We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good conference hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serena Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Certificate of Excellence
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A good conference hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I visited this place whilst attending a seminar.The hotel is about 20 km from Mombasa town at Shanzu.The road is all weather tarmarc.Checking in was first though there was no welcome drink.Found this rather odd for a pricey 4 star not to have a welcome drink.Room was clean and neat though the mosquito net was slightly torn.(room 78).The way the net was hanging over the bed was not neat as there bed posts should be high on all fours or alternatively provide a rectangular net instead of a circular net which then touches the legs defeating the whole logic of having a mosquito net. Luckily there were no mosquitoes.A/C functional with a TV in room.Not the flat screen.Otherwise food was excellent,delicious and had variety.Not much evening entertainment activity though.All in all ,I would stay again at the Serena Shanzu.

Room Tip: I stayed at room 78 but the 80 series has better sea view from room balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    152
    49
    18
    9
See reviews for
126
201
39
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Briarcliff Manor,N.Y.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Mombasa , Kenya has some of the most beautiful beaches and hotels in the world and one reason it is so is because it is still not as commercialized as other beautiful beaches in South Africa and the Caribbean . The sand is powder soft and the water clean ,warm and clear. What makes Kenyan and Tanzanian beaches so great is the warm hospitality offered by the mostly Arab culture on the east coast of Africa. Although the word "Arab" brings not so warm feelings , thanks to the Western Media nowadays but go and see for yourself the unstinting welcome you will experience there.
The resort itself is like a dream, small elegantly furnished cottages, surrounded by exotic trees and bushes and the extravagantly lavish food and service offered there.
One can venture into the "old town" in Mombasa and see the narrow cobbled streets and old buildings that have existed for hundreds of years and you will be transported into another more innocent and unspoiled time that we all long for in our Western countries.
One note however is that Kenya is not inexpensive but what you get for your money is so very well worth the journey there.
Jamil Lone, New York.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeelaylone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I chose to relax at this resort, Mombasa Serena Beach. The Serena Beach was a lovely hotel, our room was great, as was the service and the food. We had an extremely relaxing time, its just a shame we couldn't have spent more time there, maybe in the near future!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairnsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great ambience, lovely beach and fantastic service. It was a great experience. Different from most hotels along the Kenyan coast in terms of property set up, distance to the beach, fantastic gardens. I must definitely go back for longer as a couple. Would have loved to try out the spa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AkinyiOtega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

What a great experience! Stayed for 8 days on a business trip and took a rest the last day to sunbath and relax. Awesome experience! Friendly and helpful staff - genuinely friendly- great resort with all of its facilities: the food, the rooms, the beach, the pool, and everything else. Just 2 notes as I think this place can be a perfect place going the extra mile: the internet connection is generally unstable. This can be very annoying for someone traveling on business and the A/C didn't work very well. Seems there was a problem with it - room 92. I really enjoyed this hotel and will be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YousefOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Shores, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here after 6 nights on Safari. We had to switch rooms twice as the A/C did not work and we weren't able to connect to the Wifi. The second room was better as far as A/C and Wifi. The vultures on the beach trying to sell their wares was a bit annoying as they would hit you up in large groups. The spa services were great and we enjoyed the couples massage alot. The camel ride on hump day was pretty cool :) .... The food was great too. The pool was very relaxing but it took a while to get a frozen drink.

Room Tip: Avoid room 64. A/C did not work very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jody J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
182 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I ended here for only 1 night during my last business trip to Nairobi as i had to be 1 day in Mombasa. Serena Beach was recommended by a colleague. I am happy I followed his lead.
The service is amazing, the setting is nice, quite and inviting to relax.
Somehow i got half board, which i usually don't like. In Serena Beach it was the right choice, it is a mixture of buffet (salad starter and dessert), but in between you are served on your table and could choose your appetizer, soup, main course out of 2 to 3 choices.
Next time I try to bring my wife!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanzu
1.2 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#8 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#17 of 59 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bahari Beach Hotel
Bahari Beach Hotel
#12 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
4.9 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 59 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 90352, Shanzu, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Shanzu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serena Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the shimmering sands and waters of the Indian Ocean stretching before it, amidst verdant, bougainvillea-filled gardens, and shaded by gently swaying palm trees,Serena Beach Resort and Spa offers the ultimate tropical paradise. Treat your palate to a superb selection of of a la carte seafood dishes at the Jahazi Grill which is set on a beach and styled to resemble an Arab dhow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Serena Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Beach Hotel Shanzu
Serena Beach Hotel And Spa
Hotel Serena Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing