We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mauritian wellcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Maison D'ete Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our memories are of being greeted by Brigette at 06.30am on arrival, the enduring warmth of the staff throughout our stay and the sad faces (ours!) on leaving. It is difficult to imagine how any more could be done to make our stay more perfect. A perfect spot, a spotless reef, a fine restaurant and a lovely room. Great snorkeling, fine walks along the beach, short cycle rides down the coast, kayaking in the lagoon. Bulbuls and unctious eggs for breakfast, relaxed and unfussy service, a great table d'hote. But Brigette and the staff create the ambience …tranquil.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Les-amis-Anglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 369 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

... This is a fabulous boutique hotel. We arrived after flight trouble at 2.30 am to be greeted and offered food! Whole place has very recently been renovated and is of a very high standard. Food was superb, staff were better and the location topped the lot.
The view from the rooms was spectacular. We were there for part of our honeymoon and couldn't fault it at all. Incredible breakfast, with fresh fruit every day and homemade carrot jam, and very relaxed, private and friendly.
Not a place for children.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank cj6475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

As soon as you arrive it is easy to see how La Maison d'Ete earned its 2013 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence. It is a jewel of a boutique hotel, elegant and stylish yet informal. Nestled on a stretch of unspoiled coastline, it has only 13 rooms under thatched roofs arranged in attractive, beautifully planted grounds and served by two pools overlooking the ocean. The setting is superb and the rooms clean and comfortable. There is an air of casual informality and even for a small hotel, a feeling of space. We were in room 10 with a large terrace and wonderful Indian Ocean views.

The hotel has a small beach with a sand terrace and lawned areas overlooking it on which there are hammocks, bean bags and a variety of sunbeds. Swimming off the beach is good though it is a bit shallow and there is little to see underwater except for broken coral and sea
weed. Snorkels, flippers, rubber shoes and kayaks are available without charge. Around the pools are decked areas with further sunbeds.

There is great attention to detail in the hotel and grounds and everything works well. Thierry Hardy, the Manager, is very hands-on and engaging and, like all the staff, most friendly and helpful. You get the feeling that you are being looked after by a well drilled team and judging by the way the hotel is running, he is doing a great job. He has plans for further improvements and it is hard to see the hotel not adding to its Trip Advisor excellence awards in years to come.

The restaurant has a deservedly good reputation locally. We tasted the food over 6 days and it was excellent, tasty and well cooked and presented. The menu is well balanced and there is a decent wine list. Breakfast which is served includes fruit, breads, yogurt and pancakes and eggs, etc. cooked to order. It was a pleasure to escape the usual help yourself breakfast buffet. Adjacent to the restaurant is a bar with outdoor seating to while away those warm summer evenings.

The hotel will appeal to those who want a totally relaxing experience in a beautiful environment where peace, quiet, birdsong and the crashing of the surf are more important than the brashness of 5 star hotels with evening entertainment and a panoply of activities. There is, however, a pool table and a small indoor bar for those who prefer not to go to bed too early.

The hotel is a bit isolated and we had a car for the occasions we wanted to go sightseeing (though taxis can be arranged quite easily). I suspect that for the majority of travellers who choose to stay at La Maison d'Ete, its isolation is a real bonus. Despite having a car, we found ourselves preferring to stay in, so nice was the hotel. For those without cars who feel the need for exercise, bikes are available at no charge.

If computers need to be opened, the WiFi is reliable and fast...and free.

Our verdict? A lovely place to stay with great ambiance. La Maison d'Ete has to be one of the best boutique hotels in Mauritius. It certainly ticked all the boxes for us and we are pretty discerning travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twofreespirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This place is straight out of the pages of a stylish travel mag. It is pretty much perfect. We had a simple poolside room (which did have aircon) and lovely breakfast. Great pools/ seaside terrace area. Restaurant was very good. The weather wasn't perfect (windy and a bit overcast) during our two night stay so i can't comment on the sea swimming, although it did look like it was probably better for snorkelling. One important thing to note is that this is very much a 'get away from it all' destination; there is really nothing at all nearby (you need to drive at least 30 minutes). The atmosphere was quiet in the evening we spent there, so not a place for those wanting nightlife.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Called late afternoon after being recommended this place via another guest house in black river and they managed to fit us in with a lovely room looking directly over the pool which in turn looked over the sea. The food at the restaurant was lovely and the breakfast was also ideal. I had been speaking with the general manager Gregory on the phone and he couldn't have been more helpful.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed 10 nights at the Maison d'Ete and really enjoyed it. Service very nice, good fooda and far away from the hustle and bustle.
Rooms: simple but all you need, no air-con but fan which is lovely as you can sleep with the sound of the sea (we were there inn winter somno idea if this might be too hot in summer)
Food: good dinner, reasonably priced / breakfast: only minor criticism as it could be a bit more changing every day
Service: very good
please note: this is not a 5 star luxury Le Prince Meurice-style accomodation but a relaxing and absolutely well-managed place to unwind with a good book and do some water sports

Room Tip: room 1 right
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Staying here is an amazing experience - the quietness, the ocean breeze coming up through the buidligns and the sound of surf pounding the distant reef. The rooms are great and we were even given a 'transit' room to relax in when we first arrived because we got in before check in time. That's service! All the staff are really friendly and attentive. You sometimes have to remember that this isnt a massive five star hotel so if you cant find someone it is just matte rof waiting a few minutes - this got me a bit annoyed at one point before I realised that this is a B&B, but one that is so good it vies with big top notch hotels.

The food is a bit expensive but it is good. If I had one gripe it is the lack of fresh fruit at breakfast. I am used to staying in hotels with a much broader range of options for breakfast (again, I had to remember that this place has 8 rooms only...).

We had a 18 month old child with us and to be honest, this might have been the wrong call for him. There are no real kiddy facilities for that age group short of some basic toys. This is an extremely romantic, sensuous sort of place and suits couples looking to really relax. Its also quite a good base for exploring the north / east from.

We did get excellent baby sitting though and our son got a lot of attention from the staff. We needed a doctor at one point as he had tonsillitis and the staff went into action really quickly on this.

If I had one real gripe its the open-ness of the B&B to the beach. There is no night watchman that I was aware of and security could be an issue. You see groups of youths lounging around the beach a lot. I may be being paranoid but I've lost items in similar circumstances. That said, they do have security cameras and good lighting.

This is said to be the best B&B on the island and I would agree but not because I have seen the others, just that I cannot imagine it being much better. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: They are all as good as the others as far as I could see. We stayed ground floor in the villa which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poste Lafayette
2.2 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,334 reviews
37.0 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,851 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel
15.7 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,502 reviews
12.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison D'ete Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison D'ete Hotel

Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Poste Lafayette
Price Range: $332 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison D'ete Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This discreet address along the wild coast, North-East of Mauritius, is a well kept secret only spread by word-of mouth among insiders.1 unspoilt beach, 14 rooms, 2 swimming pools, 1 restaurant, 1 lounge bar, 1 little spa...In praise of simplicity, is not true luxury ? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your La Maison D'ete Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison D'Ete Hotel Mauritius/Poste Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing