We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison D'ete Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Ronneby, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We, two kids, my wife and I, had a lovely stay here. It is not a five star outfit but what it is lacking we never missed. Great service and always a very honest smile. A very dedicated team. As it is a little off the beaten track we would recommend to have a rental car for getting around. We want to return and hope it stays exactly how we remember it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ankraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    38
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
59
243
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bodrum, Turkey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We went for lunch and so loved this place we booked in for a couple of nights. It is the best accommodation we found on the island, (we do not want Resort accommodation). The design and facilities are fantastic; the restaurant is excellent and there is a varied menu; breakfast is delicious. Only negative comment - we would have liked drinks service to the beach area and pool area a bit more often (it was only once in the day). Prices very fair for an establishment of this quality. Reception staff - Beatrice and Rashim (?) are excellent hosts and sort everything.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brititurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent a week here for our Honeymoon four years ago (August 2009) and I've been meaning to give them a good review ever since- it was that good.

Beautiful little apartments and based right on the shore. The whole place was stunning and the owners were lovely people- very conscientious and friendly. The staff were all happy to be there as well. The food in the restaurant was exceptional and we found ourselves heading back there time and again, even though we were driving all round the island. We spent the second week at one of the large resorts on the other side of the island and I found myself wishing we had stayed at la Maison d'ete instead. Full of character and beautiful little touches. We really did love it there. Don't be misled by it stating it is a B&B, B&B prices maybe, but it was a boutique hotel in reality (and such a beautiful one at that). Staying here was perhaps one of the highlights of the whole holiday. A beautiful, slightly wilder area of the island as well. That being said, everywhere is accessible on the island...

Room Tip: Choose a room off the pool. Choose any room, just stay here rather than one of the big soulless gian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at the Maison d'Ete during our honeymoon in November and to sum it up: it was perfect!

Maison d'Ete is located on the less touristy and more authentic east coast of Mauritius. It offers a small but very nice beach and complimentary use of kayaks, snorkeling equipment and mountain bikes. We used the latter a lot to explore the surrounding landscape and villages.

The rooms are quite newly renovated, the restaurant offers great food and the staff is very friendly and makes you feel more like family than guests.

In fact, we like our stay there so much that we shortened our our subsequent stay at the west coast in order to to back to Maison d'Ete again. And we sincerely hope that one day we will visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our memories are of being greeted by Brigette at 06.30am on arrival, the enduring warmth of the staff throughout our stay and the sad faces (ours!) on leaving. It is difficult to imagine how any more could be done to make our stay more perfect. A perfect spot, a spotless reef, a fine restaurant and a lovely room. Great snorkeling, fine walks along the beach, short cycle rides down the coast, kayaking in the lagoon. Bulbuls and unctious eggs for breakfast, relaxed and unfussy service, a great table d'hote. But Brigette and the staff create the ambience …tranquil.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les-amis-Anglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

... This is a fabulous boutique hotel. We arrived after flight trouble at 2.30 am to be greeted and offered food! Whole place has very recently been renovated and is of a very high standard. Food was superb, staff were better and the location topped the lot.
The view from the rooms was spectacular. We were there for part of our honeymoon and couldn't fault it at all. Incredible breakfast, with fresh fruit every day and homemade carrot jam, and very relaxed, private and friendly.
Not a place for children.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cj6475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

As soon as you arrive it is easy to see how La Maison d'Ete earned its 2013 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence. It is a jewel of a boutique hotel, elegant and stylish yet informal. Nestled on a stretch of unspoiled coastline, it has only 13 rooms under thatched roofs arranged in attractive, beautifully planted grounds and served by two pools overlooking the ocean. The setting is superb and the rooms clean and comfortable. There is an air of casual informality and even for a small hotel, a feeling of space. We were in room 10 with a large terrace and wonderful Indian Ocean views.

The hotel has a small beach with a sand terrace and lawned areas overlooking it on which there are hammocks, bean bags and a variety of sunbeds. Swimming off the beach is good though it is a bit shallow and there is little to see underwater except for broken coral and sea
weed. Snorkels, flippers, rubber shoes and kayaks are available without charge. Around the pools are decked areas with further sunbeds.

There is great attention to detail in the hotel and grounds and everything works well. Thierry Hardy, the Manager, is very hands-on and engaging and, like all the staff, most friendly and helpful. You get the feeling that you are being looked after by a well drilled team and judging by the way the hotel is running, he is doing a great job. He has plans for further improvements and it is hard to see the hotel not adding to its Trip Advisor excellence awards in years to come.

The restaurant has a deservedly good reputation locally. We tasted the food over 6 days and it was excellent, tasty and well cooked and presented. The menu is well balanced and there is a decent wine list. Breakfast which is served includes fruit, breads, yogurt and pancakes and eggs, etc. cooked to order. It was a pleasure to escape the usual help yourself breakfast buffet. Adjacent to the restaurant is a bar with outdoor seating to while away those warm summer evenings.

The hotel will appeal to those who want a totally relaxing experience in a beautiful environment where peace, quiet, birdsong and the crashing of the surf are more important than the brashness of 5 star hotels with evening entertainment and a panoply of activities. There is, however, a pool table and a small indoor bar for those who prefer not to go to bed too early.

The hotel is a bit isolated and we had a car for the occasions we wanted to go sightseeing (though taxis can be arranged quite easily). I suspect that for the majority of travellers who choose to stay at La Maison d'Ete, its isolation is a real bonus. Despite having a car, we found ourselves preferring to stay in, so nice was the hotel. For those without cars who feel the need for exercise, bikes are available at no charge.

If computers need to be opened, the WiFi is reliable and fast...and free.

Our verdict? A lovely place to stay with great ambiance. La Maison d'Ete has to be one of the best boutique hotels in Mauritius. It certainly ticked all the boxes for us and we are pretty discerning travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twofreespirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poste Lafayette
2.2 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
5.8 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.0 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,462 reviews
8.6 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
6.0 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison D'ete Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison D'ete Hotel

Property: La Maison D'ete Hotel
Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Poste Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison D'ete Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This discreet address along the wild coast, North-East of Mauritius, is a well kept secret only spread by word-of mouth among insiders.1 unspoilt beach, 14 rooms, 2 swimming pools, 1 restaurant, 1 lounge bar, 1 little spa...In praise of simplicity, is not true luxury ? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Maison D'ete Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison D'Ete Hotel Mauritius/Poste Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing