We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worn out”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tiwi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coral Cove Cottages
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Tiwi
2 reviews
“Worn out”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place could be like paradise, if it would be not so dirty, damaged, rusty, the mattress not so worn out, the outdoor chairs not so old and damaged, mosquito nets not to small, and so on.
So it's only a place you better avoid.....what a pity

Room Tip: If you don't avoid this place, take a cottage next to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    2
    4
    7
See reviews for
6
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

we stayed for a few nights with friends in a cottage at Coral Cove and thought it was lovely.
the cottage was pretty spacious and had all the facilities you'd expect from a basic self catering cottage. the bathroom was well fitted and there was hot water, if not too consistently. Bedrooms were large and clean though i would recommend a mosquito plug to ward off the bugs.
the location is great, you can walk to the beach in less than two minutes and there are shops a short taxi ride away. you can arrange a taxi easily (the owner introduced us to the driver) and he is friendly and knowledgable and won't charge you a fortune.
the beach is magnificent, with plenty of palm tress and shade if required. the beach boys are ever present but for the most part are not too pushy if you're clear what you do or don't want.
we had breakfast at the hotel next door which is pretty convenient if you can't be bothered with sorting your own out.
overall, i would definitely recommend if you don't mind a bit of rustic and quite a few pets roaming the grounds.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THZweibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We booked for 5 days but left after 2!. It looks wonderful. The cottage was run down, much of it was dirty and beyond repair, many fixtures broken, no fans in living area, overun with ants (we had to throw away a lot of food we had just bought). Also lizards etc., and threatened by the owners dogs that were allowed to run free (thoughtfully, the owners wrote advice in the info pack about how to approach the owners office/house when the dogs can be called off!). Front door had to be kept shut to keep monkeys out. Thus adding to the heat. One of our very few neighbours left early - claiming they had been robbed at machette point on the beach. Swimming is only possible at high tide as the tide goes out a long way over sharp coral. The linen was clean. Matresses were thin. The fridge was good (if you can stand the strange smell around the cooking area). We should have noticed that the photos on the website lacked detail.

Room Tip: Don't stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tiwi hotels

amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

we enjoyed our stay at Coral cove cottages. De houses are big and clean and the staff is amazing! every day you can buy fresh fish, fruits and vegetables on your veranda! It is deffinitly not a fancy resort, but this was just the place we where looking for! for the people who are complaining. Maybe you should book a 5 star resort and not a cottage for this price! Because it was great!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marloes m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I would recommend that couples looking for a romantic and peaceful stay at the ocean look elsewhere. Coral cove is too run-down and bug-infested to be relaxing. We actually shortened our stay by several days -- and we love being outdoors and camping -- because the cottage was too run-down to enjoy.

Pros:

1. Tiwi beach is fantastic and our cottage over-looked the ocean. In my mind Tiwi is much, much better than Diani. Go to the africa-shaped lagoon for example.

2. The price was lower than hotels in Diani, though it's definitely a case of you get what you pay for.

3. The staff were pleasant and friendly, and made us feel right at home.

4. The cottage itself was large and spacious.

Cons

1. The cottage, and especially the kitchen, was rundown and in need of repairs. For example, we had multiple holes in our roof.

2. Bugs! We had so many bugs in our cottage--too many ants to count, flies, mosquitos, bees, a slug and milipedes. We even had a monkey steal food from our front porch!

3. The kitchen was not a clean or especially inviting place to cook, which is frustrating because coral cove bills itself as a self-catering cottage. But who wants to cook in that ancient kitchen?

4. Our mosquito net was inadequate, In one night we killed 5-6 mosquitoes that were inside our net. I live in Kenya and never have this problem at home.

5. The owners of coral voce claim to be friendly people, but we never once saw them. Thank goodness they hire good staff.

6. The shower is only hot twice a day; once in the morning and again in the afternoon. But you never feel truly clean because the water coming out of the tap is salt water.

7. The power went out several times, leaving us in the dark without a fan. A good back-up generator would be nice.

In short, I think Coral Cove needs to consider making significant renovations to their cottages. Until then, couples looking for a dream gettaway should go elsewhere in Tiwi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This place got a rave review in Lonely Planet a couple of years ago and has been riding high ever since. True, the cottages are roomy, but they are not comfortable. The mattresses are so thin you can feel the boards through them. The kitchens have not been maintained since the cottages were built some 20+ years ago, by the looks of it. In our neighbour's cottage, the refrigerator door was held in place by straps! The fans are old, they squeak so badly you can't sleep, and if you turn them off, it gets so stifling you can't sleep then either. Despite the location near the beach there's no breeze here, and we only felt we could breathe when we went to the sitting area at the end of the overgrown garden or to the beach café next door. We had paid in advance, so we stayed and endured it, but were happy to leave. It felt like a prison. You are warned against going up the road, warned against walking on the beach, a taxi to the shopping centre and back costs Ksh 2000, and there's no information available, no internet, no nothing. Only redeeming feature is manager Margaret, who does her best, and the local fishermen and fruit vendors. Lots of Swedes here - the place has probably got good reviews in Swedish guidebooks as well. They must be outdated. Our advice: Look further!

Room Tip: Two cottages nearest beach get some fresh air - the others don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nohmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We travelled as a couple this xmas season hoping to spend ten days! we just did three and we had it! The place is really old and expensive for what it offers! Dirty dirty carpets and very dirty rough floors too. the roof is still of the old material that causes cancer Asbestos or something like that. Dirty dogs. Bushy area full of mosquitoes that will make you not sleep at night because they do not fumigate the area.to add on to the sleeping bit, our bed had bed bugs! The previous guest had it also in the guest book sign out! I liked the trees though but they are too thick they block your view to the beach. The beach is lovely. White sand and very clear water! it was my only loving part. The owner does not even visit to welcome the guest only the workers showed up just the day of arrival. This is a prime location but very very poorly managed and cared for.

Room Tip: If you are looking to have a good time with your loved one, and would like Tiwi beach, we looked aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muthoniNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiwi
0.0 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
HillPark Amare Resort
0.0 mi away
Hillpark Tiwi
Hillpark Tiwi
#2 of 2 in Tiwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ritam Getaways
Ritam Getaways
#3 of 5 in Tiwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Coral Cove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Cove Cottages

Property: Coral Cove Cottages
Address: Tiwi 254, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tiwi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Tiwi
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing