We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Mauritius”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison D'ete Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I am an American ex-pat living in Mauritius. I have seen my share of hotels, guest houses, rental properties etc. This is by far the best. 5 star quality at a good price. They really understand hospitality here. My husband and I felt at home and were incredibly comfortable during our stay. Beautiful and relaxing. I am recommending this place to everyone I know and to all visitors who ask my opinion. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: We loved room 10. Great private terrace and view. Super cute room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauritianbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 395 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

We were just engaged and had, from the first minute on, a very relaxing and nice welcome. We really enjoyed the place and the staff is very friendly! Jean Claude and Michelle both know exactly how to make people feel home and enjoy their holiday. We would really recommend this place!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room no. 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onsfan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We have spend our honeymoon during 8 days and we really enjoyed our stay. The highlight of the stay is the attentive, warm and friendly service that Jean Claude and his team provide to every guest. Apart from the hospitality and as an hotelier I can say that the overall facility has been designated with a fine taste. Their room product is convenient, simple and you got a real value for the money that you pay when you woke up on the morning with a private pool facing the ocean and the lagoon.
The room product is more complex than a simple 5 stars resort. You come at Maison d'ete for a quiet and genuine environment far from all the crowd and noise that a usual resort can generate. Don't look for TV, AC, room service, express laundry service (they have wifi and can wash laundry)....Their room are simple but once again you don't come for that. The show is outside right in front your private terrace ... Sunset in the lagoon and the sounds from the wave....
They have also an excellent restaurant with a helpful and sympatic team. We received an excellent welcome cocktail upon arrival. The owner Jean Claude arranged for us a lot of activities in the island tnat we really enjoyed and he even personaly woked up at 4:30am to knock on our door and make sure we were awake to catch up our taxi for the airport. We really feel like in a family with personalize and tailored service. A premium adress in Maurice.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurentfromshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Maison d'Ete is a beautiful small hotel with lots of privacy so perfect if you want some time to unwind and chill out. There are two pools, lots of loungers, table tennis, board games, free internet/computers, free kayaks, free snorkelling equipment, free bikes etc. The restaurant serves very high quality food and wine with great choice and is open for lunch and dinner. There are no TVs in the rooms but there is a communal one that can be used. The beach is not amazingly sandy but it is very pretty and there are many private areas you can sunbathe. There is also an option to have massages. The hosts were extremely welcoming and were happy to give us our room even though we arrived at about 8.00 a.m. There are bus stops directly outside the hotel, one which goes north to Rampart, and one which goes south to Centre de Flacq (a market town). From there you can get connecting buses to Port Louis (well worth a visit for the markets/Chinatown), Pamplemousses, Mahbourg etc. The free bikes were a great asset. The only thing that was a shame was that there was nowhere you could walk to at night and the nearest alternative restaurant was about a 15 minute cycle away but the restaurant on site was so good that was not really a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gizelle_Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

This is actually not a review of the Maison d'Ete - we had tried to book in at the busy Easter period but it was full and we instead stayed at the Four Seasons, further south. However we did make the effort to visit the resort's restaurant Auberg'Inn as we had heard good things about the food. We are glad we made the 45 minute drive as our dinner here was probably the most enjoyable we had in Mauritius. The menu is primarily French and has a lot of variety. The service and wine list were excellent and the price reasonable. The setting is relaxed and comfortable. As for the rest of the property, it was hard to tell at night, but it looked quite charming and the reception rooms were very well furnished and clean. It looked like a nice, secluded place to stay - without the vast resort-like feel of most Mauritian hotels.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank baliboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

My partner and I had a fantastic 2 nights at this lovely intimate hotel in November 2010. An extremely warm welcome from the extremely friendly hosts. The hotel is placed in a beautiful setting, the private beach is just perfect and you really feel you are in paradise. Very simple rooms but laid out in a pretty and comfortable way. Food in the restaurant is amazing (and the cocktails are pretty damn good too!!) We would highly recommend this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becksters71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We stayed at the Maison D'Ete which is on the less crowded North East coast for five nights earlier this month. It is a superb small boutique hotel a world away from the huge upmarket resorts you normally find on Mauritius. The rooms are excellent and it is right on the beach. Food is very good served in the resaturant on the same site and run by the owners. We would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poste Lafayette
37 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,157 reviews
2.2 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,431 reviews
10.5 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,586 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,915 reviews
6 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison D'ete Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison D'ete Hotel

Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Poste Lafayette
Price Range: $219 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Maison D'ete Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This discreet address along the wild coast, North-East of Mauritius, is a well kept secret only spread by word-of mouth among insiders.1 unspoilt beach, 14 rooms, 2 swimming pools, 1 restaurant, 1 lounge bar, 1 little spa...In praise of simplicity, is not true luxury ? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Maison D'ete Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison D'Ete Hotel Mauritius/Poste Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing