We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2008

Nothing to add to the previous reviews. The Serena is fabulous.... staff excellent, good food. Rooms are a little small and bathrooms tired but clean. We loved the Serena and would most definatley return when next in Kenya. We did a 3 day safari at Governers.... amazing! Also did the dolphin safari... long drive but worth it. Mombassa day tour was also good. I suba dived for the first time and was looked after very well by the guys from the dive centre. We also went deep sea fishing and brought our catch back to the hotel which they then prepared for our dinner that evening.
The grounds are lovely and the beach with the reef in the distance breathtaking.
One of the best holidays ever!

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank snoodlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 607 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2008

My husband arranged for a surprise trip away after the new year and had booked a week in Kenya. Given the amount of news coverage on the elections we decided to go anyway and we were so glad that we did. On arrival the reception staff we helpful and made sure that we were settled in our room. The rooms are on the small side but they are well furnished in a Swahili style and very comfortable. The hotel is set in excellent grounds and there were more than enough sun loungers to go round whether you were pool or beach side. Plenty of activities during the day if you don't want to just relax such as water polo, volleyball, water aerobics! We also met two couples from the UK who regularly return to the hotel as they always have such great holidays.

During our weeks stay we also booked a two day safari through the hotel and had an amazing time in Tsavo National Park, a good price through Ali!! The hotel is also visited by Vervet monkeys if you don't fancy getting out into the parks. We also did have a couple of treatments in the spa which was very pleasant and uses Elemis products.

I would definately recommend going to Kenya despite what you hear on the news and if you want some days relaxing then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank priceypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2007

Just returned from a week's safari followed by a week at Serena Beach, which was beautiful. The staff simply cannot do enough for you and I'm missing their sunny smiles and cheerful "Jambo"s. The hotel is right by the lovely beach, set in beautiful gardens. Our "garden" room had a gorgeous sea view and was very comfortable with a large and excellent bathroom. Complimentary flowers and fruit were followed by champagne later in the week. The food was excellent with lots of gorgeous fresh fruit. The manager, Samuel, dealt with our few queries promptly and most efficiently. Alice in the restaurant was a gem and we miss Iddi who supplied us with coffee and tea exactly as we liked it. Even the resident parrot was a charmer! No tours locally are arranged by the hotel and this is a drawback if you don't want to spend all day sunbathing, which we didn't, and the humidity can be uncomfortably high. There seemed to be live music most evenings but it finishes reasonable early if you want to sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Nessie-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

This hotel really is something else! Set on stunning grounds overlooking the most idyllic looking beach it's a sight for sore eyes. The rooms are lovely, food is good and there's a pool bar - yes one you swim too with stools in the pool - so 80's you have to love it! But this hotel’s speciality has to be the spa... it's wonderful, so so tranquil. My partner and I had treatments in the couple’s room and were blissed out. There is a gorgeous sea food restaurant on the grounds of this hotel right on the beach that is really great. Snorkelling in this area is really good too! To sum it up the Serena is a perfect place to chill out in decedent surroundings.

My Top Tips

The Wasani Island tour is very good - great for snorkelling and dolphin spotting.

Fort Jesus by night is really informative and a beautiful meal in impressive historic surroundings

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Sbking79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

Had a wonderful stay here after 2 weeks on safari. Could not fault the hotel and service. Beautiful setting. Gorgeous spa. The staff were extremely attentive and friendly and did everything to ensure your stay was memorable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RolySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

well we have now stayed at this wonderful hotel twice and we cant wait to go back again in feb 2008 on the negative side the kenya goverment still persist with there $50 visa tax per person this must be a little off putting for familys and next time we are taking a direct flight from gatwick none of this changing at nairobi that can be quite stressfull,and you can get day time flights now there a must also.but back to the hotel its just bliss being there all the staff are really helpful and friendly you think at first that they want you to tip them but that really is not the case they are happy that you come to there country and they really want you to enjoy your stay,and believe me you will at this hotel,food to die for we have not had better anywhere and the fruit drinks ie passion friut is so fresh ,the gardeners will even climb up the cocconut tree to get you the freshest one you have ever tasted all for about 90p.yes some of the alcohol can be very expensive but as we dont really drink much it was ok,stock up at the airport a £25 bottle of moet &chandon was £100 in the restaurant ,and watch out for Edward a great character out on the lawns ,all in all ENJOY
Ian J

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank longneck_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harris-Kenya, Manager at Serena Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2007

Dear Ian,

Thanks so much for such a nice review about Serena Beach Hotel & Spa. As a company we beleive in excellent customers service and we have become the market leaders in this regard due to our service and luxury.

We do appreciate you stay with us and do hope that we shall be hosting you soon as well as your friends.

Regards,

Harris Macharia
E-commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

Where do you start on a holiday like this, it was just booked as a quicky and turned out probably the best holiday we have had.
It started with being met in reception with a lovely passion fruit drink, we were then escorted to our rooms and the luggage was carried for us, a beautiful ocean view room, extremely clean and here is one for the wives the cleaner is a man called "George" a good sized bed, your own bathrobes, a good sized bathroom with bath and shower, the shower is a bit quaint but functional,
table and chairs on the porch, beware the Monkeys do not leave anything out especially anything sweet sugar ect, or they will have it and disappear into the room looking for more. there is a tea/coffee bar on the front with free coffee and tea between 10 am until 1700, breakfast is a a full breakfast with freshly cooked omlette,eggs & pancakes, with a buffet bar of cereals and fruit and the most comprehensive collection of fruit juices I have ever seen, look out for Ambrose the breakfast chef. You then spend the day either by the pool or beach with white sand, do not be put off by the beach vendors just be very firm but not rude and say no, remember most of these people are very poor, in saying that they are very friendly and not intimidating all they want to do is make some money, the next bit of information is very important, if you want to help these people and if you want to barter with them then take out " Pens, Pencils, Notepads, and any other small items similar"
The entertainment in the evenings is very reasonable and watchable, drinks are a little on the pricey side especially spirits.
People who will help you are Duncan the boss, Samuel, Martha the Kuoni rep, Edward, Felix, Shalou, Francis just name to name a few.
Mombasa is a real culture shock to the average westerner, but do not be put as you drive to your hotel, if you go on a safari and you have a driver called Ahmed you have the best guide possible.
I will definately be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peterrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanzu
0.2 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 61 in Mombasa
1,014 reviews
1.3 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
#20 of 61 in Mombasa
99 reviews
5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#13 of 61 in Mombasa
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 90352, Shanzu, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Shanzu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Price Range: $191 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serena Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the shimmering sands and waters of the Indian Ocean stretching before it, amidst verdant, bougainvillea-filled gardens, and shaded by gently swaying palm trees,Serena Beach Resort and Spa offers the ultimate tropical paradise. Treat your palate to a superb selection of of a la carte seafood dishes at the Jahazi Grill which is set on a beach and styled to resemble an Arab dhow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Serena Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Beach Hotel Shanzu
Serena Beach Hotel And Spa
Hotel Serena Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing