cook Hussein proved to be a real Chef (And as a French, I really mean it). Among the local specialities that can be asked for, we recommend the grilled lobsters or the curry prawns. The beach remains one of the most beautiful that we have ever seen. The beach boys are kept at bay by discreet by efficient security guards and only some selected Mamas will be allowed by the management to make massages or sell you the coloured Kikois, the local fabrics.
And, in case you prefer the swimming pool, don’t hesitate to ask to the gardener to climb to one of the coconut trees and prepare you a fresh coconut juice with his machete. To summarise, perfect 10 days holidays, we shall come back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I live in Nairobi and I went to Galu Sea Lodge with some friends to spend three days of relax and fun. The house is amazing, in front of the beach and recently built. However, there is a house in construction just next to the house, so at 8 am and until 5 pm the noise was terrible. Besides, there were some things that didn't work at the house: tanks, hot water in some rooms, low pressure in the showers, poor kitchenware, etc. When we complained about all that the answer of the management wasn't satisfactory at all.
The last gift from the management was to push out the house at 4 pm on Sunday because we hadn't paid a late checkout (no idea that we had to).
So...it is not worthy for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InesBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Manager at Galu Sea Lodge -Tamani, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Ines,

I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your trip here to Galu Sea Lodge in September. We had not envisaged the building work still going on, and appreciate it must have been noisy for you. Thankfully, the work was all completed in December and we are now back at our normal peaceful state.As regards to the checkout, our check-out time is 10am (which is a standard time throughout most hotels/cottages here) and there to ensure the house is ready for next guests checking in at 2pm. Sorry if you felt 'pushed out' at 4pm, but as I'm sure you can appreciate, that is already considerably past the normal check-out time. This information is included in all the booking correspondence sent to guests. I do hope you will come and stay with us again, and give us a chance to make up for the experience last time? The new beach houses and apartments are very nice, ad I'm sure we can find a way to improve on the stay for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Back to London after almost a week in Galu sea. Love, love, love everything about the place. It is divine...the soft white sand, the coconuts, ohhh the coconuts, the colour of the sea, the serenity, and the pure joy of breathing in fresh air. As for the staff, incredibly helpful and accommodating. I will surely go back if only for a second round with the monkeys.
:)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adjoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galu Beach
1.9 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Neptune Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
3.4 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lantana Galu Beach
Lantana Galu Beach
#3 of 5 in Galu Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galu Sea Lodge -Tamani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galu Sea Lodge -Tamani

Property: Galu Sea Lodge -Tamani
Address: Diani Beach Road, Galu Beach 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Galu Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Galu Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TAMANI at Galu Beach is situated at the south end of Diani beach. There are 4 two-story beach houses plus 6 newly built apartments, situated within beautiful gardens that run down to the wide, sandy beach. There is an excellent, well-maintained swimming pool within the front gardens and next to the beach.The Beach Houses and Apartments take from 2-10 Persons comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Galu Sea Lodge -Tamani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing