We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison D'ete Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

When my husband and I arrived, we were very sick with food poisoning from the night before in Cape Town. We were weak, dehydrated, but somehow managed to make the flight. We hoped that the arrangements to greet us had not been forgotten, but after a very difficult week in Cape Town -- with awful service--we were not expecting much.

From the beginning, La Maison D'ete exceeded all expectations. They were there to greet us, and the taxi driver was excellent. When we arrived--though late--we were greeted by kind and extremely competent staff, who whisked away our luggage before we could even think about it. I mentioned we were still quite ill, and asked if it was possible for us to get some white rice and water -- our first attempt at food in over 24-hours. They happily arranged for it to be delivered to our room -- and we sat and ate our few bites, and felt hopeful that we could recover.

The next day was spent convalescing. The setting is gorgeous -- the room perfect. The bed was strewn with beautiful flowers when we arrived -- reminding us of our honeymoon in Moorea 10 years prior. Our bed faced the ocean, and each room is arranged such that you have a full private view. We rested on the small beach in front...on the covered large seats by the beach, the smaller ones on the beach, the pool, and on our room's patio. We can tell you all were comfortable with spectacular views!

It was funny in that the staff seemed to monitor our recovery somewhat, in that they looked a bit concern when we didn't eat much at first, and then a bit happier as more and more of our food disappeared! Their kindness was wonderful, making us feel like we were staying at someone's home. The breakfast was great, with Patrick and the others remembering our preferences. When we awoke too early for full breakfast one morning before diving, (not being aware it didn't start for another 30-minutes), Patrick was still happy to bring me a cappuccino. So as not to impose, I did not ask for more -- and in fact, told him not to worry at all. Nonetheless, he brought out fruit salad, a crepe, and bread for me and my husband -- telling us that no one should spend a day diving without sufficient breakfast! The next morning was also to be an early departure for a day of sailing. The staff-- aware of this--brought a basket to our room with bread, yogurt, fruit and coffee for the next morning. Much appreciated!

The dinners were also excellent -- both in regards to the conversation with the staff -- who were always friendly and interesting to talk to -- but also in regards to the quality of the international cuisine. I must say the local recipes were my favorite, but all were good.

The owners were fabulous hosts, taking the time to help us make sense of maps and giving us the best route to go. The suggestions were on-target to what we were looking for, and all arrangements were made seamlessly. We also enjoyed getting massages from the onsite spa.

Part of the fun of La Maison D'ete is that they are fully outfitted for enjoying the water right there. There is snorkeling gear with good snorkeling on-site (better to the left side, as you face the ocean), and kayaks. They also have bicycles, as well.

If you are looking for night clubs, loud drinking parties, and tons of tourist shops, this is not the place for you. But if you want a slice of paradise, which makes you feel that you are a welcome guest to their home, then there is nothing better. If I return to Mauritius (long way from Vancouver, but you never know....(!), then I would certainly come back to La Maison D'ete.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 -- right at the end. Fully unobstructed view of the ocean, with minimal foot tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanneLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    37
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
57
238
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vacoas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at La Maison d'Ete for 2 nights in July 2012 .
On arrival i loved the place , its so lovely everything is well set and planned.
The service is perfect .
Mrs Sophia made us visit on arrival and she made us feel at home as well as all the personel.
Breakfast was really nice specially the pancakes which i loved:)
I would recomment La Maison D'ete to everyone its a *must go* to be able to get the experience we had.
We will definitely visit some other time.
Big Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRISCA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at La Maison D'ete for 5 nights in May 2012. Immediately on arrival, Marie made us feel at home. While she took us on a short tour of the hotel, our luggage miraculously reached our room. The room itself was amazing with wide French windows which opened right to the Indian Ocean. Breakfast was amazing. Everyday the waiter remembered our likes (and dislikes) and we got what we want. Can you get this in a large 5 star resort? We felt as if we were guests in Marie's home (by the way she stays in a flat above the shop, lucky she). We are vegetarians and food is always a challenge when we travel. Not here! Our wish was their command. They even cooked the humble "khichdi" at our request. It was the best food we had during our 11 days in Mauritius. I would recommend La Maison to anyone who wants to do nothing but relax! Choose the sea facing villas over the bungalows.

Room Tip: Choose the sea facing villas over the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tejash_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Being able to come back to the Indian Ocean in one of the most beautiful islands in the world, Ile Maurice, was one of our dreams, which became reality in 2011. When I started doing the "research" I felt inlove with this intimate establishment, so, without any doubt I contacted La Maison d'Ete.... thank you Marie-Michele for the patiance !

The moment we landed the amazing Mauritius everything happend as if we came back home from holiday.... We reached La Maison d'Ete wich is one to two hours drive without any problems or hickups ... The ride was very beautiful because it gave us the possibility to see the real Mauritius not only the touristic part, we passed very pittoresque villages, white sand stretches and sugar cane fields.

The establishment is situated in a peaceful part of the island away form tourist masses, 10-15m away form the ocean. It is rare to meet such kind and helpful people like the ones that make La Maison d'Ete special. Jean Claude was very kind and did with us the grand tour of the place and managed to make us feel part of his family. La Maison d'Ete has a certain "je ne sais quoi", it is the kind of place were your internal rythem wants to take it easy. The rooms look over the beautiful ocean and the pool area were lounges await for you to show them how lazy can you be. When we wanted to be closer to the ocean we just moved to the beach area under the comforting shade provided by the trees or the rattan umbrellas.

Marie-Michele helped us arrange all the trips we planned to make. Patrick was in charge of making special every start of a new day during the breakfast time.

The cherry on top of the cake was the Auberg'Inn restaurant were we ate some amazing dishes. To be honest we weren't curious to try any other restaurant, thats how good it was.... my mouth is already watering..... One have to definitely try the restaurant's rhum, it is TOP !

We miss La Maison d'Ete, we miss Jean-Claude, Mari-Michele, Patrick and the rest of the stuff ... I hope we will come back soon ...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EugenMdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Maison D'Ete and enjoyed the luxurious and well presented room, with flower pettles scattered on the bed on arrival. The location is just next to a road that takes you out into the island and the deck is right by the sea. No beach, but beautiful views over the ocean. Breakfast and dinners were both varied and delicious. The Maison has a sense of privacy for those looking for a romantic getaway and Marie-Michele and the team are very helpful for any questions you may have on your stay. One of the best independent hotels we've stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed at La Maison for 11 nights in December. We were looking for more of a B&B type accommodation rather than a large resort.

It was just perfect, we could come and go as we pleased. We stayed in a Villa where we had a small fridge, microwave, plates, glasses, etc and it was quite spacious. There is no air-con, only a ceiling fan (although they said they are installing air-con this year) but it didn't seem to bother me much. It was hot but bearable. The rooms all had fee wi-fi access which was a pleasant surprise. From our patio, we had a view of the ocean and we could hear the sound on the waves crashing against the reef from our room. It was always so quiet and peaceful and the staff were always willing to help where they could. We did not have a request that could not be fulfilled.

There was snorkelling equipment and kayaks which you could use when ever you wanted and the snorkelling was fantastic right on the private beach outside the hotel.

The meals at the restaurant were always fantastic and superior quality, even the pizza was great. We often ordered pizza in our room and sat on our patio listening to the waves. The waitor would bring our drinks to us on the patio.

There is not much else outside of the hotel, the area is still very undeveloped which is a good thing! If you do want to go out, you can take a taxi or busses to Grand Bay or where ever else.

But it's pure relaxation to stay at the hotel. I was so comfortable and completely satisfied with my whole experience, the best way to describe this place is a home away from home and Marie-Michele and her family makes you feel like part of the family as soon as you arrive.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimmyB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

This place was just heavenly! We spent 9 wonderful days here and would have loved to have stayed longer!

We stayed in a cottage which was perfectly adequate for us. Lovely comfortable bedroom with kitchenette area, large bathroom and balcony overlooking the pool and sea. Although there was no air conditioning, we didn’t feel it was needed when we were there. We slept with the doors open and a cool breeze coming from the sea, listening to the waves washing over the reef. What could be better?

Breakfast was in a covered area outside served by Patrick who was very friendly and helpful. It consisted of fruit, yoghurt, bread and eggs of your choice. Just perfect! We recommend the fried eggs. Being keen on wild birds, we were delighted by the various birds who came scrounging bread at breakfast, especially the red-whiskered bulbul with its chick.

Marie-Michèle gave us a tour on our first morning and impressed us with her local knowledge and enthusiasm about the island. She gave really excellent advice throughout our stay about everywhere we wanted to go and perfect directions to get there.

The hotel itself had 2 pools and a private beach area which led onto the, not very accessible from the road, public beach. This was never crowded, in fact there was hardly ever anyone on it. When we weren’t out exploring the island, we spent some relaxing days in and around the beach which was a good snorkelling area too, with gear provided for free by the hotel. Our conclusion after seeing most of the island was that the best beaches were those near the hotel.

The hotel is actually situated in Poste Lafayette and is not close to a town so you need to have a car to get out and about and if you want to eat out in the evening. Having said that, the hotel restaurant was really excellent with plenty of choice, so we only ate out a couple of times just for a change.

All in all it was a wonderful holiday and we are really pleased we chose to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longhaullady26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poste Lafayette
2.2 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
5.8 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.0 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,392 reviews
8.6 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
6.0 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison D'ete Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison D'ete Hotel

Property: La Maison D'ete Hotel
Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Poste Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison D'ete Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This discreet address along the wild coast, North-East of Mauritius, is a well kept secret only spread by word-of mouth among insiders.1 unspoilt beach, 14 rooms, 2 swimming pools, 1 restaurant, 1 lounge bar, 1 little spa...In praise of simplicity, is not true luxury ? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Maison D'ete Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison D'Ete Hotel Mauritius/Poste Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing