We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of 6 traveling with teens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Family of 6 traveling with teens”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our family is here now! What a fabulous hotel! The rooms are very large and decor nice but the views are outstanding. Being told to stay in Taormina and not on the coast, I was a bit hesitant. We are so glad we stayed on the water! I highly recommend it. The staff here is wonderful as well! Although quite pricey, it is worth it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaFourgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found that the staff to be very attentive.

I do hope you will consider staying with us when you next visit Taormina and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    73
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
108
313
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Villa Sant'Andrea is truly a stunning property. Located right on the water, the view couldn't get any better. The hotels interior is mostly marble with lavish decorations and rich furniture. Our hotel room was small, but still very elegant. One of my favourite things was the selection of fruit we had in our room, and also around the hotel -- the fresh coconut was divine. There is a rocky/pebbly beach with very good service, with food, drinks (and even jellyfish stings!) My daughter was swimming out pretty far, only to be stung by a jellyfish; nevertheless the staff was very attentive to caring for her sting, putting on ointment and giving her an advil. The restaurants were both excellent, we enjoyed traditional Sicilian cuisine many times there. The breakfast buffet was amazing, they had a huge, fresh and delicious selection, but again the best part was the view! The service overall in the hotel was perfect; room service was fast, the staff was pleasant and welcoming and the juice in the lobby was appreciated. We also enjoyed many meals at the sister hotel, The Grand Hotel Timeo, located in the towns center. While it was also very lovely, we much better enjoyed being right on the water for swimming, (it was also more of a family hotel). There was also a pool at the Villa Sant'Andrea, but it was a bit tiny, (not that we cared, because we spent our time in the ocean). In conclusion we will definitely be back, for there was not a flaw in our perfect stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write us your feedback.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea and will share your delightful comments with all our colleagues, whose goal it is to make each day of our guests memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in Taormina.

Best wishes,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Perfect anniversary break. The staff could not have been more friendly & attentive (without appearing to try too hard as in the sister hotel in Taormina. We are so pleased we chose this hotel & not the other one). It was a delight to open the shutters of our spacious & comfortable room each morning to the most wonderful view across the bay. I've never known a week to go so fast!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravelling939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guests,

I thank you for your words of praise regarding Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea.

We genuinely love to indulge all of our guests and I am truly pleased to hear that you have loved to stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We come from Canada and went on Holiday to Sicily a stunning place and stayed at the Hotel Villa S. Andrea in Taormina.We stayed for a week in this fantastic Hotel overlooking a magnificient bay where to describe it very beautiful would be a mere understatement.
The Hotel provided fresh breakfast every morning, the room was immaculately clean and staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. Food was outstanding.
Every evening we were greatly entertained by the great entertainer CARMELLO, who played the piano outstandingly and being a very friendly and very professional pianist made everybody very comfortable by his fabulous entertaining . He had a fresh and colourful look every evening.
We are definitely planning to come back next year
Laurie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 190LAURI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Mrs. Laurie,

I am really pleased to hear that you have enjoyed so much your stay at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea!

Carmelo and I were thrilled to read your feedback regarding the "fabulous entertaining" and we all look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We just spent a week at Villa Sant'Andrea. I can not compliment them enough on the service, staff and comfort of this beautiful hotel.
We arrived a day late due to weather and travel problems with US Airways from Philadelphia to Italy. When we arrived we had no luggage. The hotel staff made us feel right at home and relaxed. They arranged for our luggage retrieval which could have been a problem but turned out to be simple.
We were a family of 4 with 13 year old children, and we were meeting cousins who had younger children. All were welcomed like family and had an incredible time swimming, jumping off the rocks into the clear Mediterranean water and touring Sicily.
The rooms were gorgeous and the view incredible.
The 1/2 board plan was great and included a wonderful breakfast and dinner at the Villa Sant'Andrea or the sister hotel the Timeo, in Taormina proper.
Because we arrived a day late the hotel staff offered a 1/2 day powerboat tour of the beautiful Sicilian coastline.
The concierge staff was very helpful in planning trips to Etna and to the old Catania fish market.
The house staff that cleaned the rooms was polite and professional and did a wonderful job.
I have already recommended this hotel to many of my friends and colleagues as a perfect place to relax and enjoy Sicily.
I plan to return again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Suites are amazing and all the views are sublime
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We truly thank you for your kind feedback and are happy that you so much enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be happy to share your words with the whole team and especially with the colleagues from our Concierge team.

We are just about to open up our gates again for a new and exciting season 2014 and would be happy to welcoming you again in the close future.

In the meantime I send you my best regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were not able to rooms at the sister property in town called Timeo, and were we glad. Not only is this one of the most beautiful locations imaginable, but you are really away from all the tourists and hubbub of Taormino, but with shuttle service or the funicular to take you to town if you want. It is more like a seaside resort than a hotel, with a lovely beach, and excellent service, particularly in the bar (where we spent a lot of time) They have a very lively piano player and it is a good spot for fun and dancing after dinner. Our room was tiny (hard to believe that at those prices you could get such a tiny room) but it was spotless, the bed was comfortable and the view was glorious.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, definitely upgrade to a larger room, but try to ensure that you have an ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssklar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guests,

I thank you for your constructive feedback.

I am sorry to hear that your room appeared small. On the other hand I am extremely pleased to hear that " it was spotless, the bed was comfortable and the view was glorious".

I thank you for mentioning our excellent service at the bar. Indeed we have a tremendous and passionate team!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Giovanni Nastasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Dear Traveler,

My loved one and I just returned from a Sicilian Holiday. We spent 4 glorious days and nights at the Villa Sant'Andrea in Taormina, part of Orient Express. This beautiful property felt more like a seaside residence than a hotel.

When we arrived, we were immediately greeted by Mario Zerillo Guests Relations Manager. Mario gave us a personal tour of the property and introduced us to many of the staff members. A greeting so warm and sincere, it surpassed any other 5 star hotel we ever stayed at. We are quite fortunate to call such hotels our home away from home.

What the Villa Sant' Adrea offers is more than just services. The Hotel Staff's warmth and attention to detail reminded us of an era long gone "La Dolce Vita" where pleasing the Customer was all that mattered.

The hotel plans several events for any of the guest who wish to participate. Tuesday evening was a barbeque on the beach with tables, linens and beautiful stemware. Let's not forget to mention the Chef's menu consisted of everything from lobsters to grilled meats and assorted appetizers. The finest and freshest ingredients pleasing every palette.

A special shout out to Alfio the charming Head Barman who knows exactly what you are drinking and when and how to serve it.

I sincerely and strongly suggest you visit this wonderful hotel. We had an amazing time and I am sure you will as well!!

Safe travels,
Anthony V NYC

Room Tip: Any room with a Seaside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzaro
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
860 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#34 of 87 in Taormina
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,810 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Property: Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Address: Via Nazionale 137, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an exclusive location on the Bay of Mazzarò, considered one of the most beautiful in all of Italy, the elegant Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea nestles on its own private beach with new luxurious cabanas, facing the dazzling aquamarine sea. Built by an aristocratic family in 1830, surrounded by lush, subtropical gardens, the hotel retains all the charm of a private residence, enriched by paintings and antiques. The décor of the 64 rooms and suites reflects the nautical character and marine location of the hotel, with ample use of local stone and Sicilian materials and fabrics, creating a light, relaxed and serene atmosphere. The Oliviero Restaurant, on a panoramic terrace overlooking the gorgeous sea, is known for its fish and seafood specialties and traditional Mediterranean cuisine. The Bar, located on the outdoor terrace, is the perfect place to enjoy a drink, a snack or a light lunch by the beach. A Beach Bar and a Pool Bar in the new pool area are also available for a refreshing drink after a swim. Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the centre of Taormina, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The wellness centre offers a range of exclusive treatments for the ultimate of relax, while the fitness centre is fully equipped with the latest technology. The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. Guests at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea can enjoy all the facilities of Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, its sister property located in the centre of Taormina next to the Greek Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sant`Andrea By Orient-Express Hotel Mazzaro
Hotel Sant Andrea
Sant Andrea Hotel Taormina
Sant'andrea Villa
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea Taormina, Sicily - Mazzaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing