We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice best holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent choice best holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

My husband and I where due to fly out to Mauritius on the 17th April to celebrate our 27th Wedding Anniversay however due to the Volcanic eruption we left England nearly a week late travelling on our actual Anniversay. Mauritius airways is not the best airline friendly crew but shabby planes with tight legroom.

After long delays at the airport we eventually arrived at the Jalsa Hotel at 4am the following morning having travelled for 22 hours we where exhausted. Reception could see that we where tired and told us that they would take our passport details later after we had some sleep. Later that morning we noticed that the shower was blocked and the toilet had a slight leak so I went to reception leaving my husband in the room, reception where excellent saying that no problem was to big to fix, I spoke with the head of maintenanace on the phone and within five minutes he was there at the room. I was asked to wait in reception to speak with the hotel manager Richard who could not apologies enough and assured me that they would sort things out immediately and wished me a belated Wedding Anniversay. We where immediately moved to another room with a sea view which was spectacular. When we later went back to the room there waiting for us was a bottle of sparkling wine and a plate of fruit with a card from Richard wishing us both a belated Wedding Anniversay what a lovely touch. The hotel is isolated, quiet, peaceful, relaxing with fantastic views just what was advertised and what we wanted so if you are looking for a lively place then this hotel isn't for you.

Rooms:
The rooms are beautiful the best showers I have had in any hotel and the beds and pillows are wonderful, the only complaint my husband had was that he couldn't reach me in the bed because they where so big. Lovely big rooms and the biggest and best balcony's ever with great seating.

Restaurant:
The staff are all great and always there to assist you. We have been to many different places in the world and staying in AI and normally you would find a few staff here and there that you are not that keen on but here at the Jalsa they are all fantastic. The food is nice although luke warm and could do with being a lot hotter temperature wise with a bigger variety. Lunch is the best, three course service which is presented nicely especially the starters which where the best I have tasted. Hello to all the restaurant staff especially Liverpool (Harrish) one of the waiters who is a massive fan.

Bar:
Well they are by far the best bar staff I have come across, funny, polite, great smiles and always going out of their way to please you, they make the best cocktails bringing them out to the beach and pool area, what service. The bar guy's really made our holiday wonderful and as for Richard well all I can say is that the hotel need to make sure they keep him he has lots of great ideas for the hotel and extremely keen to make it a success so Tim and Dad (the owner) if you are ready this well done for recruiting a great manager and exceptional staff I'm sure that with great team work your hotel will go from strength to strength. A massive shout out to Asagen, Fushu (the pool master) Fast n Furious, Sweet Pea, Smiley, Sick Note and not forgetting spikey who always had that mischieveous look on his face. To the owner please let them keep their spikey hair cuts they look great very smart and well presented. Even the gardeners where great Aunty as we all called her is a lovely little old lady who is by far the hardest worker there, always with a big smile on her face waving to the guests, my husband fell in love with her blowing her kisses every minute of the day, what a lovely lady with a big smile to melt any one's hart.

Complaints:

Richard is aware of the most common complaints from everyone who has stayed there that the bar needs to be opened later until atleast 11pm, by 10:15pm everyone goes back to their rooms which is a real shame. There needs to be more choice on the AI cocktails, only four choices which was very dissapointing especially for me as I don't drink spirits and look forward to a nice cocktail on holiday most of which you had to pay for. There needs to be more entertainment, in the 11 nights we stayed only 3 nights of entertainment however the hotel are just finishing the upstairs of the restaurant which has a view to die for and will have another bar and music, wish we could have been there to see it. The grill bar should be free to AI as not everyone wants a sit down meal at lunch time and a light snack would be nice. In my view these are not complaints they are suggestions for imrpovemnts, this is a new hotel and they are growing and addressing some of the small issues.

Both my husband and I rate this the best holiday we have had to date, we enjoyed every second and will definately go back to Mauritius and definately stay at the Jalsa Beach resort. This hotel is for couples looking for a relaxing romantic holiday and who will be spoilt rotten by all at the Jalsa.

Thank you especially to Richard and the bar staff for making our 27th Wedding Anniversay a memorable one.

Susanna & Abraham

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mauritius27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    289
    94
    35
    35
See reviews for
129
544
21
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

We booked the hotel in January 2010, then we read some negative comments on the Jalsa Beach Hotel site and started to got worried a lot... We were even thinking about changing the hotel.
Luckily we didn't do it and we spent two fantastic weeks in JALSA BEACH HOTEL & SPA !
It is a new hotel and the problems we read about had been solved before we arrived there.
The service, the food, the friendly and professional staff - everything was just perfect!
The setting of the hotel is fantastic: it's located in a very quiet spot, close to the beach with a swimming pool and a beautiful view across the bay.
If we ever go back to Mauritius, JALSA BEACH HOTEL will be the place we want to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myszkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

Disco's, Lots of entertainment, Raves, All Night parties..... this place does not have then, stay away! On a serious side, this is one of the best holidays both myself and I have ever had. (check out our world map and you'll see that we have visited a few countries).
Jalsa Beach still has a way to go to be classed as a 4 star hotel food wise, however the hotel is nearly there.
We stayed at the hotel for 10 nights, All inclusive and booked with Mercury Direct. travelled from Birmingham via Paris with Airfrance. (not the best service on a flight I have been on).
We arrived at 8am had a full breakfast and was taken to our room. the room was large and very comfortable.
We met the manager (Richard) who said the hotel was only a few months old and they were still having a few problems, however, if we needed any help that we should pick up the phone and he would sort out any problems.
We didn't need to contact Richard other than to make some suggestions regarding the food and the serving temperatures. He did offer to help with our travel arrangements due to the volcano ash problem, we were quite willing to stay on at the hotel for a few days. this was not required as our flights where confirmed for our return flight just a day after the 'all clear was given'..... shame.
I would just like to add, we booked this hotel in January 2010, we were very worried at all the early negative reviews on tripadvisor even to the point of calling mercury direct, with regards changing the hotel. I feel sure we would have made a mistake to change and can only thank our lucky stars that we didn't change. One comment that most of the guests did acknowledge was the all inclusive package does finish at 10 pm .... TOO EARLY!
Jalsa Breach is a small very friendly hotel, quiet and very relaxing and I would love to return very soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolmh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

What an amazing place - if ever we have the opprtunity to go back to Mauritius this would be the place we will go JALSA BEACH HOTEL - the service the food the resort everything is just perfect - the staff is all professional and friendly and fall over their feet to be there for the visitors even the hotel management is always around and available to talk and offer assistance - I would definately rate the resort nothing less than a 5 star - Tim and team you guys are awesome you have a true paradise there and I have no doubt that your resort will only grow and be successful - you guys rock - we cannot wait to come back there - can assure you we will be back !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidimul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhos on sea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

Arrived at the hotel after a long flight, greeted at the entrance by the staff with cold face towels and shown into reception. offered a cool drink whilst they checked us in.
Room very spacious and clean, large bed good shower room which was always kept immaculate and a wonderful display of 2 white swans made from the towels surrounded by petals on the bed for our special anniversary. excellent views of the gardens and the beach.
Staff always helpful, especially in the bar which had entertainment at weekends. Restaurant staff always eager to please and very friendly.
Hotel newly opened but apart from a few minor problems which I an sure will be ironed out it was a great holiday. The boat trip island hopping for a day which we arranged from the boat house on the beach was fantastic and excellent value for money.
We met up with Paul and Carol. Di and Gordon and briefly Andrew and Sue and spent many evenings over drinks discussing the days events.
All in all a great holiday and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhosOnSeaCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

We have just returned from a 3 week holiday at the Jalsa Beach Hotel and can only say we had a fantastic holiday.It was my wife;s 60th birthday on the day we arrived and the Management and staff made it such a special day with a lovely birthday cake presented at the evening meal.
Kamal who welcomed us in Reception was quick in getting us registered and suggested we went for lunch while our bags were taken to our room.The room was on the top floor with a great sea view - a lovely balcony with table and 2 chairs.We felt it was worth paying the supplement for the sea view room as it was delightful watching the sunset .
Our room was kept spotless by Artee our house keeper and everyday we had thick,soft towels.The shower was probably one of the best we have had whilst holidaying abroad.
The bed was massive and really comfortable so the room ticked all the correct boxes.
I could go on but i would only be covering the same ground as The Riddlers,midlands paulandcarol and Gordon and Di reviews who i must say i agree with the comments made.Sadly we didn't have the pleasure of meeting Don(theRiddler) but Paul,Carol,Gordon and Di were people very much like ourselves who were just after a good relaxing holiday.
All the staff were friendly,efficient and ready to have a laugh especially if you supported Liverpool!! .A special mention must go to Alvin who was always asking what drinks were required when we were relaxing on our sunbeds - we felt really spoilt!.
Having been to Mauritius on 4 previous occasions we would certainly return to this Hotel - it can only get better with Richard the Operations Manager overseeing things.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew1Poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

We have just returned from 2 weeks at "Jalsa Beach". We had a great time, so hi to everybody we met. Hotel in fantastic position with incredible views.
Bedroom excellent and always very clean. Size of the hotel is conducive to a friendly and sociable atmosphere. Staff always wanting to please and so very polite. Food well cooked but a little more choice would have been appreciated. All in all a very enjoyable holiday.
We must recommend Neil who took us out on a tour of the island in his car at a very reasonable price. He is based outside the hotel. We had a fabulous day with Neil making it so interesting and we saw so much. A special thank you to the boys in the Rum point bar for making us such excellent Gin and tonics every evening.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordon88green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poste Lafayette
15.5 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#4 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
10.8 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
14.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
15.8 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,894 reviews
0.6 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius

Property: Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius 41519
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the gentle shores of the Indian Ocean, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa overlooks a turquoise lagoon with stunning mountain scenery. Found along the North East coast of the tropical island of Mauritius, at Poste Lafayette, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is the perfect choice for those looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalsa Beach Hotel And Spa - Mauritius
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius Poste Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing