We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intimate, nice staff and clean environment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jonic Hotel Mazzaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Intimate, nice staff and clean environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

I would like to thank all the staff at Hotel Jonic Mazzaro` for the excellent service recieved during our stay. I had a seaview double room. From our window we could see the environment of Mazzaro` Bay. For a three star hotel, the room was quite comfortable with a shower and had what was necessary. The hotel is situated in Mazzaro` which is near the sea within a tourist resort area. The surrounding environment is clean enjoyed the fact that it was few meters away from the sea and the fumivia which leads us to the heart of Taormina.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xa_gen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    80
    58
    14
    15
See reviews for
35
141
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

A small, homely and comfortable hotel. An excellent place for family and group vacation. Very amiable staff, always ready to help.
Their lemon pie is marvelous! The location is also good, close to the main roads, shops, towns, and the bus station is in a few minutes by cable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlanka25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

We have recently returned from a holiday in Sicily, staying a the Jonic Hotel Mazzaro. The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful on our arrival and during our stay. The room was clean with a nice bathroom with plenty of space. We also had a wonderful patio type balcony with spectacular views out to sea. A continental breakfast was served which suited us as we are not big breakfast eaters. The hotel is near to the beach and short walk from the cable car which takes you up to Taormina. We also found a fantastic restaurant a few minutes walk from the hotel ( in the opposite direction from the cable car) which is called ILGABBIANO. The fish is the best the I have ever had, and I have eaten fish all over the world. I can highly recomend the sword fish and also the mussels. The meat dishes are also excellent. The very pleasent lady who runs the restaurant speaks English which is very helpful as my Italian is less than usless.
I am sure that we will return to the Jonic and Mazzaro beach in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croatia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

We were in Jonic Hotel by the end of Jun.
Hotel is simple, clean, good location, with an amazzzing view, good position, only a few minutes with a cable car to centre of Taormina ( for 3,50 euri 2 way ticket), and a 2 min to the beach.
Hotel is romantic, but do not expect much of luxury....
Mrs Mariella at the reception was great.
We love Taormina, and if we ll come back we will stay at the sam hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

We stayed at the Jonic for 10 days in a room on the first floor with a balcony. Rooms are good for a 2 star and very clean. The view from the balcony was lovely.
Breakfast was simple but enough to keep you going until lunch! It was a continental breakfast, bread, ham, cheese, jams, juice and coffee.

The staff were lovely at breakfast and reception, very welcoming and full of information!

The location is excellent as you are next to the cable car up to Taromina town and walking distance (5 minutes tops) from two lovely beaches Mazzarro and Isola Bella. Both very pretty . You can hire out sun beds from one of the lidos on the beach or find a spare bit on the beach for free but be warned they are prebble beaches.

We had a lovely holiday!

  • Liked — The location - close to Taormina and beaches
  • Disliked — Breakfast simple
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianegilhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed at the jonic hotel mazzaro. The receptionist on tha t day was marielle and she was a sparkling fountain of information. She was a lovely lady always ready to answer any question in enlish i might add. The hotel is located on the main road which they all are and the view is spectacular. Get a room with a balcony. The rooms are admittedly small but the bathroom is first rate. The hotel is right beside the funicullar that takes you up to the town of taormina so that is very handy. Be warned though, bring beach shoes because they don't have sand beaches, the beach consists of rocks and small boulders the size of big potaoes. very difficult to walk on. The ocean water is very cold and people were being stung by jelly fish. if you go to mount etna, dress as warm as you can. we left the beach and it was 80 degrees and the top of mount etna was 30 degrees with a freezing blasting wind. There was snow up there., but so worth it to see it. It was amazing. Glad we did it. Walking around taormina was so fun. The whole thing was very enjoyable. You will love it, just be careful of cars on the road, there is not much room and they come very close to you!!! but go and have fun. We did. The people were lovely.

  • Liked — the location and the lovely receptionist mariellen
  • Disliked — the very rocky beach
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank barb7toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

Not what you'd expect from a 3-star hotel. Rather basic room, no fridge, mattress didn't fit double bed - but glad we paid extra for large balcony with sea view (and unlike other reviewers, our bathroom was decent size). No parking available, so had to use nearby car park. Breakfast was miserly - very limited choice of two cereals, ham slices, processed cheese slices or jam, and no fruit - and each person allocated one small bread roll and one croissant each! Location is very convenient for beach and for cable car to main town. So overall, it suited us for our 2-day stay, but didn't match up to what we'd expected for the price and star-rating.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank mrwebb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzaro
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#32 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#23 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonic Hotel Mazzaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonic Hotel Mazzaro

Property: Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
Address: Via Nazionale N 224, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jonic Hotel Mazzaro 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jonic, a small and romantic residence in Liberty style is incorporated in an old villa dating back from the early 1900s. It is situated at the Mazzarò Bay, formerly an fishing harbour called Taormina mare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jonic Hotel Mazzaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonic Hotel Mazzarò
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing