We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Jalsa beach is a 4* hotel with 5* service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Jalsa beach is a 4* hotel with 5* service.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hi Mr Richard (as we got to know you through your excellent team) here is your feedback from Nick, Sandie, Mike and Carol.

Where do we start with this eventful and fantastic holiday? Well let’s get to the crunch before we go through the detail. The 4 of us have had holidays and cruises all over the world and the welcome and service we had from this gem of a hotel was second to none. I would also like to extend this to Mauritius in general.

We arrived to a warm welcome with a nice cold drink and towels, a quick overview of the hotel and all-inclusive package, signed in and were taken to our rooms, a great start. Thanks to Sindy, Ketsia and the team on the front resection.

The rooms were large, clean and well laid out with a nice bathroom, good shower and great views. Big thanks to Artee for keeping the rooms clean and tidy and smelling nice all holiday.
Richard - would be nice to have a few more TV channels for the British.

The restaurant is an area where most people are critical, but I would like to thank the chef and his team for always being on hand to take you through the meals and discuss what was available and if you wanted something different they were there to help. We asked for chips one day and they arrived and chef what a great prawn curry you cooked for us. There was always a good choice to select from for all meals, nice BBQ. Chef thanks for the race card and tips (if anyone wants a good day out try a day at the races as everyone in Mauritius knows a Jockey). Thanks to Manisha, Manish, Nandanee, Aadil, Bhiresh and the backroom team.
Richard – The Brits do like their food warmer and the outside cooking station could be utilised more.

The beach is small but nice (can go for short walks), the pool and bar area is well maintained with sun beds always available and a clean pool. This was a nice quiet area to relax, read or sleep. The staff around this area were attentive and always ready for a chat if, and when you wanted and best of all kept your glass full, a great bunch of guys.

The eventful part of our holiday when Richard and Sindy went beyond the call of duty.
Mike and I went for a long walk out in the water through the seaweed not wearing our sea shoes (please do) and Mike stood on something in the water, this was very painful. Mike went to reception and they sent for a taxi to take him to Hospital, Neil Hurday arrived (Taxi driver from the front of the hotel) and took us to the hospital, parked is cab told us where go and stayed with us to fast track us through the system. Within 40 minutes after 6 injections and having his foot cleaned and bandaged Mike was in a private room and best of all the Hospital was completely free. Big thanks to Neil who went to see Mike the next morning in his own time.

Mike had to go back to the Hospital on two more occasions, Richard and Sindy took us in the hotel car, stayed with us and brought us back, thank you.

The best review I can give is to say a big Thank You to Richard and his team and hope to see you again one day.

Room Tip: High floor rooms sea facing have great views, numbers above 310 are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 117NickM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Nick, Sandie, Mike & Carol,

Firstly my apology for the lateness of this response. To be honest I have read your review several times and have found myself to be at a loss for words. When you meet guests and become friends through experiences shared the typing of a response on a computer seems to be lacking that personal touch which your review well deserves. I can but only hope that I will have the privilege to meet members of your group again in the years to follow.

Your review has been shared with all the members of our Team and I thank you for all the names mentioned. As you well know the Team at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is unique and as a relatively small hotel we have the privilege to get to know our guests on a more personal level (even when they do not need medical attention). The Team will always try to meet individual needs and the management will always remain at the disposal of our guests.

Your feedback which we have discussed during your visit has been noted and received attention from the various department heads. I will not go into these matters further as I believe we are on the same page regarding this.

Most importantly I want to thank you for having chosen Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa to share your holiday with and I am very pleased that it was memorable holiday for both you and our Team.

I wish you a wonderful end to 2013 and hope to meet again soon.

Thank you from the entire Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    289
    94
    35
    35
See reviews for
129
546
21
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel was perfect in terms of location and the service provided. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday away from the hustle and bustle of a city then you should stay here as it is a resort that has the perfect private beach and good quality service from the hotel staff and well furnished rooms. I would definitely recommend this hotel and the price is reasonable especially if you go all inclusive as it has a good selection of food available on offer everyday.

At the beach there was also a good variety of water sport activities such as kayaking, pedal boats and the option to go snorkelling (at extra cost). It was good to have this facility and the guys in the boat house were great.

The only opportunities to improve the service would be to have more selection of tv channels (in particular some english film channels) and maybe a wide screen tv in the bar to watch football matches would be useful. A pool table or another activity such as a table tennis area would just help to do something different in the evenings. A full length mirror in the room would have helped the wife to decide for herself which shoes match her outfit. Finally although there was an option to pay extra for sea food selection it would have been nice to see more of it on the buffet i.e. include the offer of prawns, calamari, crabs etc.

I don't often write reviews but on this occasion i thought that the resort warranted the good review it deserves, thanks to all staff at the jalsa beach for making this a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mistry1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Mistry 1707,

On behalf of the entire Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa Team I thank you for your positive feedback. It’s a wonderful compliment that your experience at the hotel ‘warranted’ a review. The reviews we receive are read by all Team Members and serves as a great reward for the dedication shown by all Team Members.

We thank you for recommending the hotel and for the compliments given. I absolutely agree with your comments in that the hotel offers a relaxing environment away from the ‘hustle and bustle’ with all-round good services and facilities. Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa has become known for this accompanied with our trademark personal service.

Your recommendations have been noted and have provided ‘food for thought’. Small changes which can make a big difference. Your comments will lead to results this I can assure you.

Finally we send you our best wishes and hope to welcome you again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a 33 hour journey and out of our party 3/5 bags being lost and left in Dubai. We were all tired and extremely annoyed we had no luggage. The hotel reception staff were very welcoming, check in was quick and easy and drinks were brought to us whilst the check in process was being dealt with. Once the hotel were made aware of the issue with our luggage being lost, they were fantastic and did everything they could to help us chase it.

The rooms were fantastic, make sure if you can you upgrade your room to the ocean view, amazing. Fresh bottled water in the room every day, fridge, air con and safe also in the room. The room was cleaned every day to a very high standard.

The pool area was clean, although when getting in the pool initially was flipping freezing!! Lots of choice of where the sun beds were, some facing the pool and others facing the beach.

We went on this holiday to celebrate a birthday within our party. Ages from 23-51. The hotel staff were informed that it was a special birthday and they were all fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, they went to such a lot of effort on her actual birthday and made a real fuss of her, was fantastic!

Food was good. Buffet style, wide variety of choice. Different menu each night. Dress code applies for the restaurant at night, however some people thought it was acceptable to wear hoodies??!!
All inclusive drink menu was open 10-10, having a young party would have been nicer if the bar didn't close at 10pm (it was open past that-but you had to pay)

Having free WIFI around the pool area and in reception was fantastic!!

Staff were incredibly attentive, always smiling, welcoming and nothing was a problem. Management of the hotel were outstanding, introduced themselves to us, new which rooms we were in, asked if everything was ok, really couldn't fault the staff or management.

There was minimal entertainment, think it was every other night. All very good though.

The hotel it's self was clean and kept to a good condition, staff were fantastic, food and drink was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Hannah055,

The entire Team of Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa would like to thank you for your positive and detailed review. Your wonderful feedback has been shared with all the Team Members. We are pleased to have been part of a memorable holiday experience and that we were able to exceed your expectations.

It is never a pleasant experience when ones luggage has been misplaced while travelling. We are pleased to read that our Front Office could provide assistance in this matter…the pleasure was ours. Furthermore your feedback on the cleanliness of the rooms and hotel grounds serve as a wonderful compliment to the dedicated Team Members with these responsibilities.

During your visit Mauritius did experience a colder period but I can assure you that the pool water is only getting warmer from this point on as the summer weather moves in.

Your feedback on the Food & Beverage and associated services is much appreciated and we much enjoyed the celebrations with your group as well. It is always wonderful to have a group of guests with such a positive attitude to life.

We would like to wish you a wonderful year further and hope that we will have the privilege to welcome you back soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Resort with personal beach. Awsm experience with relaxing and natural beauty, indian food served with all varity.rooms are very specious.water sports with trainer.spa for couples.overall very nice one for newly married couple.thank u jalsa for making my honeymoon so spl and memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shilpa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Shilpa C,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback and wonderful review. 'Short & Sweet' as the expression goes with so many compliments in so few words. Furthermore we thank you for having selected Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa as your holiday destination of choice and for recommending the hotel to potential travelers.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed all the services on offer such as the boathouse, rooms and menus. We are pleased that we have been a part of a memorable holiday experience.

Most importantly we again congratulate you both and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILTSHIRE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived at the Jalsa on the 15th of September and literally from entering reception the feeling of 'Calm and a very 'Warm welcome was experienced!
Our room, 318, was fantastic... spotless!......and with antastic views over the gardens to the Ocean!
Everthing about this Hotel excels in so many ways and the Team's kind generous nature is usually unheard of these days in Hotels across the World!
To mention a few.. Sindy (Sara..our joke!) and the ladies in reception...Mimisha (Head Restaurant Waitress) her Team... the Chefs...and the Boys in the Pool Bar!
Plus not forgetting the the lovely housekeeping Lady who kept our room spotless everday!
Also...thanks 'Sam' at the 'Boathouse' thanks for your advice and great 'kayak experiences!
Every Guest that we spoke to on a daily basis sang the praises of little Gem in Mauritius!
Finally thank you Richard...You obviously have a passion for creating the best....
Dont't worry..IT'S WORKING!
Thank you all for the 'Best Holiday in a long time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LES M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Les M,

Firstly on behalf of the entire Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa Team I thank you for your positive feedback. As always your review has been shared with our Team Members including all the members’ whom you have mentioned. Being a well travelled guest your positive comments serves as a great reward for our dedicated Team.

As we met in person during your visit I do not wish to repeat myself too much in this reply. Certainly the ‘kind generous nature’ of our Team adds great value to the product. In addition to this most of our guests have researched their destination well and ensured that Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa offers exactly what they are looking for. Through this we are able to meet the individual needs of our guest which in turn creates a very positive environment. I do like your reference to ‘Gem in Mauritius’ very much!

From me and the Team it was an absolute pleasure to meet you both.

Our best wishes and hope to welcome you again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had make my trip package here which clearly stated sea facing room,but were given garden facing room on ground floor.Even view here was obstructed by pool side restaurant,change rooms etc.room layout was absolutely haphazard.No dressing table in the room.
Breakfast spread was good,but dinner menu not even one star rating.on third night dinner was served on pool side and it was worst.ice cold items without heat and appeared tasteless and stale.
Never seen such food at a four star category resort worldwide.
In general property is good,with good white sandy beach in the backyard and a good swimming pool.Lobby is small and not inviting.In short one can have better options at same prices.NOT RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Virendrakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Virendrakr,

We thank you for your feedback. The Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa Team has a passion for ensuring that all our guest expectations are met and that all guests leave the hotel with fond memories. When this is not the case we are deeply disappointed and have to assess how such matters can be dealt with more effectively. Following your feedback I again wish to inform all potential travellers to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa that the management always remains at the disposal of our guest and willing to assist in any matter.

With regards to the room and view - Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa offers 4 room categories of which the Deluxe & Standard Rooms are widely advertised. The key difference is the view. Standard Rooms have no sea view. From your review I cannot ascertain the booking reference, date of stay or room number. It is regrettable that we did not meet regarding this matter during your visit. It would have been very easily resolved.

Your feedback on the menus has been noted by our Food & Beverage department. I am somewhat surprised as we normally receive very positive feedback on these. This can be seen in an abundance of reviews below. The Food & Beverage department caters for a number of different nationalities and always ensures that there is something to the taste of all guests. Most travellers wish to experience different flavours and tastes when travelling abroad and our menus offer a fusion of Mauritian and International flavours. Should a guest have specific dietary needs than the Chef will be eager to assist. A management member is always on hand during meal times should any guest need assistance furthermore.

On the positive side we are pleased that you were happy with the hotel grounds and beach. It is regrettable that we did not meet all your expectations but be assured that your feedback will be given the utmost attention.

Most importantly we wish you a wonderful year further.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Accommodation - amazing
This is a beautiful hotel which is absolutely spotless throughout, featuring a super clean pool, tidy innovative gardens and white sandy raked beach

Food - outstanding
The chefs produce meals of the highest standard and quality. There is a good variety, catering for the fussy eater with buffet style meals with potatoes, rice, grilled meats, salads, soup, vegetable dishes to the food conciser with gourmet dishes from around the world created each night by an outdoor al a carte chef . This is followed by an astonishing array of wonderful desserts.
Breakfast and lunch are superb with cereal, pastries, fresh fruit, eggs, bacon/ pizza, gourmet burgers, baguettes just a sample. If you have any requests they will happily accommodate you
and if you are out for the day they will prepare you a packed lunch.

Service - two words - World Class


This is a very friendly hotel, staff have a 10 star attitude without the corporate chain feel.It is nice and quiet and located on a beautiful lagoon.

There are trips available and taxis which are excellent for the odd outing however if you are planning to sightsee quite a bit I would recommend hiring a car and this comes out considerable cheaper overall. The driving is on the left an although it is a bit slow going well signposted.
We used local firm Maxi car hire who were very efficient and delivered and collected the car from the hotel and were half the cost of Hertz and Avis.

There is good snorkelling right from Trou Aux Biches beach which is about 35 min drive, with good variety of fish and blue bay has an abundance of coral. The hotel will also organise any boat trips you want and you can use their kayaks and pedalows.

If you like mountain biking you can hire bikes from the hotel, turn left out of the hotel and go along the round until you see a right turn to Bra d Eau visitor centre, just up here there is a wooded area you can bike around.

Room Tip: We were extremely fortunate to have a room on the top floor with a sea view and balcony, but all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lucyred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Lucyred1,

On behalf of the Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa Team I thank you for your wonderful review and positive feedback. This serves as a great reward for all our Team members. I also thank you for having chosen Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa as your holiday destination and for recommending the hotel to potential travelers.

Your feedback regarding the cleanliness of the hotel grounds, rooms and beach is much appreciated. Especially by those Team Members who do not work at the forefront but remain committed in providing a spotless environment for all our guests.

Furthermore your feedback on the menus on offer is also much appreciated. Our dedicated Food & Beverage Team has a challenging task in catering menus to meet the needs of multiple dietary requirements. As always the offer to prepare something special for any guest upon request and within reason remains.

'10 Star service' & 'World Class'...wonderful compliments to a wonderful Team. The Team has been together for several years and we have bonded like family. With a relatively small hotel of 66 rooms we like to include our guests as part of that family. Sincere smiles and service.

Often guests write that they feel the hotel is isolated which surprises me. Your feedback supports my thoughts and I was delighted to read that you have explored many of the wonderful attractions within close proximity to the hotel.

Lastly I wish you a wonderful year further and hope to welcome you again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poste Lafayette
15.5 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
10.8 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
14.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
15.8 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,927 reviews
0.6 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius

Property: Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius 41519
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the gentle shores of the Indian Ocean, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa overlooks a turquoise lagoon with stunning mountain scenery. Found along the North East coast of the tropical island of Mauritius, at Poste Lafayette, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is the perfect choice for those looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalsa Beach Hotel And Spa - Mauritius
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius Poste Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing