We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Petit train - grand views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Train de la Rhune

Le Train de la Rhune
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Sare
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From the top of its 905 metres, the sacred Basque Country mountain of La Rhune provides one of the best panoramas imaginable (rated *** in the Michelin Guide). As far as the eye can see, it takes in the peaks of the Pyrenees and follows the Basque coast bordering the Atlantic Ocean from San Sebastián to Biarritz and on to the beaches of Les Landes.
West London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Petit train - grand views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely train ride up the side of La Rhune. Experience the flocks of eagles flying underneath you and when you get to the top dine in one of the bars. Fantastic

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    575
    148
    44
    43
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our trip. The views on the way up and down were spectacular although the top was shrouded in mist. We were warned that this was the case when we bought the tickets in case we wanted to change our minds. we went anyway and were glad we did.
the price we thought was reasonable, especially when compared to the equivalent in Switzerland we went on last year which was over 4 times the price.
The only downside was the scrabble to get onto the last but one train back down. My advice is get to the station at least 15 minutes before the train down leaves. Our train left full but with 20/30 people left waiting the 1/2 hour for the next one.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeemerBikerAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hiking up la Rhune and returning by Le Petit Train”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Went to the mountain last week and hiked up the green route strating from the train station. The path is in good condition and it is rather steep as you ascend 800 meters in just couple of kilometres. I took the shortest way up (and steepest = straight up the hill following a small trail once you reach the first plateau after about an hour in to the hike, the longer and more gentle route turns right and is practically a dirt road). The journey up took me about 1,5 hours, route guide says 2-2,5 hours so I guess I was not resting too much.

Wear good hiking shoes or solid hiking sandals (I had sandals) and take enough water and enjoy, it is magnificient hike. In July / August start early enough as on a sunny calm day without wind it can be very hot (I started 9:30 am and would go earlier next time). In addition to the heat a hot summer day often generates clouds and thunderstorms which typically appear in the afternoon and may disturb your experience.

When at the top enjoy the panoramic view, take pictures and have a nice simple luch at the restaurant. If you are short of time take the train down as I did. A nice ride, pricey though 17 euro return and 14 euro one way. Recommend this trip strongly.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AXA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Not cheap but we enjoyed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

At 17 euros per person, make sure this ride is what you really want to do. Annoyingly we chose to walk down to Sare (the village rather than the base station) but the single fare didn't seem to be available and was still 14 euros. We booked a free shuttle bus from St Jean de Luz bus station (if you buy your train ticket there it counts for the bus too) but still had a long wait at the base station for the train. Why don't these connect?

Amusingly the top station is in France but the restaurants and bars up the steps from it are in Spain, so don't bother trying your best French there! (I think there is a road up on the Spanish side). For walking down, there is a free map/leaflet and it's (mostly) well signposted.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank McWulf25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtakingly beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

u can see the sea and mountain. Very beautiful view. Worth going..

Helpful?
Thank iryanirawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Train de la Rhune also viewed

 
Saint-Jean-de-Luz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 

Been to Le Train de la Rhune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing