We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I have just come back from a really idyllic week at the Serena Beach Hotel.

The design, layout and grounds are all lovely and the whole place feels very tranquil. No piped music anywhere - bliss! The staff were attentive but discreet, very friendly and helpful and remebered what we liked to eat and drink. Couldn't fault them at all. Not too many hawkers on the beach was also a plus.

The food was excellent - we would recommend that you don't go for the full board option as there is a massive quantity of food available at each meal and we found that we couldnt manage another full meal at lunch time as well - the food from the non included menu us reasonable and great.

My only small complaint is that, although the rooms were very comfortable and clean they are a bit dated and the bathrooms are functional and could really do with up dating. Hence only 4 stars and not 5

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room - you can watch the monkeys playing in the evening!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRHClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for Serena Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 582 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

after 4 days here, i am sad to have left. we stayed in the zanzibar suite and the room(s) were perfect. the staff was most kind and eager to please. upon arrival in our suite, we found some fresh paint on our clothes as some spots were still wet. it is water based so hopefully it will come out.

the strip in shanzu getting here is quite different and upon pulling into the hotel's property, you find yourself in a world most different. the grounds are green, tropical and very nice. it is a white-washed moor motif village right on the beach. we never left the property and have no regrets. the property is well manicured and the food was excellent. the breakfast selection was the best that we have had. we are not big on breakfast but the breakfast here had us all up and ready quite early. incredible selection, everything is fresh and made to order right in front of you.

the pool is nice with a swim-up bar and the palm covered area just in front of the beach is huge - 300 yards long perhaps, and most relaxing.

the beach itself was nice but the beach boys are irritating otherwise, we would have spent more time walking the sands. it was quite nice to swim in the indian ocean and the hotel provided towels which was most convenient.

i would definitely return and if not here, definitely to more Serena hotels. I was impressed. this came on the recommendation of Fred Kilonzi of Safari HITS who we used and were very happy with fred and our driver, Alex.

Room Tip: with kids, get the suites. while a view of the ocean would be ideal, the grounds are so nice it mat...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puff j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I've stayed here on business and on work. For both it is outstanding. Stunning setting, sensitive and authentic architecture, brilliant management, outstanding staff who really care about service, great entertainment and activities, and thoughtful surprises and touches. It is no surprise that I chose it for my honeymoon. oh - and do visit the spa. This place cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Had a wonderful time at this hotel, facilities good, staff mainly helpful and friendly, good taxi service to all local amenities. But step onto the beach or out of the front gate; beware!!! You will be pestered by people selling things, beggars and general nuisances. Its a shame, it could almost be perfect.
Definitely go on a 2 night safari.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My friend Nancy recommended we stay at Serena during our one week visit to the coast. We cannot thank her enough for such a great taste and choice. whether one is on holiday, business, quiet time with Almighty GOD or just run away from home Serena is place to stay.

i am pleased to acknowledge the attention given by the General Manager Mr Tuva and his wonderful secretary Ms Lucy Mwai. The receptionist Lucy and the concierge team were warm and friendly. Joseph patiently helped to settle us in the rooms. The food is sumptuous in variety ,the catering staff are amazing team well distributed, and ready to carry your food to your dinning table... great gesture i must say!!!! i call it professional presence.

The gym is well equipped, the towels readily available at the pool area. the rooms were spotless cleaned by very credible staff. the compound well manicured with many species of trees and flowers and the monkeys enjoy big time, the parrot sang soothing melodies in the evening as you grab a cup of Arabic Coffee......

I would not hesitate to highly recommend this 5 star to anyone who desires quality. We all look forward to another visit soon.

Sincerely yours

Agnes Kibaki

Room Tip: Obviously the room facing the ocean front; the higher the floor the better.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chichi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, Evelyn at the reservation office was very attentive and helpful, Phobe at the front desk assisted us to get a great refurbished room, the wait staff are very attentive. Make sure to have a espresso on the beach by Joshua! Beach staff are great, make sure to reserve your perfect table and beach chair. Even had a haircut in the Salon. The Spa is a treat as well, very courteous. When I addressed the GM about the political stability he assured me that the hotel was cautious and wod notify us of any traveling dangers.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I have just spent four days here. The staff are so overwhelmingly helpful that anything that does not fit your taste is quickly set aside. The beach staff are very helpful and will set up a padded lounger and towels daily, the front desk staff, wait staff, house keepers, spa staff etc are also equally helpful with suggestions and are very attentive. When speaking with the GM about political stability, and our travels he soothed our fears and offered to have us spend an additional night. The food is great with many options. This hotel is set up for weekly holiday travelers. a few tips, try to get a refurbished room. reserve your table for breakfast and dinner near a view you like, Make sure that you have a afternoon coffee or espresso from the barrista who came in 4th in the whole country, he makes a special tea as well.

Room Tip: refurbished sea view room but really anyroom is good unless you like to sit on a balcony and read...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanzu
1.3 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 60 in Mombasa
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
EnglishPoint Hotel
EnglishPoint Hotel
#18 of 60 in Mombasa
72 reviews
6.0 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 90352, Shanzu, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Shanzu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Price Range: $193 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serena Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the shimmering sands and waters of the Indian Ocean stretching before it, amidst verdant, bougainvillea-filled gardens, and shaded by gently swaying palm trees,Serena Beach Resort and Spa offers the ultimate tropical paradise. Treat your palate to a superb selection of of a la carte seafood dishes at the Jahazi Grill which is set on a beach and styled to resemble an Arab dhow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serena Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Beach Hotel Shanzu
Serena Beach Hotel And Spa
Hotel Serena Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing