We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Hammerstein Lodge and Camp”
Review of Hammerstein Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maltahohe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hammerstein Lodge
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We stayed at Hammerstein in January as part of a comprehensive tour of Namibia. It was not up to the 3/4 * standard of the other lodges we stayed at and seemed grubby and rather 'down at heel'. Our main gripe with it was that the captive leopard, cheetahs and caracals seemed to be there as a lure to get guests in. Most of us who travel thro Africa are there to apreciate the wild beauty of the large cats in their natural habitat, and not to stroke captive cheetahs or walk into the pens of caracals who have been trapped by local farmers.
If you are into tacky tourist then this is the place for you.
We don't have a problem by the way with centres who have large cats for research and breeding purposes.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisonwalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Hammerstein Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 84 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2008

We stayed there for 2 nights. Hannah & Matthew are very nice. We get very close to the animals like their caracals and the Leopard. We saw a lot of animals at the game-drive. Some Caracals, you can play with and get them onto your arms. We had an large "braai" at the evening and good relaxing with an cold beer. The rooms were large and clean. The shower was clean too. No A/C, but we was there at the end of the Dry-Season. We didn´t had trouble with the temperature. The personal was nice and helpful. Wonderful surrounding there and the day after it was easy to get to Sesriem. If we get back to namibia some time, we will stay there anymore.

  • Stayed: September 2004, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank I_like_big_Cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2007

We stayed at the Hammerstein Lodge for 2 nights in October 2007. The Accommodation was simple but clean and spacey. We had a room with a fantastic view of the surrounding area.

The food was OK, although I am not a vegetarian, I do usually enjoy the vegetarian options; unfortunately this lodge did not provide any main dishes without meat. They did have a nice salad bar though.

The after dinner entertainment was the same both nights which involved the staff singing a few local songs and the Namibian National Anthem.

On the first night, which was our first night in Namibia, we left our small bag of valuables under the dinner table and went to bed! Fortunately the lodge staff kept everything safe behind reception for us to collect the next morning. Such honesty should be applauded.

The lodge has some large cats in very spacious fenced areas, which you can pay a small amount to enter with one of the staff. The cats you will be able to see up close are: 2 Cheetahs in one pen (male and female around 3-5 years old), 3 Cheetahs in another pen (2 cubs around 15 months and 1 cub around 2 years), 1 Leopard (Lisa, around 5 years old) and finally 3 Caracals (male and female and their kitten/cub). A small group of us were escorted into the Cheetah & Caracal pens, where we viewed the cats from a respectable distance. We viewed the Leopard from outside the pen, as Leopards can be unpredictable around people they do not know. The best experience was saved until last, when we went into the Cheetah cub’s pen. They all immediately came up to us and starting licking our legs and arms! They like to lick the salt from our skin. We were able to touch the Cheetahs and take our own photos; this experience will stay with us forever!

The lodge also has a Zebra called Hans; we were warned that he likes to bite. I spent around ten minutes talking to him (in my best horse whispering style) before I attempted to touch him and he allowed me to fuss him just like you would a horse!

Overall we really enjoyed our stay, even though the lodge was located a little far (around an hour’s drive) from the dunes of Sossusvlei.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildlifeMadTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2006

simple room, clean, everything works, no a/c, no fan, no heating - in namibian winter in august we had 10 degrees celsius in room in the morning !
young gepard roaming the lodge area, you can play with him, his parents nearby , kept in an area surrounded by a fence, walking tour into that area with guide, get very close to gepards, and then there is hans, a zebra, that attracts the attention of the guest - beware he bites

5  Thank fluglehrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-Knoblauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mucli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maltahohe
0.0 mi away
Hammerstein Lodge
Hammerstein Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sesriem
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luderitz Nest Hotel
Luderitz Nest Hotel
#1 of 2 in Luderitz
502 reviews
0.0 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#15 of 16 in Windhoek
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Safari Court Hotel
Safari Court Hotel
#13 of 16 in Windhoek
255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namib Desert Lodge
Namib Desert Lodge
#5 of 29 in Namib-Naukluft Park
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hammerstein Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammerstein Lodge

Address: PO Box 250 | Maltahöhe, 65 km from Sossusvlei, Maltahohe, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Hardap Region > Maltahohe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Maltahohe
Price Range: $79 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Hammerstein Lodge And Camp Hotel Namib-Naukluft Park
Hammerstein Lodge Namibia/Maltahohe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing