We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“We would go back tomorrow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Certificate of Excellence
GP,MI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We would go back tomorrow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We can't say enough about this more than friendly hotel! The staff was always willing to do anything we requested. Always with a smile! The setting, the grounds, the amenities were fabulous. It was an easy ride up to town, either with the hotel shuttle or the cable car. We had our own car and when we called for it, it was at the front door before we arrived at the front desk. Angela and the consierge and all , were always willing to help with directions, maps, and suggestions for places of interest. The dining room overlooked the beauty of the Sicilian coast. We have been to all the Italian lakes, the Amalfi coast, and the Italian riviera. They are all breathtaking, but Sicily tops them all. The food was exceptional as was the staff. We looked forward to our evenings. Toto, Roberto, Oracio, Anna, and all made us smile (laugh) more than we can say. After dinner-twenty feet away- we could have an after dinner cafe or cocktail, or nothing and sit overlooking the sea and lights ,listening to their VERY INTERESTING LOOKING piano player. This was a wonderful place to stay, and we will be back. Thank You for making our first trip to Sicily enchanting.

Room Tip: Any room with a terrace overlooking their beach and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jupiter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    63
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
89
287
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We booked this holiday as a special treat & were not disappointed. Our room overlooked the bay & had a lovely view. It was clean with plenty of amenities & very comfortable. The 'room pixies' visited twice a day & ensured all was in order.

Breakfast was a excellent buffet with freshly made hot food to order. You could have it in your room if you wanted at no extra charge which I thought was a nice touch, but the breakfasting terrace was so lovely we went every day.

The staff were friendly and helpful at all times & had plenty of advice as required.

The cable car to Taormina is just across the road which we tended to use as it was easy & convenient, although the hotel does provide a courtesy service to the sister hotel, Timeo, which is in the centre of town.

This hotel is lovely, and provides everything you could possibly want, however it does all come at a price-cocktails were 14-20 euros, a lunchtime pizza 12-15 euros & one days parking 20 euros plus VAT. Even a DVD from reception was 8 euros for a night, which we only discovered when we got the bill on check-out, but for a little touch of luxury, it does not disappoint.

If you are looking for a romantic moment, we'd recommend an evening cocktail (at an even more exorbitant price) on the terrace at the Timeo overlooking Etna at sunset. An unforgettable moment.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen7ify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a dream place (unless you are a Yacht and Helicopter type of person) has great service and dream rooms. We had Suite 477 with a sea view and opulent interior. Both bathrooms had views onto the bay and private part of the beach, down the incline past the hotel. The breakfast is very good and the setting mouth watering (obviously dont dribble thats not a good look in any grand of hotel) Its a bit of a treck to the main town, but they put on a shuttle bus, or you can get the cable car for three Euros. The sea is clear and amazing to swim in... which I did every day.

I'd go back if I could. I stay there 365 days a year if I could.

Room Tip: Sea view or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gilhespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
113 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a beautiful place! Newly renovated, our junior suite was an absolute delight. From our little balcony, we overlooked the bay/sea and it felt like watching a 50s movie - beautiful landscape and lots of water activities.

The general manager and the concierge we very helpful and ensured a wonderful stay. An added bonus was the complimentary shuttle bus to the sister hotel Grand Timeo, as it saved us 2 taxi rides every night. And the cocktails from the Grand Timeo terrace prior to dinner were an absolute must! The views are breathtakingly beautiful!

The house beach is very Italian and busy, but comfortable and the staff ensures a great service.
Don't miss the boat ride along the coast offered by the hotel.

The only improvement we would suggest is breakfast. The beautiful buffet is closed at 10.30pm sharp. And guests are left without doubt that it is time to finish breakfast. A great shame for a holiday hotel, where guests should be left to enjoy the morning a little longer. I never saw anyone eat lunch on the terrace before 1pm!

Room Tip: Sea view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KarinGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVSA, Direttore at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank You so much for taking Your time to write us Your feedback. I am pleased to learn that You enjoyed your room, our private beach and above all our staff.
I will share Your delightful comments with all our colleagues working in our hotel, whose goal is to make memorable every day of our guests.

I thank you for your valuable comments about the breakfast. We confirm that buffet breakfast is served in our restaurant from 7:30 till 10:30 am; as an alternative, our guests can also have breakfast delivered to their room (complimentary) from 7 till noon, and enjoy it in the privacy of their private balcony or terrace facing the bay of Mazzarò.

We look forward to welcoming You back soon in our Villa and in any other hotels, trains and cruises part of the Orient-Express collection.

Best Regards from Taormina

Giovanni Nastasi

General Manager
Hotel Villa Sant'Andrea, Taormina Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 9 days in early Sept. The property is beautiful, maintained to the max and the staff make each guest feel as if you are visiting their home, not their place of work. We took a superior deluxe room which had a magnificent terrace. The food was superb at every meal. With so little space we cannot thank everyone but thank you Andrea, Enzo, Antonio, Danielle, all the staff at the restaurants, housekeeping...

Room Tip: Just tell the staff what you need in a room and if they can do it, they will.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zapata50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel after 10 nights.

I have to say it was lovely, however if you are used to this level of hotel there may be a few things that you should be aware of, the rooms are small. We booked a classic room but in hindsight we should of booked a suite.

Our first room only had a shower and as I am broad shouldered I struggled to get in it! We brought this to their attention and they moved us the following day in to a room with a bath which was a lot better over all and the staff were wonderful about it.

The evening entertainment outside of the BBQ which had a wonderful trio of local singers and were wonderfully comical entertaining our dinner on the beech, however the usual entertainment was a gentleman who was a great host but his song choice was limited and very cheesy and I felt it lowered the class of the hotel.

We often took the trip to the Grand Timeo which was lovely and the entertainment, food and staff were very classy with wonderful views over Etna. The Sommelier added to the experience and always chose fantastic wines. Of which the Mille De Notte 1994 was the best of the holiday!

We spoke to may couples staying at the hotel and they were all disappointed with the hotel booking Da Ninos.... You will see on this site there is one at the number 3 spot, which is at the top of the cable car and to the left which is a wonderful Trattoria, however the hotel was intent in sending guests to a restaurant down the coast of the same name and from what we understand the food was poor in comparison.

The staff were wonderful and all great hosts adding to the occasion and couldn't do enough for us.

The pool is very small but lovely and tranquil with great views.

Overall we thought it was great value, with great food, wine, service and views.

Other restaurants to note outside of the hotel are Da Ninos for informal, Barronessa (Best steak I have ever had!) Antonios (Please book this yourself as there seems to be a few!) Metrolpole and of course the Grand Timeo.

Room Tip: Please choose a suites, if you are used to larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterbear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

A beautiful hotel with a beach front and the flexibility of the use of the sister hotel in the town, accessed by a complimentary shuttle bus.
When we arrived the room we had booked was not available and we were offered an upgrade to a suite until it was free 3 days later. We were uncomfortable about moving as we wanted to unpack and settle and they simply offered us the suite for the entire 9 nights. It lacked the panorama of the sea that we had originally wanted but the view was nonetheless great and we soon learnt that you had a view of the beautiful bay pretty much everywhere you went so this was no loss.
The staff here work incredibly hard and make the effort to remember your name. Even the pianist in the evenings takes the time to chat to you and taught us a little Italian. Everyone goes the extra mile.
Be careful not to criticise the little things that look like an issue on arrival. Like the lack of tea and coffee making facilities. We like a certain herbal tea we struggle to get away from home and had brought some with us on this occasion (we're not 'Brits abroad' honestly!) The staff simply sent us hot water on request without the bat of an eyelid. The minibar is not some dreadful spring loaded affair but a fridge. So you can chill your own booze and water if you wish. You're a grown up and they're not looking to catch you out and charge you a few extra Euros. If you want something you can't see. Ask.
This place isn't cheap but that shouldn't be a surprise. However do get value. The senior staff here are present, everyone makes you feel like you count, the views are stunning and the facilities are good. We ate and drank well and had a wonderful memorable break.

Room Tip: This isn't a purpose built hotel but a converted old private villa so don't expect a large r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WibblyWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzaro
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Property: Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Address: Via Nazionale 137, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an exclusive location on the Bay of Mazzarò, considered one of the most beautiful in all of Italy, the elegant Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea nestles on its own private beach with new luxurious cabanas, facing the dazzling aquamarine sea. Built by an aristocratic family in 1830, surrounded by lush, subtropical gardens, the hotel retains all the charm of a private residence, enriched by paintings and antiques. The décor of the 64 rooms and suites reflects the nautical character and marine location of the hotel, with ample use of local stone and Sicilian materials and fabrics, creating a light, relaxed and serene atmosphere. The Oliviero Restaurant, on a panoramic terrace overlooking the gorgeous sea, is known for its fish and seafood specialties and traditional Mediterranean cuisine. The Bar, located on the outdoor terrace, is the perfect place to enjoy a drink, a snack or a light lunch by the beach. A Beach Bar and a Pool Bar in the new pool area are also available for a refreshing drink after a swim. Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the centre of Taormina, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The wellness centre offers a range of exclusive treatments for the ultimate of relax, while the fitness centre is fully equipped with the latest technology. The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. Guests at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea can enjoy all the facilities of Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, its sister property located in the centre of Taormina next to the Greek Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Belmond and Travelocity so you can book your Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sant`Andrea By Orient-Express Hotel Mazzaro
Hotel Sant Andrea
Sant Andrea Hotel Taormina
Sant'andrea Villa
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea Taormina, Sicily - Mazzaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing