We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD RECEPTION AND SERVICE”

Stoney's Country Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gochas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stoney's Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gochas
Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a terrible experience me and my friends had.The reception was a total nightmare as there was no one infront to greet us.Not to even talk about the service.Waitresses did not seem to no what was on the menu.They could not even supply us with a stupid thing,such as a tartar sauce.Drinks,we had to settle on coke,because there was nothing else instock we ordered!The place itself was very dirty and the staff kept on shouting at each other...What a flop...never will i ever visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I had planned in advance to stay one night in this very small town more as a one night stop and not for any other particular reason, on arrival we found our rooms very pleasant and clean. Food for dinner was a set menu whilst eatable was very bland and unappealing. Bar and waiting staff very pleasant. We were met on arrival by we think the assistant manageress/owner? Totally ignored by the new manager/owner who we tried to greet in the bar, but later were advised that he only wants foreigners, and locals are not welcome which is very narrow sighted presume as South Africans we may be considered locals.
The next morning we had no hot water and neither did four other guests, when we mentioned this to the assistant manager no appologies were forthcoming from any one. Then we had account problems but luckily I had taken with me proof of full payment and their confirmation of receipt of same. They stated that the current change of ownership to themselves has been the problem for these error as they are running to bank accounts. In the morning the assistant manageress sits in the bar it appeared to me to watch all rooms to make sure, I presume, that no one does a bunk without paying, this was the first time I experenced this in Namibia. All in all after having 29 wonderful days in various places in Namibia this really was the most unwelcoming one. Would not waste my time going back there even though the accomdation was fine, should have driven a little further onto Stampriet and stayed at the Histroical Guest House where we previously had received and warm welcome.

Room Tip: All rooms are in the same area with the same facilities, parking is directly in front in a secure ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We camped in the back yard which had a small outdoor pool, BBQ area and some shade. Very smart & safe site with easy access into the bar & restaurant. Made welcome by the locals in the bar who were watching the large TV. Not touristy and very remote but worth staying here. Food average, beer excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidiSomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

... a very pleasant place to stay, just for one night while moving around Namibia. We ate very nice food, very well cooked (... keep in mind we are Italian and we are very "sensitive" about this subject ...). Nice wines too. The only problem is that .... you are in the middle of nowhere, if you like loneliness this is the right place for you!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaudioC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01130EchallonAnnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ketty200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stoney's Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney's Country Hotel

Address: Far South East Kalahari, Gochas, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Hardap Region > Gochas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gochas
Price Range: $36 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Stoney's Country Hotel Namibia/Gochas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing