We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful camp site BUT very basic - be prepared”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Usakos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spitzkoppe Campsites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at this camp site in September 2011.
We still want to review it because we were a bit surprised upon arrival and not much info is available about this camp site.

The camp site is easy to find, just follow the signs Spitzkoppe, the Spitzkoppe is the camp site. Plenty of spaces available, booking is not needed.
The camp site is very basic: no electricity, no ablution blocks (the toilet is a hole in the floor with a seat) and no running water at all. Be prepared for this and take all the water you need for cooking, washing, dishes, drinking etc... .
The site is regularly cleaned but we found a few pee (and poo) corners by people that didn't feel like going to the provided 'toilet' which was clean.

That being said, it was also one of the most beautiful camp sites where we stayed! The scenery is stunning and as the sun sets and the dassies come out you can watch them play on golden rocks.
Bushmen's paradise is here too displaying rock art of the San. However, the paintings were damaged by time and unfortunately vandals. Pretty climb though! We got a map and got lost with it...several times, don't worry you'll get there whilst circling around the site!

In all in all, we recommend this camp site bearing in mind the limited facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ellen_and_Pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sandervdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Acampe perto das formações de Granito
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NelsonOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank SophieR188655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usakos
0.0 mi away
Madisa Camp
Madisa Camp
#4 of 38 in Swakopmund
127 reviews
16.6 mi away
Etusis Lodge
Etusis Lodge
#1 of 3 in Karibib
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soft Adventure Camp
Soft Adventure Camp
#11 of 12 in Sossusvlei
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Betta Campsite & Chalets
Betta Campsite & Chalets
#4 of 9 in Maltahohe
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nwr Hobas Campsite
Nwr Hobas Campsite
#4 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
#8 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spitzkoppe Campsites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spitzkoppe Campsites

Address: D1925, Usakos, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Usakos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Usakos
Also Known As:
Spitzkoppe Campsites Namibia/Usakos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing