We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty towers”
Review of Villa Esperia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Esperia
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fawlty towers”
Reviewed May 23, 2009

with the exception of 1 young female , the waiting staff were rude , indifferent , sneering and totally incompetent. As part of a group tour our evening menu had a choice of 2 dishes ; pork or ........dolphin stew!!!!!!!!!! the vegetables were even better!!!!!!! green beans [they were ok] and 1 small potato.
Our room was nice , although most other guests complained of tiny rooms , and damp walls.
This is NOT a 4* hotel !!!!!!!!!!!! a 2* at most.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank maryjaneDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    97
    79
    79
    95
See reviews for
56
191
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

The bedroom was OK although the bathroom was small and smelt a bit funny. Bed was pretty uncomfortable - felt more like an IBIS than a 'four star' hotel. Balcony overlooked nothing of interest - although I would think some of the rooms at the front must have quite good views.

It's in a reasonable location and the staff were pleasant enough, pool was nice, public areas OK didn't actually eat here so couldn't comment on the food.

Overall for a place just to sleep it does the job - certainly not a place to spend lazy days.....

To summarise - it's OK but only just!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JimmyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mazzaro hotels

Prague
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2008

The Villa Esperia may not be the grandest 4-star hotel below Taormina but then it is cheaper than most. If you want a good base (near the beach and cable car) then you could do far worse. It was worth paying for the garage as parking is a nightmare. We found the staff full of smiles, the rooms and food quite OK and enjoyed our stay, even though we think it is not quite worth a 4-star rating.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DaliborCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We had heard so much about Taormina but could not afford the hotels we really wanted to stay in. That is where the Villa Esperia came in and, considering the price, we would recommend it, though it is not for people with expectations of the highest standards of service or accommodation. Instead, it is nicely situated, has a pleasant pool, clean though not luxurious rooms and perfectly acceptable food.

  • Liked — nice area and affordable on a budget
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Heather062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Most balconies of this unpretentious family-hotel are too small to sit on but the large pool terrace and location near the beach easily make up for that. You can always walk the two minutes or so to the cable car if you want to explore the old town higher up. I think the hotel is more of a good 3* than 4* hotel but we liked it and would happily go back.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RenataH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County PA
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2008

My main issue with this hotel is the indifference of the staff. It's hit or miss, some are very helpful and courteous while others are quite indifferent and too annoyed to bother with you or your questions.
The rooms are much too small and so are the showers. The balcony is too small which should have two chairs if you are lucky enough to have a chair since they only place a few chairs to some rooms. We borrowed a chair from another balcony. Not that there was anything to see since there is only a view to a wall of another building. If I could remember the place next door to this hotel I would stay there instead since it has beautiful views of the ocean that seriously block the view from the rooms of Esperia. It is a serious challenge just to get into the hotel with any luggage since there are a flight of stairs on a steep incline to negotiate. There is a small, emphasis small elevator to take your luggage into the hotel. The staff is not there to assist, they can't even see or seem to care if someone is coming into the hotel.
Location is poor unless you only plan to use their pool. Watch where you walk as you step outside and into a narrow street, there are few restaurants or any other things to do near by, you need to take the lift at a cost of 2 euros roundtrip to the main part of town where the main shopping and other sights and attractions are located. It will cost 20 euro to take a taxi for a 10 minute ride.
I recommend you skip this part of town and stay at a hotel above from where the Esperia is located.

  • Disliked — Location is dreadful
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

I booked 1 room for 2 nights here... the photos a very deceiving on the intenet. Trust me the hotel is not that clean there. We were at the end of a great trip of Sicily and wanted to spend some time in Taormina before going home. When we went to our room the bedspread was filthy with stains I would not even use it as a rag. Then we noticed that the AC did not work or the TV too. When I went down to the front desk there were also some other guests with the same complaints....hmmmm. I was told they would send someone up to fix everything. So went out for dinner 3+ hours to return to a very hot and humid room with no AC or TV. I called down to the desk and was told that the maintenance person had left for the evening and they did not have anyone to help us out since it was the night shift.
We were very dissapointed in the lack of service and how the staff could quickly decide they spoke no English. Fortunata io que parlo italiano e mi sono imbarazzata per i miei concittadini italiani. ( I was embarrased of my fellow Italian countrymen)
We were offered a 10% discount for the room and the inconveniences...give me a break.
I would recomend this place for a cleaning crew and for customer service training.
There are too many wonderful hotels in Taormina, please pass on this place unless you want to be ripped off.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuzzubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzaro
1.0 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#51 of 87 in Taormina
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#21 of 87 in Taormina
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ipanema Hotel
Ipanema Hotel
#55 of 87 in Taormina
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Esperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Esperia

Property: Villa Esperia
Address: Via Nazionale 244, 98030 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Esperia 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Esperia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Esperia Hotel Mazzaro
Esperia Hotel Mazzarò
Villa Esperia Taormina, Sicily - Mazzaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing