We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Place to Relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serena Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Certificate of Excellence
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Place to Relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

After an amazing trip to the Masai Mara we sepnt a wonderful week at the Serana Beach Hotel. It was our second visit and proved to be even better than the first which we had thought was excellent! The trip from the airport to the hotel was slow because of the pending elections but our rep Martha had stayed on to greet us on our arrival. She befriended us all the week and answered all our queries and gave us all sorts of useful information.
The reception area is airy and guests are seranded by the resident parrot! We were given a welcome drink and then escorted throught the village to our first floor sea view room. It was kept spotlessly clean always cool because of the air conditioning and with the extra blessing of mosquito nets - not that we saw any mosquitos during our entire stay.
The food was excellent - so much of it and such variety. Having had a good breakfast there wasn't any need for more food until dinner - though we did sometimes indulge and shared a club sandwich!
It was really dreamy to lie on a comfortable sun bed under the palm trees with a gentle breeze blowing off the sea and listen to the breakers on the reef. Towels were plentiful as were the waiters who from time to time brought us cooling drinks The staff were all very friendly and helpful - even carrying cups of tea from the 'help yourself to a beverage cabin' to our sun beds.
The hotel has a turtle sanctuary. Local fishermen are encouraged to bring any turtle eggs they find so that they are properly cared for until they hatch. One morning we were invited to watch the release over the sand and into the sea more than 100 day old turtles. It was an amazing sight! We were told they return to the same beach again as adults to lay their eggs in five years time. There is also a butterfly conservation area with many beautiful and colourful specimens.
There are hawkers on the beach but not as many as our previous visit. Just ignore them and they will ignore you! We did go outside the hotel and visit the local shops and found a few souvenirs to take home with us. And yes, there are folk who offer you safari trips, massages, or follow you pleading for some charity but again that is part of Kenya!
If there is a next time - it will be Serena Beach Hotel again!

Room Tip: An upstair room overlooking the sea is wonderful. Just don't leave anything on your balcony - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    152
    49
    18
    9
See reviews for
126
201
39
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

From the Hotel reception and plus guest relation officer who was on duty that evening, we were very much impressed with the warm hospitality.
Jahazi Grill, being a sea food specialty restaurant, has a choice to accommodate non-sea food consumers like me.
Professional food service staff, great recommendations and excellent service. Would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We selected the Serena Beach Resort in Mombasa based on trip advisor ratings, and word of mouth recommendations. We landed a pretty good deal with the travel agency and away we went. This review is the wrap up of the good, and the not so good of our experience.

The 'Good' - I give 5 stars to the hotel staff, for always being there, for attending to our needs, and for making us feel Like Royalty. The hotel is what it it because of its staff.
The spa also enters the 'pretty good' category; it is a lovely place, with neat and clean facilities.
The food is excellent, never had issues with this.
The hotel grounds (except the beach area, pls see below) also deserves praises for being well kept, very natural, and relaxing.
My last praises go to beach volleyball, and kids club. Two thumbs up!!

The 'Not so good' - Do not dare stepping into the beach as the hawkers will be all over you in less than a minute. They don't seem to be organized, and hotel's management does not seem to care about what they do to guests out in the beach. Hotel should think about Social investment / CSR projects involving the community and where the local artisans sell their products at a central location while the hotel advertises their work.
Second thing we were not happy about was some guests booking chairs around pool area on a permanent basis. This should be first come first served, and nobody deserves special treatment.
Last thing is that the hotel is way far from the south coast, and the Wasini Island area. We booked a day trip to the island and it took us 3 hrs each way to reach destination. To make matters worst the hotel hired the most broken and unsafest minivan they could manage, we were very upset that day.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel has a very peaceful and serene atmosphere, surrounded by greenery and large grounds. It is situated on the North Coast on the beach.
The rooms are a bit small- housekeeping is average and could be improved! The Internet is slow as the Wi- Fi connectivity and Business center connectivity is below average.
However the experience was very pleasant, staff are friendly- Gym and pool facilities are good.
There was a lot of entertainment with live bands on all days. A very pleasing experience on the whole.

Room Tip: Higher floors- even a partial sea view is good as the hotel surroundings are very green
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Global_Desi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I bought the deal for this 5 * hotel over Easter at a fair which promised good rooms so all our friends on recommendation went for it. But here I am in a 5* with no working AC or a fan to substitute. Squashed rooms and tiny bathroom. Regretting not going to severin sea lodge though not 5* has the facilities of 7*

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shobhna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Ives
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is our second visit and it was even better than the the first. We were totally spoilt and the staff were brilliant right from the moment we arrvived. Really really clean and the food was die for. The only warning is that they have a colony of monkeys that are a mischeivois but great fun to watch (do not feed them)

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyVdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I have just come back from a really idyllic week at the Serena Beach Hotel.

The design, layout and grounds are all lovely and the whole place feels very tranquil. No piped music anywhere - bliss! The staff were attentive but discreet, very friendly and helpful and remebered what we liked to eat and drink. Couldn't fault them at all. Not too many hawkers on the beach was also a plus.

The food was excellent - we would recommend that you don't go for the full board option as there is a massive quantity of food available at each meal and we found that we couldnt manage another full meal at lunch time as well - the food from the non included menu us reasonable and great.

My only small complaint is that, although the rooms were very comfortable and clean they are a bit dated and the bathrooms are functional and could really do with up dating. Hence only 4 stars and not 5

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room - you can watch the monkeys playing in the evening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRHClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanzu
1.2 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#8 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#17 of 59 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bahari Beach Hotel
Bahari Beach Hotel
#12 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
4.9 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 59 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 90352, Shanzu, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Shanzu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serena Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the shimmering sands and waters of the Indian Ocean stretching before it, amidst verdant, bougainvillea-filled gardens, and shaded by gently swaying palm trees,Serena Beach Resort and Spa offers the ultimate tropical paradise. Treat your palate to a superb selection of of a la carte seafood dishes at the Jahazi Grill which is set on a beach and styled to resemble an Arab dhow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jovago.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Serena Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Beach Hotel Shanzu
Serena Beach Hotel And Spa
Hotel Serena Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing