We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveler rating
403
180
55
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
180
55
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jahazi grill half board village rooms seafood restaurant swim up bar wonderful stay breakfast and dinner tennis courts shanzu beach relaxing holiday indian ocean lovely beach table tennis kids club amazing hotel visit mombasa lobster
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 671 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2017

Stayed at the hotel for 10 days in November. From the moment we arrived the welcome was friendly and staff were helpful. Our luggage was taken to our room ( which was ready for our early arrival). Room was clean. The bathroom had a walk in shower as well as a bath. Good range of products available.
The food was very good and plentiful. The main restaurant where breakfast and dinner are served. Plenty of seating. At breakfast there was a wide range to choose from. Dinner was a six courses with choices available. Service a bit slow took some getting use too!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank AnnaM3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Food & Beverage Manager at Serena Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2017

Dear Ann
Thank you for the review we take note of the experience and shall be reviewing speed of service delivery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

Serena Beach is the place to be
With glorious views of the turquoise sea
The swaying palms make Merry notes
And sails unfurled on the bobbing boats .
At breakfast Henry is your man
He is the expert with the frying pan
His eggs and pancakes and omelettes full
Are delicious to eat and never dull.
The tingly water in the blue tiled pool
That soothes the warmth and so refreshingly cool
The shaded groves that dim the light
Where the shade lovers smile with great delight.
The coconut drinks that quench the thirst
There’s no better taste than that longed for thirst
The place to hide from life’s frantic pace
Your worries disappear without a trace .
Nidogo nimbly plaits the strengthened hair
While camels bark at the load they bear
The roaring reef in a Snow White arc
And turtles swim in this protected park.
The monkey manager patrols the grounds
Deterring their forays with his catapult rounds
He will then trim a coconut just for you
Drinking it’s milk is all you have to do .
If fish is what gives you a thrill
Then what you need is the Jahazi grill
With decor that is just ship shape
Listen to waves with the sea food crepe.
On the cocktail terrace you take a seat
To counteract the mid day heat
And then to dinner where the fountains flow
Bodies tanned and with a healthy glow.
The full moon casts its golden beam
On the shimmering waters where the sea life teams
And shadows cast by the towering palm
Brings the day to a serene and peaceful calm.
One morning we scarce believed our eyes
When breakfast by the beach was our surprise
Thanks goes to Phoebe and all of her crew
Then to sail on a dhow was the next thing to do.
Not enough can be done to enhance your stay
Boga constantly keeps your needs at bay
So lie back and enjoy your window of dreams
These memories on times may be your sunshine beams.
So ahsante sana for our wonderful stay
We hope to return one future day
There’s always a Karibu for you
A place to relax with nothing to do..
From Paul , Jean , Del , Rob , Stu and Rose

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank roseevs1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile

This is our ninth visit the first being 25 years ago.
We travel extensively staying at top hotels but we are constantly drawn back to Serena.
The hotel is exquisite,the gardens beautiful ,the service excellent and always delivered with a smile and the food good with lots of variety.
If you are looking for a relaxing holiday with wonderful facilities and also very safe come to Serena you will not be regret, this is like paradise at a very reasonable price.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank dingstopple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Food & Beverage manager at Serena Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to note you got value for your money. We look forward to your next visit in not to far away.

Thank you
Herman Mwasaghua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful tropical location on the Indean Ocean. Excellent staff and service. Need improvement: the doors are difficult to open from the inside. Beware of mosquitoes though nets are provided I still came home with lots of bites on my arms. Rooms are rather small. Overall a nice place to stay.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
Thank Nji N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

Have stayed here for many years and never tire of this hotel from moment you arrive.

Big John on arrival greets you and staff are charming polite and very efficient.

Rooms are Kenyan style with good balconies and excellent bathroom mostly sea facing.

Breakfast and evening meals all fresh and menus changed daily.

There is a wonderful fish restaurant on the beach with Al La Carte menu and well worth using.

The beach is fantastic as are swimming pools and gym has ample facilities.

Finally at the end of the day use the spa before evening entertainment.

I

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank alangsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews