We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kenyan bliss”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tiwi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sand Island Beach Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Tiwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My fourth time in Sandisland Beach Cottages was absolutely paradise like as the last three times and even better. The self contained makuti roofed cottages, with inbuilt natural air conditioning, are as close to the beach as possible. The sea with a coral garden in swimming distance provides easy access to snorkeling, and provides the fresh seafood as one wishes...

Wireless network allows to stay in touch with the rest of the world. The little shop, daily cleaning service and passing by fishermen make self catering as easy as it gets.

The managers are great hosts and very helpful, if anything is needed or a trip to be organized.

The three dogs are as laid back as the place itself. Life there, is turning into bliss: swimming, watching the colors of the water change with tides coming and going, and musing - undisturbed Kenyan peponi. One wishes time would stand still for a bit longer than a week.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

A true 'Sand Islander' and we couldn't have written it better ourselves. It is very special for us, and I am sure for all the previous Managers, that this was now your fourth visit and you enjoyed it as much or perhaps even more as all the others. Our aim is to always make it clean and comfortable and upgrade where necessary without losing the special charm of a place that is truly still a bit of the 'old' Kenya. Welcome back soon - thank you for lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 192 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

Sand island is great if you are looking for a beautiful spot to unwind and relax. The beach is not quite the soft sand of Diani, but it is still a lovely setting.The cottages are simply furnished, clean and comfortable. Each has a sea view and terrace. Perhaps the biggest draw is the peace and quiet compared to other parts of the coast, although the seclusion limits beach walks a bit, which is something we enjoy. There is great snorkelling at the reef where we saw some very colourful fish. Certainly worth a look if you are looking for a peace and quiet in a stunning setting at a good price.....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us; certainly seclusion is something we promote and our geography helps as at high tide we’re cut off from beaches to the north and south rendering us ‘private’. Diani does, indeed, offer the chance to walk a long white beach but the vendors can intrude a little on privacy. We rather encourage our guests to explore the area within Sand Island. To the north, on the coast, there is Swallow Pool and to the south, ONLY with a fisherman, Africa Pool, which makes for a long walk as does the reef at low tide. We’re also really happy for guests to venture inland as we boast a large acreage of indigenous forest as well as a casuarina plantation to the rear of the property. It’s especially nice to walk up there late evening and enjoy slightly different views and occasionally small game. We’re really pleased you enjoyed the snorkeling and in the office is a super book which helps to identify all the different species.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Sitting on the verandah of our little cottage overlooking the coral beach and ocean beyond while our lovely cook prepared our dinner in the evenings, we wondered how life could get any better! The cottages are rustic, designed to suit the climate and full of character. They are cleaned each day and you can have a cook if, and when, you want one. We had a lovely lady cook a few times, and she was happy to try - and was capable of making anything. On our last night she made a delicious coconut fish curry the traditional way, grating the coconut, making the milk etc.. We bought fresh fish on the beach each day, and the friendly couple (Arty and Cheryl) running the cottages arranged fresh fruit and veg to be delivered to our door! One big advantage is that you are not harassed by salesmen at all (as happens in most other places) because the management have strict rules preventing this.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ausgiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Amazing how you so captured and enjoyed the whole ethos of Sand Island and thank you for getting this across so well in your review. Beautiful, quiet, comfortable, old worldy and hassle free! One can do as much as or as little as one wants - swimming, snorkeling, eating, reading, sleeping - a truly wonderful holiday. We hope that you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is just a peace of heaven - piece and quiet in fantastic surroundings.
The position by the beach just doesn't get any better.
The beach is great, with excellent snorkelling.
And the cottages are just as they shall be, simple and yet fantastic.
We spent a great last week of our 4 weeks in Kenya here.
And Cheryl and Arty are friendlier than friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

It is always such a joy for us when guests come and enjoy this wonderful place called Sand Island. Snorkeling is good here when one adventures a little more near the reef towards the Star Fish Garden and although not abundant the variety is great. We loved meeting the whole family and do hope that you will be able to visit us again soon. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

If you are looking for a fancy resort where you can drink umbrella drinks by the pool all day surrounded by throngs of other guests, you probably won't enjoy Sand Island. On the other hand, if what sounds good to you is having your own private cottage just 20 feet away from one of the most wildly beautiful and pristine stretches of beach on the Kenyan coast, Sand Island is your place. I took my family of 6 to Sand Island in November 2013 for three days, and we loved it. We brought a big cooler of food and Cheryl & Artie arranged for a local cook, Juma, to come by every afternoon and whip up dinner for us using the groceries we brought and the local seafood. We even had Thanksgiving dinner (we are yanks) and it was tremendous,with oysters, chicken, fresh fish, and sweet potatoes. The kids loved the beach, where the sand bar creates a shallow inlet stretching for about 100 meters at low tide. Even my three year old was able to happily frolic in the water without fear of a big wave or the current taking her away. They also loved "starfish island" which one of the local fishermen showed us. For about 10 dollars he took us out to a sand bar where hundreds of brightly colored starfish were clustered. Mostly, we all just enjoyed getting away from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi and Mombasa and relaxing in a place where time seems to move much slower. All in all, a great vacation and one we hope to repeat very soon. My only caveat to this review is: we drove on our own to Sand Island with our own food and supplies (including drinks). If you can't do the same you may find it inconvenient to stay at the cottages as there are not any nearby stores.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

It was indeed such a pleasure to meet you and your family and have you to stay here at Sand Island and thank you for taking the time to review us. It's hard to beat fish and seafood that comes straight out of the sea and on to your plate and the cooks really have got the art of preparing it down to a T - seems in almost everyones favourite way. Grocery shopping en route is always recommended as Diani is the closest shopping centre to us after Mombasa but only a 20 minute taxi ride away. Our 'convenience' shop does help for forgotten or 'treat' items or to at least make a dinner or breakfast (or both) until you can get to the supermarket. Childrens paradise it certainly is - shallow pools at low tide and then good swimming for the adults at high tide. We look forward to your next family visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here in 2013 for a week (January), and loved it so much that we booked for new year 2013/14 before we left...and we weren't disappointed. A few improvements have been made since we were last there, including a bit of a convenience store on premises, which is very useful. Cheryl and Arty are as gracious as ever, and will do everything to ensure that your stay is perfect. The location is unchanged of course, which is brilliant, as it's all just perfect. Absolutely recommend without an ounce of hesitation - we will be back for certain, hopefully sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandering_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

We love it when we get 'new' guests becoming 'old' guests coming back year after year and look forward to bringing in the New Year (2015) with you for the third time in a row. Wonderful comments and of course we agree that Sand Island is definitely a bit of paradise still to be found unchanged although improved on the Kenya Coast. Working closely with the fishemen and kikoy and bead sellers on the beach and teaching them to relax and wait for the guests to come to them rather than harrassing them certainly pays off and goes a long way to making this place extra special. Thank you for taking the time to review us - always appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have just returned from our second trip this year to Sand Island. We arrived early and our cottage wasn't quite ready so Cheryl and Arty gave us access to a bedroom in their own house, a cold drink and space on their verandah to chill out until we were able to take possession of our own space. This time there were more in our party and we stayed in Pweza. It was a great space for a larger group. The two main bedrooms were large and spacious, the third bedroom was not quite as large but easily accommodated two adults and we even fitted in another bed complete with mossie net under the stairs when we acquired an extra guest. We spent most of our time on the large verandah where we lounged around on the day beds and assembled our table tennis net on the dining table if we felt the need for serious exercise. The kitchen facilities were good enough to easily produce the traditional Christmas dinner for seven with all the trimmings. Our family love Sand Island because we all truly relax there. We read, we swim, we snorkel and we drink lots of Tusker and G&Ts. We all look forward to the next time. Thank you Cheryl and Arty.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParishOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandIsland, General Manager at Sand Island Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you so much for the review, we really do appreciate it very much when guests take the time out for this. We enjoy having you to stay just as much as you enjoy coming here as you really do embrace the Sand Island specialities - peace, relaxation, good books, good company, fresh fish and seafood daily and of course always the sundowners! We very much look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiwi
3.0 mi away
Diani Bay Resort
Diani Bay Resort
#29 of 29 in Diani Beach
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hillpark Tiwi
Hillpark Tiwi
#2 of 2 in Tiwi
58 reviews
5.6 mi away
Diani Beachalets
Diani Beachalets
#9 of 69 in Diani Beach
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas
#11 of 69 in Diani Beach
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diani Hostel
Diani Hostel
#38 of 69 in Diani Beach
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
HillPark Amare Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Island Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Island Beach Cottages

Address: Tiwi Beach, Tiwi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tiwi
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Tiwi
Price Range: $24 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Island Beach is comprised of ten fully self contained cottages - which sleep between 2 and eight depending on which one you take - on a pristine piece of Kenya's south coast. It's geography offers guests something unique: a private beach within easy proximity of shops and restaurants. Set in acres of orchard and indigenous coastal forest and just meters from the beach, there is a real sense of space and peace. We will arrange airport transfers, assist with shopping and offer advice on local attractions and adventures. We pride ourselves on our hosting and our extraordinary location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sand Island Beach Cottages Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing