We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Have just returned from four days at the Villa Sant'Andrea and it was absolutely wonderful. The setting is perfect, an idilyc location. The hotel is gorgeous. We were so pleased we stayed in this hotel and not the sister hotel Grand Timeo, which we visited for dinner, as the Sant'Andrea is so relaxed and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The grounds are a delight and waking up and throwing open your windows and seeing the sea immediately below first thing in the morning is hard to beat! I really couldn't fault it and it was fun taking the cable car up to Taormina to sightsee and shop but then return again to our peaceful oasis. We enjoyed evenings in the bar with the wonderful pianist Carmello who was a lot of fun, getting everyone to join in ... The GM, Giovanni Nastasi was most charming and extremely helpful, as were all the staff - they're a credit to the hotel. Thank you to everyone for a superb trip. I'd love to return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kentishlass6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 564 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2011

From the moment we arrived at this hotel, I knew I chose the right place. The ground are breath-taking and very charming with incredible views of the sea and a very clean, private beach. The hotel has been renovated to a high standard with large rooms and modern fixtures all in proper working order. We had a sea view room with a large balcony that looked out right into the sea and at night you could hear the sound of the waves as you comfortably slept in a bed that felt like a cloud.

More importantly, the staff at Villa Sant'Andrea is what made the trip so memorable. They were incredibly helpful, friendly and accommodating to all of our needs. We were greeted daily by name with warm smiles. The staff in Restaurant Oliviero (the somilier. Roberto, Dario, Salvatore and Santo) provided some of the most friendly service I've received in Italy and wish would could have spent more time getting to know them during our stay. The food was incredible, fresh, light and made to order..we could have had every meal there and been happy.

I am definitely recommend this establishment to anyone considering a stay at Taormina Mare. It's away from the town centre but right on the beach. A free shuttle service will take you up to the sister hotel Hotel Timeo which is equally impressive but I preferred the Villa Sant'Andrea.

Thanks for making our visit such a fantastic time!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ukcurtisnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

After a few terrible days of rain and wind, we arrived at the Villa Sant'Andrea and immediately felt as though we had been transported into paradise!! The warm welcome from the staff was only the beginning of our fabulous stay. The rooms and views were storybook quality....food was superb, always served with a laugh and a cheerful atmosphere created by the kitchen/restaurant staff. The entertainment was fun each evening, and the sheer feeling of being spoiled stayed with us for days later. I could not give a higher recommendation...we loved it and plan to return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzz191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We had our wedding on 14th May 2010.

And I know most people say this, but as confirmed by every single guest that attended, It was one of thee most beautiful weddings ever thanks to Our wedding planner Lizzie at Bouquets and Bows, the new owners, Orient Express and Marilisa Bagnato, all incredible people.

Orient Express are turning this already luxury hotel into something amazing, situated right on Mazzaro beach with picturesque views.

After arriving in Taormina by train from London! with the ash crises still rife, and all 70 guests luckily managing to get over there from Dublin and London, it couldn't have been better.

No Stone was unturned and nothing could have been too much for the people involved in this and I strongly recommend anyone either visiting Taormina or indeed, like us, getting married there, to go here.

In the hot, sunny morning, we started the day getting married in a beautiful church in Forza’Dagro (the one from the Godfather!), it was a beautiful ceremony about 500 meters above sea level, and the views travelling up itself were fantastic.

We then had a band as the guests and we exited the church playing an up tempo version of the godfather theme tune. Which everyone enjoyed, they kept the guests entertained whilst we had our pictures taken over looking all the scenery.

Back at the venue, it luckily cooled down a bit so everyone wasn’t uncomfortable in their suits, we were greeted by our guests, and had canope’s out in the Villa Sant’Andrea gardens. Had some more pictures taken down by the beach and then met our guests by going through the gardens, then up to the next level by taken the two sets of stairs either side of the fountain.

The food and atmosphere were amazing, we then had our speeches and the rest of our food and went into the banqueting hall inside to which our first dance was already playing. Not long after we had our giant cake wheeled in by two of the lovely staff and the cutting commenced!

Then after a few bottles of guiness and a few glasses of red wine, we were ushered onto the hall balcony (the inside hall has a huge covered balcony running alongside it, so even if it was raining, you can go outside in the fresh air, still over looking the stunning bay of mazzaro) we had some very big fireworks let off from the sandy shores for about 5 minutes.

We partied and drank into the night, until we made our way to our amazing honeymoon suite that Orient Express laid on for us, at night it rained slightly, which means your wedding is blessed in Sicily, so that was a nice end to it, after having the weather in our favour all day.

Again, I just wish to thank all the staff at the Orient Express at Villa Sant’Andrea, Marilisa and Lizzie, for making it the most memorable and best day of our lives, and putting all their effort into it, we’re so appreciative. It is a perfect place for your guests to explore aswell, from the all the little restaurants in Taormina, cafes and bars, to the cable car that takes you to and from Mazzaro and from Taomrina, to the boat trips, beaches and Excursions to the gorges and Mount Etna.

Simply sublime.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ozcook80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We had stayed at the Mazzaro Sea Palace the previous two nights,(just a couple of hundred meters away) when we arrived here the front of house were really friendly and very helpful. I had informed the hotel via e-mail that the night of our arrival was my wifes very special birthday, the front of house knew as soon as we had arrived and made my wife feel very special. We were shown our room with sea views and it was stunning. We were given a complimentary bottle of bubbly in our room (all set on ice ready). within one hour although we had only booked for one night we decided to phone reception and see if we could stay another night as it was so comfortable and friendly. Five minutes later they phoned back and confirmed that was fine. Car parking was 20 euros which was cheaper than the Mazzaro at 30 euros which was a rip off, but having spent two nights prior to arriving here we had already found free parking around the town,so the charges were not a problem. The food,service and location were fantastic. They could not have done more. One draw back there was no pool, but as we have not developed gills yet we were not bothered. We got the impression the hotel had only just opened up and that there were a few teething problems, if there were you would not notice. The staff were FANTASTIC. Great hotel and worth every euro, when we left even after just two days we felt we were leaving friends.
p.s. The evening of my wifes birthday there was a Sicillian wedding at the hotel( which we hoped we would see before travelling) and at midnight a massive fantastic firework display strarted, my wife thought it could have been for her. Says it all really.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valhalla13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: escojer habitaciones con vistas al mar..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agustin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G-Nastasi, Direttore generale at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank drccmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G-Nastasi, Direttore generale at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazzaro
0.1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.6 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
918 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
0.6 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea

Address: Via Nazionale 137, 98039 Mazzaro, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina > Mazzaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mazzaro
Price Range: $452 - $1,957 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an exclusive location on the Bay of Mazzarò, considered one of the most beautiful in all of Italy, the elegant Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea nestles on its own private beach with new luxurious cabanas, facing the dazzling aquamarine sea. Built by an aristocratic family in 1830, surrounded by lush, subtropical gardens, the hotel retains all the charm of a private residence, enriched by paintings and antiques. The décor of the 64 rooms and suites reflects the nautical character and marine location of the hotel, with ample use of local stone and Sicilian materials and fabrics, creating a light, relaxed and serene atmosphere. The Oliviero Restaurant, on a panoramic terrace overlooking the gorgeous sea, is known for its fish and seafood specialties and traditional Mediterranean cuisine. The Bar, located on the outdoor terrace, is the perfect place to enjoy a drink, a snack or a light lunch by the beach. A Beach Bar and a Pool Bar in the new pool area are also available for a refreshing drink after a swim. Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the centre of Taormina, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The wellness centre offers a range of exclusive treatments for the ultimate of relax, while the fitness centre is fully equipped with the latest technology. The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. Guests at Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea can enjoy all the facilities of Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, its sister property located in the centre of Taormina next to the Greek Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sant`Andrea By Orient-Express Hotel Mazzaro
Hotel Sant Andrea
Sant Andrea Hotel Taormina
Sant'andrea Villa
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea Taormina, Sicily - Mazzaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing