We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveler rating
430
198
57
24
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
430
198
57
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jahazi grill half board seafood restaurant swim up bar indian ocean lovely beach dress code our honeymoon an upgrade table tennis lobster main restaurant palm trees visit mombasa beach boys the general manager mosquito net
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 720 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2018

Dictated by Philip Mungeam from Usk/Raglan in Wales and typed on his behalf.

Having travelled all over the world and having been fortunate to stay in the best of hotels, I have to say that my stay at the Serena Resort surpassed all of my previous experiences.

All of the staff were exceptionally friendly and more importantly, genuinely friendly. They served us not merely because they had too but because they wanted too and this difference transcended throughout our stay.

Herman, the manager, with his uniquely attentive abilities, looked after us all to such a degree that can only be described as fantastic. His role is clearly a vocation.

The rooms were not only clean, but airy and indeed spacious. The design based on the old Swahili homes and culture ultimately enhanced the whole relaxing and unique experience.

The location of the resort, set in beautifully serene surroundings including lush green lawns is spread along the beach which runs into reams of pure white sand meeting the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean.

The food is amazingly varied to suit every taste ranging from authentic Kenyan recipes to full International cuisine.

If you are looking for a hotel and location catering for wild, alcohol filled, boisterous patrons, then this is not the hotel for you.

However, if you require the ultimate in relaxation and tranquillity, coupled with first class surroundings and impeccably attentive staff, then this is the place for you.

I for one, will with utmost certainty, be returning to the Serena Beach Resort and Spa. The synonymous Swahili term “ Hakuna Matata” epitomises everything that the resort and staff have to offer.

Philip

Room tip: All rooms look fantastic
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pn_davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Food & Beverage Manager at Serena Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Dear Philip.

Thank you very much for your the feedback. We are happy to receive this review and it motivates our staff to continue to do what they do best.
We look forward to your next booking.

Best wishes

Herman Mwasaghua


















Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

This is a splendid hotel by the seaside! Rooms were neat and I loved the access door to the oceanside. Great new year’s eve dinner and all round activities. Super stuff in the curio shop too. Good was good too! The service was great, with pleasant staff!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank cathykay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Food and Beverage Manager at Serena Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

Dear Cathy

Thank you very much for your positive review of our Resort. We are happy that you had pleasant memories here in Mombasa. We are now looking forward to yet another opportunity to host you and the family.

Best wishes
Herman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

I must say my wife and I enjoyed the best wedding anniversary ever. Our stay can be said best as satisfying. The property is amazing starting from the STAFF, to Maisha spa, the butterfly sanctuary, there grounds, pool, gym, rooms to the amazing meals which are top notch authentic , tasty and pleasant to the eyes. We just want to thank anastasia and staff for making our stay pleasurable,relaxing and memorable. We shall be back definitely. A 5 star experience I must say.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank ralphm671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Food & Beverage Manager at Serena Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Dear Ralph,

It is indeed delightful to read your comment. We are more energized to continue with what we do best. We do look forward to being of service again.

Best wishes
Herman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

The Serena is located right on the Indian Ocean and it's like staying in a picture postcard. It's sort of set up like a Swahili Village and is landscaped with gorgeous tropical plants. There are three restaurants and the pool is big and has a swim up bar. The pool is just a few steps away from the ocean which has white sands and camels (but also a lot of peddlers so be prepared for that).

Room tip: If possible, try and select one of the rooms that overlooks the Ocean, even though all the rooms are good.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Satinder H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Food & Beverage Manager at Serena Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Dear Satinder

Awesome to read your review. We are most please that you had a memorable stay at the resort. We do look forward to your next visit in not too a distance away.


Thank you,
Herman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

Warm reception exclusive dinning and great varieties of food ,beautiful serenity clean kids pool and main pool.aerobics was great ..great ocean view busking on the sun .enough security at the beach we yatched to the deep ocean ooh was lovely breezy and finally the entertainments and dinner setup near the beach on new year's eve was great .Great serena we are coming back !

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank awojat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Food & Beverage Manager at Serena Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Thank you so much Awoja,
We are most pleased that you are coming back and we do look forward to hosting you again.

Best regards from the Serena beach Resort & Spa

Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews