We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcome stay over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Damara Mopane Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Drakensberg, Champagne Valley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very welcome stay over”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at Damara Mopane for 2 nights, and really enjoyed it, clean, very comfortable, loved the kitchen garden concept
Meals good and plentiful, good armosphere, convieniently placed.
We had booked at another camp but thank goodness we changed our minds

One draw back was the gardeners, about 4/5 of them all haning around our units when we went for breakfast and as we departed, we got the feeling of no privacy and that they couldnt wait to see us go

Room Tip: Kettles and tea/coffee in rooms, what a pleasure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acorncottages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
On behalf of the team at Damara Mopane Lodge we like to thank you for your positive feedback. Rest assured that the lodge management will remind the gardeners to respect and ensure guests' privacy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    163
    61
    17
    4
See reviews for
99
162
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here one night en route from Swakopmund to Etosha. We were greeted with refreshing iced tea upon arrival. The lodge has a farm like cottage setting with vegetable gardens outside each cottage. This is a large rather commercial lodge which has a more hotel like feel to it. Sun-downer on deck overlooking waterhole was visited by kudus. We were in a cottage with 2 inter-leading rooms which was nice for our family of 4. Our kids enjoyed the swimming pool which was nice for cooling off. Breakfast & dinner were buffet style & offered lots of variety. Portion sizes at lunch were huge.

Areas for improvement: rooms could use a comfy chair or lounger to relax in - same for the main lodge which only has dining room patio-style furniture; showers were hot, but toiletries were nonexistent!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StPatrickGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
149 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice lodge in Damaraland. The lodge is quite new and well structured. All rooms are single bungolaws inside a green. A swimming pool is available in the middle. The architecture is nothing related to African style. It could be everywhere in Europe. Common areas are very poor: there is no any place just to seat and talk with others but only a bar! Dinner and breakfast buffet are very limited in choices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weissmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We liked Damara Mopane Lodge. After enjoying the smaller camps in Namibia, this one seemed large, slightly more commercial, by comparison. The grounds and rooms were immaculate, loved the little gardens in our yard and at dinner the freshness of the vegetables that came from them was clear. The management was great, very helpful with everything we needed. Nico in particular was outstanding. The sundowner on the deck was enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachchairVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed in Damara Mopane Lodge during July 2012. The welcome was not great. The reception lady recited something from a piece of paper, and everything revolved around paying, signing, credit cards, etc. The setup is quite impressive, built in a Kraal style. Rooms were large without any fridges, and only liquid soap ( I hate that!!!!) dispensers. Beds were fine. Breakfast was very average. Typical large busgroups feeling. Sort of powder scrambled eggs in unappetizing bowls. We requested fried eggs, and received some, served cold. We thought dinner was quite expensive ( N$ 195 and I hate buffets) and settled for a pleasant a la carte dinner at the Khorixas Rest Camp about 20km away. I think there should be an option!! Will not return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeinOos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannfred G, General Manager at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. Your comments concerning the welcome and the breakfast have been forwarded to the lodge management and will be followed up. Damara Mopane Lodge caters for both, group and individual travelers. The bungalows, each equipped with a small shaded terrace and surrounded by a vegetable garden, provide a lot of privacy. The restaurant is divided by walls (with openings) into cozy small areas with just a few tables per area. We regret that you missed the dinner. Our guests continuously praise the buffet as feast for the eye and they are especially delighted with the freshness of the veggies, harvested from the bungalow gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The rooms are spacious and neat and each one is set in its own small garden with a fence and a stoep at the front door to relax on.
No fridge in room and only liquid soap in a dispenser.
The restaurant staff are attentive. The buffer dinner and breakfast were average.
A good base from which to visit Twyfelfontein's rock art.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAtoUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This unique concept of African-style huts each with own small front yard and garden growing vegetables and fruit used in the kitchen of the lodge- was a great change.
The complex is very big and a drawback are the many tour buses that stop over here, however the management seem to keep the tours away from the other travellers - so it does not interfere too much.
There were two other highlights in this Lodge- The sensational viewing platform overlooking the veld (they do sundowners there which is so romantic) and the huge swimming pool- such a blessing after a long days' travelling ... BUT... only 5 loungers around the pool! Impossible for such a large complex!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room so taht you are away from the large tour groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhagPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khorixas
17.8 mi away
Vingerklip Lodge
Vingerklip Lodge
#5 of 14 in Damaraland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
261.7 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
85.1 mi away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#8 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
127.0 mi away
Waterberg Guest Farm
Waterberg Guest Farm
#1 of 2 in Okakarara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madisa Camp
Madisa Camp
#4 of 35 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
170.0 mi away
Gecko Ridge Guesthouse
Gecko Ridge Guesthouse
#5 of 35 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damara Mopane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damara Mopane Lodge

Property: Damara Mopane Lodge
Address: C39 | 20 km east of Khorixas, Khorixas, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kunene Region > Khorixas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Khorixas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Damara Mopane Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the wattle and daub style under Mopane trees and connected by a labyrinth of paths, the main building and chalets of the lodge look like an African village. The walls are adorned by copies of the rock engravings at Twyfelfontein. Each of the 60 double room chalets (with air conditioning) sits in a vegetable and herb garden surrounded by a low wall. The gardens supply fresh ingredients for supper, which consists of a starter followed by a delicious buffet. There is a swimming pool for chilling out and a viewing point for relishing sunsets. The lodge at the gates of Damaraland is ideally suited for excursions to Twyfelfontein (130 km), the Petrified Forest (70 km) and the Vingerklip rock pillar (50 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Damara Mopane Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing