We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Destinia.com
$221
$177
View deal
SAVE $44
Booking.com$221
CheapTickets$214
eDreams$221
View all 15 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveler rating
274
312
97
26
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
274
312
97
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vegetable garden damara mopane swimming pool the cottages gondwana collection great food sundowner deck viewing platform watch the sunset petrified forest relaxing stay small garden friendly and helpful staff semi circle the air conditioning breakfast and dinner nice place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 719 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2017

No WIFI
No TV in rooms
No milk in rooms for coffee
No telephone to communicate with reception
One well used pillow per bed
Cracked floor tiles
Car cant be parked close to rooms
Dinner at $300 / person for tough Oryx steak and maize tart

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 152andrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Thank you very much for taking your time to share this feedback with us, we also want to extend our apologies for the disappointment we have caused you, we clearly understand that our offers didn’t meet your expectations and we hope to make your next stay a stunning experience should you plan to visit our property again.

We are wishing you all the best with your travel plans. Yours in hospitality, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017

A warm welcome after a full day of driving on terrible dirt roads let you feel you have arrived at home. Good food, cold beer and a neat room with comfortable beds put back the energy to explore the region even more.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DuToitvZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Thank you very much for your great words, we are delighted and we are hoping to share more great times with you in the near future. We hope potential clients will use your feedback to the best advantage to make their stay just as awesome.

The property staff have ensured to continue the good work and they are wishing you fantastic adventures ahead. All the best and kind regards, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017

During my tour of Namibia I went to this specific hotel to experience Damaraland, but I was not impressed at all. The receptionist had no idea about my reservation even after I told them several times, I requested help with the luggage, till this moment I am still waiting to receive that help. The staff were hostile most of the time, the rooms were average, we got a room that had a very dirty mark on the wall, and there was a layer of dust o the floor. This establishment should really work on their welcoming of staff, and the food was average. I will not visit this place again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marilize Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

We want to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your time to visit our property. We are truly sorry for making your Namibian adventure a disappointing experience, we wish you had stayed some other time again but we understand that it was not fair on our side to disappoint you.
However, this issue has been shared with management for further investigations, hoping to avoid such encounters in the days to come.

We are wishing you all the pleasures in your future trips. Kind regards, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017

Our friends had car trouble and as such we pulled int Damara Mopane. What a welcome site. Friendly staff, Clean rooms, green grass, stunning pool.
I had the best shower I had had in weeks and an excellent nights sleep. The buffet was extensive.
Each little room has a vegetable garden outside it, which was a novel idea and great to know you were eating organic home grown produce.
Only negative is the room numbering is confusing and the Lodge is big so you could be walking around for ages trying to find your room. Lighting at night not great.

Wifi was available and the staff spent many hours helping us sort out our car troubles. Will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank linellec2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

We can't wait to have you again! Thank you so much for sharing your great story with us, it is amazing to hear that you had an excellent nights sleep and that you are inspired to return again soon. You have just motivated us to keep doing a great job.

Your concerns have been shared with the housekeeping staff and property management for further consideration. Stay well and best wishes, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017

This was a nice place to stop between Swakopmund and Etosha. Not a game reserve so don't expect to see much wildlife, although they do have some springbok and kudu. Great deck to have a sundowner but be prepared to hike uphill to get there. Staff were good and helpful. It was interesting that they grow vegetables for the menu in the small courtyard of each room.

Room tip: all room face the pool in a semi circle so it makes no difference.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback! We really appreciate your admiration for our property and we hope you will visit us again soon. Your special regards have been shared with the property staff and all have ensured to maintain the exceptional standard of offering hospitality services.

We are wishing you good health and great times in your future tours. Kind regards, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews