We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
$214
View deal
Destinia.com
$221
$177
View deal
SAVE $44
Booking.com$221
CheapTickets$214
eDreams$221
View all 15 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveler rating
274
312
97
26
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
274
312
97
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vegetable garden damara mopane swimming pool the cottages gondwana collection great food sundowner deck viewing platform watch the sunset petrified forest relaxing stay small garden friendly and helpful staff semi circle the air conditioning breakfast and dinner nice place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 719 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2017

Our friends had car trouble and as such we pulled int Damara Mopane. What a welcome site. Friendly staff, Clean rooms, green grass, stunning pool.
I had the best shower I had had in weeks and an excellent nights sleep. The buffet was extensive.
Each little room has a vegetable garden outside it, which was a novel idea and great to know you were eating organic home grown produce.
Only negative is the room numbering is confusing and the Lodge is big so you could be walking around for ages trying to find your room. Lighting at night not great.

Wifi was available and the staff spent many hours helping us sort out our car troubles. Will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank linellec2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

We can't wait to have you again! Thank you so much for sharing your great story with us, it is amazing to hear that you had an excellent nights sleep and that you are inspired to return again soon. You have just motivated us to keep doing a great job.

Your concerns have been shared with the housekeeping staff and property management for further consideration. Stay well and best wishes, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017

This was a nice place to stop between Swakopmund and Etosha. Not a game reserve so don't expect to see much wildlife, although they do have some springbok and kudu. Great deck to have a sundowner but be prepared to hike uphill to get there. Staff were good and helpful. It was interesting that they grow vegetables for the menu in the small courtyard of each room.

Room tip: all room face the pool in a semi circle so it makes no difference.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback! We really appreciate your admiration for our property and we hope you will visit us again soon. Your special regards have been shared with the property staff and all have ensured to maintain the exceptional standard of offering hospitality services.

We are wishing you good health and great times in your future tours. Kind regards, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017

We spent two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our chalet was much nicer than the photos on website and having our own vegetable patch added to the charm. We loved being able to sit outside in the pretty courtyard for our evening meal. The starter and deserts were good but main course from the buffet tended to be a bit cold.
There's is a good sized pool which and although pretty cold was great to swim in. There is an uphill walk for sundown which was worth doing and there is also a partially marked walk to go on.
We would like to particularly mention the friendly and helpful staff...thank you

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gray50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Pleasure is ours!
Thank you so much for taking your time to elaborate our property with such great feedback. Nothing makes us happier then hearing from our guests, we are just hoping to share plenty of exciting moments with you in the days to come, should you plan to visit again.
Your special regards have been shared with the housekeeping staff and lodge management and they have ensured to keep up the good work.

We are wishing you great adventures ahead. Kind regards, Koney


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017

What a nice setup! The Welcome-drink, very friendly and helpful staff! - even when we asked to have a bungalow(room) in the front row to enjoy the surrounding with the pool - the Lady at the Reception first said they cannot change due "to a new system"...but the manageress changed it with "no problem". THAT we appreciated very much! The "Sun-downer" terrace is perfect! Breakfast and Dinner Buffet is extraordinary special !!! Rooms are stylish and very neat (Floor-tyles of the showers have to be checked-up regularly!) - but all-in-all: the Idea of being "sustainable" with veggies at every Bungalow"garden" - astonished us tremendously!!!! please keep it up like this - we will visit again!!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank gunthercarolinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

We will definitely keep up the good work! Thank you very much for taking your time to share your rating with us. It was indeed and honour catering to your needs and we hope to share many more great times with you in the days to come.

Your suggestions have been shared with the housekeeping staff and lodge management and all are looking forward to your next visit. Yours in hospitality, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017

The Pool is very big and clean . The Food is very good and the buffet was wonderful.Nice Place in beteeen little oasis. There plant Salat and vegatables around the houses . The Terrasse for watching the sundown is perfekt

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 439karinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Thank you so much for taking your time to rate our property. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and cater to your needs and we are hoping to share more lovely moments with you in the days to come.

The property staff are delighted by your lovely words and they are wishing you the best of times in your future adventures. Yours in hospitality, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews