We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep and eat charmed”
Review of Maison Olhabidea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Olhabidea
Ranked #6 of 18 Sare B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Staying here is a bit like staying with your ideal, surrogate grandma (charming and a little creaky). Our room was charmingly decorated and spacious, and the house is surrounded by a wonderful garden. The setting, just outside Sare, is lovely. The family who run the few rooms and restaurant are fantastic. Dinner (one of the highlights of staying here) is good value, the ambiance truly as if in someone's big old house. I wouldn't really stay on a Monday when the restaurant is closed and the same-family-owned Arraya in Sare open but disappointing. We actually specifically stayed and ate at Olhabidea instead of l'Auberge Basque nearby because the latter gave us an offputtingly hard sell on its most expensive rooms with a view. We don't regret the decision!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 41 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights using it as a base to explore Basque Country side. House is beautiful and charmingly decorated. Per the innkeeper, Jean, his mother does all the decoration. Room is good size, they provided extra bed for our daughter. We would wake up to sounds of birds chirping outside of window. Cuisine is wonderful, kitchen were closed on Sunday and Monday while we were there but we were able to come there on Saturday for dinner. Prix fix for 4 courses dinner for 39 euros. Food was delicious, it was prepared by the one of the brother. They have a terrace that you can drink wine while relaxing. Breakfast consist of croissant, bread, white cheese with fruits and jams were included in the charge of the room. It has a 4 Gites rating. Hard to find since they have no address but on their website they gave latitude and longitudinal coordinates that you can convert to minutes and seconds and input into your GPS for direction.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brigdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Our son found Jatetxea, the restaurant in the Maison Olhabidea on Chow Hound and after a pleasant drive into the Basque countryside on the French side, we found this amazing gem. We were the only guests for lunch that day. We sat on the covered terrace of the charming Maison (a small bed inn) and were served the most amazing lunch. Two of the three brothers who grew up in the home serve as chef (Guillame)and innkeeper (Jean). From start to finish the meal was pure perfection.. . an amuse of tuna in a potato cup in parsley pesto, a delicious prawns on a bed of pea timbale with artichoke hearts and bacon followed by the main course of a roasted pigeon with foie on potato pure with asparagus in a veal reduction sauce. (I can still taste the amazing flavors!) Dessert was mint granita in a merique with raspberry puree. We took a peek before leaving at one of the charming bedrooms, which Jean said had been his as a child. I can't wait to go back and spend several days!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank RamblingShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I follow Chowhound for places to eat when traveling and several people mentioned not missing Maison Olhabidea in Basque France so we made a special detour to Sare enroute from St. Emilion to San Sebastien.

What a find! Beautiful, elegant, comfortable. It is run by a family who have owned the property for over a hundred years, father is a retired physician, mother decorated the home and provided flowers every day, one son is the chef, the second runs the hotel side, and a third runs an adjacent equestrian center. The rooms are large, decorated with comfortable beds, charming furniture, lovely textiles, and amenities that travelers need (reading lights, enough electrical outlets to charge phones, etc). The bathrooms are not as up to date but certainly large enough and functional enough to not be a major detraction. Dated tile but old fashioned very deep bathtubs, hand showers. The rest of the house is stunning - three guest bedrooms, a living/dining area where you gather for aperitifs, dinner and in the morning breakfast. Outdoor patio for aperitifs, playing cards, etc. A family of swallows had built a nest in one of the pottery pitchers on a sideboard and we enjoyed watching the parents bring food to the five nestlings as we sipped our drinks. Large grounds with a kitchen garden and many flowering plants to provide arrangements for the house.

The food is amazing although if you stay for multiple nights like we did, may be repetitive. However, the chef made sure that we had different amuse bouches or whatever course might be repeated so that we nearly always had different food each day even if the rest of the dinner guests were eating dishes we had already had. I was able to join the chefs in the kitchen to watch how they prepared the food and have a nice discussion about food and traveling via the assistant chef who spoke good English. We met the deputy mayor for cultural affairs for St Malo at this gite and he approved, saying it was very good. He also invited us to call him when we were in St Malo for a personal tour. So this is the type of place where things like this can happen. The rooms were only 79 euros/night and the dinner 39 euros. There were many more people who came specifically for the dinners (about 15-20) in addition to the guests. Excellent four courses, fixed menu, wine extra. Breakfast included in the room rate. Making reservations may be difficult, they do not have reliable internet access so you will have to call, fax or mail requests. Jean told us that the gite is a place to get away from the world so he does not plan to improve connectivity!

Basque France is a very interesting region and Jean was very good as advising us as to routes and places to see. I would recommend this area of France, particularly to contrast it with Spanish Basque country. Many lovely villages, mountains. Once again, a difficult place to find since there isn't actually an address you can put into a GPS and the web site is very basic. However, once in Sare, you can ask at the tourist center and they will direct you so make sure you arrive in time before they close. I hesitate to post this since they are so small and I hate to not be able to get into their gite again if they become more popular, but it was such a gem of a place I felt I had to share it.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cyssf2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank christine6421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avis187103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sare hotels
0.4 mi away
Maison Amets
Maison Amets
#8 of 18 in Sare
54 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Pikassaria
Hotel Pikassaria
#2 of 5 in Sare
84 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Arraya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chalet Elisa
Chalet Elisa
#9 of 18 in Sare
24 reviews
2.6 mi away
Maison Aretxola
Maison Aretxola
#3 of 18 in Sare
57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant Baratxartea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Olhabidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Olhabidea

Address: 64310 Sare, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Sare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Sare
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing