We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bahnhof Hotel Aus
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
48
71
32
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
71
32
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa hot water bottlewild horsescommunal areasthe hotel staffrooms are cleanen routemosquito netnice restaurantday tripceiling fanhour drivelarge groupexcellent staysmall townorange housebeer gardenthe owner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 156 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here in April, 2012, and found the Bahnhof Hotel to be everything we wanted - very comfortable, good food, quiet and relaxing. The rooms and bathrooms are very large and newly remodelled, keeping the room size of the old hotel but showing the modern German management touch in furnishings and cleanliness.

The location is good for an overnight stay while travelling but we stayed two nights due to this hotel's proximity to Luderitz and the Orange River. Either way, you should take time to see some of the area. The hotel does arrange sunset tours of the area and I recommend them highly. You see the World War I POW camp and cemetery just outside of town, get some great history of the early settlers and railroad days, and finally you get a beautiful view of the desert sunset from a position on top of one of the high granite hills.

Afterwards, back at the hotel you may enjoy the warm fireplace in the lobby before going to their restaurant, which won a silver award from the Namibian Tourist Board last year. All in all, this hotel would be very nice in any setting, but in the middle of Namibia, it is a real jewel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This hotel in Aus is the best in town no doubt. We stayed on our way back from Luderitz and on our way to Sossusvlei. The only thing that we found crazy about this hotel was the price. It was when we stayed about $100 USD a night. Hotels in Africa are not inexpensive we have found but this was priced high.

If you can swallow the price they offer wifi, a nice restaurant with loung and the rooms are clean and well kept.

There was a hotel that was just outside of Aus to the west (I can't remember the name) it was recommended to us by the Namibia tourist office in Cape Town but we couldn't stay there. So there are alternatives available.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheGirlontheMove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aushotel, Owner at Bahnhof Hotel Aus, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Dear Sir, thank you for having utilized our facilities. Regarding your price-conscious comment on the Bahnhof Hotel Aus, I would like to invite you to compare our prices to the pricing structure of the said competition in the vicinity of Aus, which you referred to. You will find that establishments with a similar level of service fall in many cases in a even higher price bracket.
Should we ever have the honour of welcoming you again at Bahnhof Hotel, please make a point of enquiring about the activities on offer, which might give you some more value for your money.

Yours sincerely
Bernd Roemer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

What a lovely surprise in the middle of nowhere. Fantastic food and a verity of wines. The personell is very pleasant and helpfull. Everything as clean as you can get! The whole setup is designed / decorated in a stunning style. A must see.

Room Tip: All rooms are huge. Most have wooden floors and lovely bathrooms. The new rooms have a verandah and you can sit outside till late.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Bahnhof hotel was one of the best hotels I experienced in Namibia – and somewhat unexpected in a tiny little town like Aus. Aus itself is a quaint and quiet little town. Not much happens there but it is a beautiful setting amongst the rocky outcrops overlooking the Sperrgebiet – outstanding sunsets!! The roads and trails around the town are great places for walks and runs. Across the street from the hotel is a small gas station and convenience store where you can pick up snacks and drinks.

The hotel seems to be fairly new and modern. The rooms are very nice, comfortably furnished, spotlessly clean and well-maintained. However they could definitely do with some heaters in the rooms – during the winter (when I visited) it can get quite cold there. The beds are really comfortable, lots of blankets, and I had a great sleep there. The hotel offers free Wifi internet however the connection is a bit slow but I’m not complaining. The lighting in the room is a bit dim at night – a few more lights would be nice.

The hotel has a number of lounges and dining areas. A fire was going in one of the lounges making for a cozy, warm spot in winter to enjoy a drink and dinner. The spicy game stew was excellent and highly recommended. It really warms you up! The breakfast likewise were very good – lots of fruit and freshly cooked eggs and bacon. The service at the hotel was fast, efficient, and friendly.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay here and I highly recommend this place to other travelers. Great value spot! I hope to stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

A neat and cosy place in a tranquil surrounding. Very clean, staff very friendly, nice atmosphere

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ausfannamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews