We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a B&B on the side”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Restaurant Arraya
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Charming, wonderful people run this hotel and the best restaurant in town. We had a delightful lunch of Basque specialties at the white-tablecloth restaurant just off the town square (Gateaux Basque from a cart just outside the window!). We didn't stay in the hotel, but at the proprietors' winter home, Maison Dominxenea, which they rent out as a 3-bedroom B&B. It is up a hill a few minutes from town on a street of traditional red-and-white basque houses, very well appointed and comfortable with a patio and big yard for sipping wine and/or sunbathing. You can hear the cows lowing and see the peak of La Rhune out the back windows. It feels like having your own Basque-country manor.

Room Tip: Get the rear room overlooking the patio if available. If you want to stay in town, the hotel is bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 251 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

I don't remember any sullen owners, they were simply reserved and low-keyed. I stayed in this hotel as a featured accommodation on a walking tour of the Basque region. I wasn't feeling well the evening we all checked in and so wasn't able to make it down for dinner. The tour guides informed the owners, and later in the evening, they prepared a lovely tray of fish and vegetables and brought it to my room. It was very well prepared and I wondered what I had missed at dinner. Breakfast the next morning was hearty and the service, like the owners, was quiet and low-keyed.
My room for one was spacious, airy and charmingly decorated in the rustic style. It looked over the patio and faced the picturesque buildings across the narrow street. My only regret is that we weren't able to spend more than one night in this lovely place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northshore9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We had lunch at this restaurant in September because our first choice in the area only opens for dinner. Like Dublin_GI said in the 2006 review, the owner was sullen, border line rude while his wife was charming and smiley! We had to wait 20 minutes before the owner handed us the menu. As we were not that enthusiastic about the two menus on offer (25 Euros and 33 Euros I believe) I had to ask about the 19 Euros menu (only at lunch time) which was conveniently omitted by the owner. Another 15 minutes went by before he came by to take the order, frowning the entire time!
The service is "uneven" depending on who just happened to stop by the table!
The food is just fair. The only good thing we remember about this meal is the very nice basque wine, a rose.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank rieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

These are just some of the gentle memories you will leave Sare, France with particularly after a relaxing stay at Arraya. Of course classic French toiles or checks or floral fabrics decorate each cheerful room. Yes, the rooms are very charming and somehow personal and chic, each in its own way. The window of our room looked out onto a small back yard. But as with everything else at this inn, the garden was tended to and designed to perfection.

Dinner? After a walk through town, and a hushed visit to a graveyard - the Basque people are noted for their dedication to their ancestors and each headstone is carefully graced with flowers, pictures, and other accoutrements by which the deceased is lovingly shown great respect - we returned to enjoy a great repast, and, again, exactly as you might imagine the French would do it. Excellent beef, perfect wine, wonderful desert. All this accompanied by discreet service, repeated the next morning at our delicious breakfast.

There is a lovely patio outside and an evening sipping a local digestif there and watching the comings and goings of the village would cap your stay nicely.

The owner is a superior manager as his property and the efficiency of his staff attest to.

In a word: visit! It is unforgettable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilimarlene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We spent 4 nights at the very modern and lovely Auberge Basque in St. Pees sur Nivelle, just a 15-minute drive from the little village of Sare. But after getting to know the region, we wished we'd based ourselves at the Hotel Arraya. Situated in the centre of a very picturesque village, which must get overrun with tourists and buses in summer all heading to the nearby Grottes and Rhune train, it is a charming, historic hotel made up of 3 houses dating back to the 16th century. Although the owners were clearly busy, we asked if we might see a couple of rooms and were thrilled when Laurencia, one of the two delightful sisters who, along with their husbands, oversee the family business gave us a detailed tour. We were especially impressed with the rooms overlooking the quiet garden, with a view over the lovely rolling countryside. If you want quiet and comfort, in an environment more reflective of the region than some of the more modern, upscale options, you cannot miss if you select from what they describe as the Arraya's 'privileged' rooms, featuring large, comfortable beds and private terraces. Without exception, the decor is lovely and the bathrooms modern and spacious. Being unable to face the very large and fussy dining options offered by the Auberge Basque, we returned for breakfast the next day and booked ourselves in for dinner that night. The ambiance in the almost full dining room was charming and the menu options based on regional, family cuisine. Everything we tried was delicious, and the service by young, local trainees was enthusiastic and professional. While definitely not a foodie experience, it was truly enjoyable from start to finish and very good value for this part of the world. Unlike a previous reviewer, who was very critical of one of the hotel owners, in our limited time there, and using our very limited French, we found him to be exceptionally intelligent, knowledgeable and very welcoming. In fact we liked the Arraya and its owners so much that we can't wait to go back and base ourselves there to explore more of this beautiful part of France. Highly recommended for travelers seeking an authentic Pays Basque experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

This was a return visit - we had been there several years ago but were remembered. The owner & his wife are very professional and solicitous without being pushy. Our room was at ther top of the hotel overlooking the garden & was very quiet ( I believe those in the front were kept awake by drinkers at bar opposite.) Excellent food.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4wheelsonmywagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Owner hates Americans. Argues over simple things. Stubborn. A terrible waiter. Of no help on suggestions of things to do.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EuroTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sare
0 mi away
Hotel Pikassaria
Hotel Pikassaria
#2 of 5 in Sare
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant Baratxartea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lastiry
Hotel Lastiry
#4 of 5 in Sare
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
ARGI-EDER
ARGI-EDER
#1 of 4 in Ainhoa
327 reviews
11.8 mi away
Arantza Hotela
Arantza Hotela
#1 of 1 in Arantza
230 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Ur Hegian
Hotel Ur Hegian
#3 of 4 in Ainhoa
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Arraya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Arraya

Address: 64310 Sare, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Sare
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sare
Price Range: $136 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Arraya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Arraya Hotel Sare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing