We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Damara Mopane Lodge
Reviewed May 1, 2013

An cute "town" in the middle of nowhere!! The lodge is set out in small houses, each with their own vegetable garden, paved roads interlinking the houses, The rooms are very beautiful and comfortable with their own patios, the pool is sparkling and the gardens in pristine condition. It is a pity that I found the dinner unsatisfying. The meat totally overspiced with way TOO MUCH garlic, you cannot taste what meat you are eating, and despite the vegetable gardens, the veggies tasted like overcooked frozen vegetables. Despite this, a worthwhile visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay at the Damara Mopane Lodge. We are delighted that you liked the lodge and the surroundings. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced in our restaurant and immediately forwarded your criticism to the lodge managers and the kitchen, who will improve things in the future. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the unsatisfying experience in our restaurant and we hope that we can fully convince you of Damara Mopane Lodge on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 463 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved Damara Mopane Lodge, from the welcome drink on arrival to sundowners on a deck above the resort where you can literally see for miles while sipping ice-cold drinks as you watch the sun slowly slip below the horizon. The hosts were a treat - a lovely hospitable couple who were knowledgeable and helpful and Luma the resident Great Dane is a character all on her own. The units are spacious and comfortable and breakfast was good. Overall a lovely welcome African style. Personally I found the decor a little gaudy in terms of colour and style (I'm a neutrals and clean straight lines girl and the bauermalerei furniture and yellow walls upset my equilibrium a little). We also loved the gardens which supply the restaurant and were delighted with a nest of baby tiptols outside our unit. The only downside to having gardens like these is that the ground staff were working in our gardens after we arrived from a long and dusty trip and we found this to be an intrusion of our privacy. We would have prefered that they moved on to an unoccupied unit once we checked in. Having our baggage carted to and from our room on arrival and departure was a special personal touch too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We are thrilled that our staff could make your stay pleasurable and want to thank you for your positive feedback on Damara Mopane Lodge. The lodge is designed to look like an African village and some walls display copies of the rock engravings at Twyfelfontein. We are sorry to hear that our room decoration did not match your taste. Nevertheless, it is a pleasure to hear that you still enjoyed your stay with us. The gardens at the Damara Mopane Lodge need to be tended and harvested regularly but we appreciate your annotation that this should not be done on the first day of arrival when a guest wants to relax. Your remark has been communicated to the lodge manager who will see to it that staff will not be attending the garden after a guest has arrived.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our cabins consist of 1 double room and bathroom, with an own garden which supplies the restaurant with fresh vegetables - needless to state the gardens are well maintained / watered.
Diner consists of a very nice buffet, served on the porch if weather (i.e. temperature) permits - with wooden fire.
The pool is very nice - but remember July = Winter and Namibian pools are not heated.
Do not miss the sundowner - with a bar on the platform and a beautiful view over the lodge and vast surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, Managing Director at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review. Our staff is always committed and busy to keep our gardens as well maintained as they are and your feedback is a great compliment for their hard work. Your kind words have been passed to our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the beauty of the landscape and we would love to welcome you again at Damara Mopane Lodge.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Lodge is made up of 3 rows of individual chalets in a semicircle around a pleasant pool, each with it's own terrace (not rainproof!) and vegetable garden. The sunflowers were out, which were lovely. However, I was disappointed on entering the chalet because it was quite simple, with concrete floors and no fridge, which we had become used to elsewhere. The highlight was taking sundowners on the platform, a short climb up the hill, with stunning views back at the lodge and across the woodland plateau, and to the small waterhole. Dinner is served buffet style, which clearly suits serving large parties, but isn't so intimate for couples. Staff are very friendly, but not exactly unobtrusive. We were very conscious of them standing near our table and chatting to each other whilst we we eating, and 4 people asked if I was ready for dessert.
But if you do go, make sure you find time to vist Finger Rock for stunning views.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank By_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you very much for taking time and effort to post this review on Damara Mopane Lodge. Striving to offer unique experiences on top of good accommodation, Gondwana Collection Namibia, styled this lodge as an African village, with each house being surrounded by a vegetable garden (fresh veggies for dinner) and a low wattle-and-daub-like wall. The marbled washed concrete floors of the bungalows are linked to this theme. Fridges on each room would force Gondwana to raise the rates and drop one of its main objectives to keep its lodges as affordable as possible. We forwarded your comment to our lodge team in order to pay more attention to the quiet and repose for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Pleasantly situated at the end of a paved road, about 3 km off the C39, the lodge comprises a main restaurant/bar/shop building, and 50/60 'chalets', each with its own herb and vegetable garden and small verandah. There is a good sized pool, with plenty of 'grass' and sun chairs.
Our chalet was quite agreeable, with air conditioning and mosquito blinds on the windows and a good powerful shower. The room lacked a safe, and as we were at the furthest point from reception, at the edge of the bush, we felt compelled to cart valuables round with us.
The big disappointment though was the food. Compared with other lodges we had stayed in, the fare was poor and the prices high. There was a set starter and dessert, and there was a limited choice from the uninspiring buffet. Breakfast was even worse. At 8.45 am, there was very little hot food left, and bacon and such was not replenished.
This could be a really good place, but the management need to roll up their sleeves and address the shortcomings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ornsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you very much for your comment. Valuables can be handed in at the reception to be deposited in the lodge safe. The dinner of Damara Mopane Lodge is usually commended by our guests for the fresh vegetables from our own harvest, and there are three meat dishes to choose from. However, the lodge management is constantly looking for improvements and changes of the buffet menu, and therefore will take your criticism as constructive feedback. The same applies to the breakfast buffet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

You don’t expect game lodges in this part of the country just off the C road to be picturesque, and this is in the style of a roadside Travelodge rather than anything more inspiring. But you know that when choosing the place. Layout is very formalised with individual bungalows in a large circle looking inwards towards the swimming pool. So front rows get the pool view, next row, pool between the buildings, third and fourth rows get the back of the building in front. Why not face the outer ring of bungalows away from the pool to an uninterrupted view of the bush? Oh well. Apart from that it was well run with a pleasant team of staff. Breakfast is buffet, good choice. Dinner is usually served starter at the table, buffet main choice and dessert served at table, always well cooked and very satisfying. Pool is large and well kept, cold and refreshing in September and surprisingly quiet given the number of rooms.
Rooms are reasonably sized, always important though, clean room and bed, the bed being hard but very comfortable.
Go for a walk to their viewing platform, it does show the lodge in a really nice setting at sunset with long views to the horizon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights en route from the Skeleton Coast to Etosha, and really liked it. We had two adjoining cottages for four of us (two adjoining twins, basically, each with its own entrance and en suite). The rooms were cool and comfortable, simple and spacious. Outside was a small terrace with table and chairs, and each cottage is surrounded by a garden, which is used by the lodge to grow vegetables for the excellent dinners...

The dinners are buffets, with a good range of meats, vegetables, and salads. Some things were very familiar, others were not, but everything was delicious. Breakfast was a little disappointing in comparison, but was a perfectly adequate buffet of all the usual breakfast foods.

The cottages (and this is quite a large lodge, with about 60 cottages, I think) are arranged around a large central landscaped lawn with a huge pool at the centre. The water was freezing but refreshing. We had a lazy day, lounging by the pool, reading on the shady terrace, and finally taking the short but steep walk up the nearest hill for sunset - magnificent views of the woodlands and distant hills/mountains. The lodge's gardens attracted lots of birds, which were lovely to watch too.

The service here is not quite top notch, but everyone was friendly and our needs were eventually attended to. Our room maid spoke hardly any English, but was keen to converse and check we had everything we needed. There is a quite extensive gift shop, but nowhere to buy snacks or cold drinks apart from the bar.

A good choice to relax for a day or two, or break a long journey.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Damara Mopane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damara Mopane Lodge

Address: C39 | 20 km east of Khorixas, Khorixas, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kunene Region > Khorixas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Khorixas
Price Range: $168 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damara Mopane Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the wattle and daub style under Mopane trees and connected by a labyrinth of paths, the main building and chalets of the lodge look like an African village. The walls are adorned by copies of the rock engravings at Twyfelfontein. Each of the 60 double room chalets (with air conditioning) sits in a vegetable and herb garden surrounded by a low wall. The gardens supply fresh ingredients for supper, which consists of a starter followed by a delicious buffet. There is a swimming pool for chilling out and a viewing point for relishing sunsets. The lodge at the gates of Damaraland is ideally suited for excursions to Twyfelfontein (130 km), the Petrified Forest (70 km) and the Vingerklip rock pillar (50 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Damara Mopane Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing