We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mombasa Continental Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mombasa Continental Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

A hotel with so much potential however has not been maintained well. A couple of staff members who went above and beyond were a lady at marketing, Agnes thanks for your advice and prompt information about your hotel. Wallace working at Reception and Esther, thanks for your customer service and smile.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank aleutian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa Contine... R, Owner at Mombasa Continental Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your vacation.

We would like to thank you very much for taking your time to rate our property and give feedback in this respect. Through such comments we are able to put corrective measures where they are lacking and ensure guest comfort.

We look forward to be of service in the not too distant future and to welcoming you back to Mombasa Continental Restort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    35
    21
    12
    12
See reviews for
13
31
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I had an absolutely outstanding experience!!!. I will be definitely coming back here very soon :D :D The facilities are brilliant :D and so was the hospitality L). The staff were very polite and helpful :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maeve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa Contine... R, Owner at Mombasa Continental Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Maeve K, thank you for taking your time to give us feedback on your stay with us. Comments such as yours are very valuable to us and go a long way in improving our services as well as well as ensuring that your comfort comes first.

We hope we may have an opportunity to serve you again in future and look forward to welcoming you back to Mombasa Continental Resort.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed for two nights. The service was good and the facilities offer good value for money. The rooms were a bit average but would recommend it anyway. Food was good and there a number of activities to do in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa Contine... R, Owner at Mombasa Continental Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Nimokay,

Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback, through such comments we are able to put corrective measures where they are lacking and ensure guest comfort.

We look forward to be of service in the not too distant future and to welcoming you to Mombasa Continental Resort. We are happy to know that you would recommend us and commit to provide excellent service.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel is great, it has the feel of Vasco Da Gama that being the theme of the hotel when it was built in the 80's...haha, but in truth it is a beautiful hotel that needs a little TLC to get it to its original look in the 1980's but with a modern touch. I loved my stay there, service was not excellent but fair, rooms are spacious, linen needs an upgrade, there is highspeed internet service for FREE ehh!...but overall i recommend you try a few nights, you will be impressed. The menu is too monotonous, they need to be more creative.

Room Tip: Make sure you visit LeClub a discotheque that bring the life out of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tygermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa Contine... R, Owner at Mombasa Continental Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Tygermat,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your vacation.

We appreciate the feedback and observations you have made during your stay. Through comments like yours we are able to improve our operations for our guests comfort.

We take this opportunity to inform you that we are currently undergoing some light renovation especially in the guest rooms in order to maintain our Five Star International Standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mombasa Continental Resort once again and thank your for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Hotel was built years ago and unfortunately it's visible. Old hotel with fantastic location, close to beauty beach. Surprisingly during our stay hotel and beach was almost empty. Towels and sun decks were available whole day. We had a Chance to stay in 2 rooms – difference in quality was huge. If you may please take rooms from higher floors (3rd or 4th floor). Food was acceptable, but without quality mark. Generally as person who lived during communist time in Poland I felt like back in time to mid of 70-ties.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toki22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa Contine... R, Owner at Mombasa Continental Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your vacation.

We appreciate and accept your positive feedback and your observations on the conventional background of the hotel, which we have maintained for many years. Your opinion is very much welcomed since it assists us improve our operations in all aspects for the comfort of our guests.

We take this opportunity to inform you that we are currently undergoing some light renovation especially in the guest rooms in order to maintain the Five Star International standards that we have always maintained and we are open to any kind of criticism on order to improve .

We thank you once again for your patronage, and we look forward to seeing you back to Mombasa Continental Resort during your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have never stayed there, but just visit for the day. We negotiated the entrance fee which i thought was flexible of them to arrange. Around 600 ksh each enables us to use the pool facilities, volley ball and of course, TEA TIME which includes cake and biscuits..

So, for that, one cannot complain!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zahid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for a conference and was greatly disappointed. The hotel has certainly seen better days and the rooms call for a serious refurbishment! My room still had the waste basket full of beer cans that were not removed for my overnight stay. The AC did not work at all and I had one of the worst nights ever in a hotel having to sleep on top of the bed due to the heat. Perhaps the dining experience is the only credit to the hotel. Do something guys, it was a very good hotel before!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JST K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanzu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanzu
1.5 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
6.3 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#8 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Plaza Beach Hotel
The Plaza Beach Hotel
#10 of 14 in Bamburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mombasa Continental Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mombasa Continental Resort

Property: Mombasa Continental Resort
Address: Shanzu Beach Malindi Rd, Shanzu, Mombasa 80101, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa > Shanzu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Shanzu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mombasa Continental Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mombasa Continental Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mombasa Continental Hotel Bamburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing