We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another very good restaurant in Sare”
Review of Restaurant Lastiry

Restaurant Lastiry
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Sare
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Another very good restaurant in Sare”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were in Sare for a few days and got to try out a couple of restaurants that were recommended by our host of the B&B we stayed in. One of the restaurants we went for dinner was Lastiry (the other one was Arraya across the street). The cuisine and setting was Basque, the service was very good and very friendly (which made us feel guilty about not knowing the French language). The dishes we had included monk fish, shrimp etc.. It was clear that they took a lot of care to prepare and present the food, you can see some of the examples in the photos attached. The price was very reasonable. I highly recommend Lastiry next time your are in Sare for great service and very good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoneSoLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    107
    33
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Having abandoned the enormous queue for Le Train at Larhune we ventured to Sare for lunch expecting a typical tourist menu. This was anything but. Staff very welcoming and friendly, no English menu but offered to explain anything. Local dishes and produce well presented, with flair and imagination. With wine and beer this was stil a reasonable price for a gastronomic feast. Restaurant was buzzing inside and out with people being turned away

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warmly welcomed”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The food's good and you are treated like a friend of the family.It's the warmth of the red Basque colours in the tablecloths, the comfort of the huge oak beams and above all, the friendly greeting of Madame and her team that make this such a special place for a meal. This is traditional country cooking at a very reasonable price, served promptly and with a cheerful attention that you get what you want. Lots of locals enjoy both the food and banter and tourists such as us are encouraged to relax and feel at home. The family have run this hotel for generations and proudly maintain a well deserved good reputation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgcCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We took a lunch there before leaving Sare.
Given the location (a famous village), the menu and the fact we had to make a reservation for a lunch we were expecting much more. Starters were well presented and very good. Main dishes and desserts were just correct.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alex263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“touristrestaurant”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Super nice location in the centre of Sare. Tourists flock in, so this is a moneymachine. The food is certainly ok but nothing to look forward, it is a classic tourist-restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Lastiry also viewed

Sare, Basque Country
Sare, Basque Country
 
Sare, Basque Country
Sare, Basque Country
 
Saint-Pee-sur-Nivelle, Basque Country
Sare, Basque Country
 

Been to Restaurant Lastiry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing