We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful friendly hotel,on a friendly island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“wonderful friendly hotel,on a friendly island”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We chose Jalsa Beach for its location and size,it's situated on the quieter part of the island,with a fair bus service into Flacq ,well worth the experience alone if you can remember the end of 'the italian job' and the coach trip around the bends,this sums up the bus run into town!
The hotel has a small beach,but when we were there nobody used it as its only a few feet from the pool and grounds of the hotel,the beach slopes very gently and you can walk across the bay to the adjacent hotel roughly 500yds away without the sea covering your chest.Free use of pedalos and canoes make it safe for children and life jackets are compulsory.
The hotel is typical for Indian/African design with lots of dark wooden furniture and rendered walls but all in good condition,our room was large with excellent sea views although its best to ask for an upper floor room if an uninterrupted sea view is a priority,ground floor rooms do have a sea view but may be slightly obscured by waving palm trees(what a tragedy!).The staff were very very helpful and genuinely seemed to enjoy being there and making you feel at ease.
We found the food to be fresh and well cooked and if you didnt see anything on the menu that appealed to you the chefs would cook to your requirements,as we were all inclusive (the only way to go) virtually everything on the menu was included with only branded drinks being extra.
Some other guests complained about the range of food,being mostly Indian,local or creole based but please do your research as it does state this when you look on the web,but we found alternatives if thats what you wanted.
Entertainment seemed to be every other night with low key background musicians,which we found good as you could still eat and here each other talking,A disco on Friday night but only until 11pm-please note all inclusive drinks are only served until 10pm after which you have to pay,but the bar staff do tell you a few minutes before ten allowing you get some drinks in if you wish.Pushbikes are available to rent from reception,which we did and really enjoyed the experience as the locals drive very slowly(unlike the buses) and the roads are excellent,there are many coves and public beaches a few minutes from the Hotel in both directions all are immaculate and many have changing rooms and showers provided free,you do not get hassled from hawkers and although taxis are parked outside the grounds of the hotel we were never pressured by them in fact we used them quite a lot,its expected that you barter a price,we had a full days trip to the north of the island for 2800 Rupees,and a longer trip to the south for 3200 Rupees,the drivers are very knowledgeable and are very proud of their island and will take you places you would probably miss if you hired a car as the road signs are a bit rare!!
We watched a local fisherman cleaning his catch and his customer invited us to lunch with him on the beach the next day but unfortunately we were leaving to come home.
To sum up, a clean friendly hotel and staff in a quiet location,with fair facilities and a small beach area,remember,this is a four star hotel so some people may be disappointed with its location etc; but for the price its unbeatable.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have a view over the sea ,pool and grounds,the A/C units are noisy but we slept wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jayneandmike60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Jayneandmike60,

The Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa Team thank you for such a wonderful review and positive feedback. I am sure that by now my response might sound like a broken record but your review really has been shared with all members of the Team. After all; it is the hard work of all our Team Members which make such positive reviews possible.

Your review coming from an experienced Tripadvisor contributor with 8 hotel reviews speaks volumes for Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa and we thank you for that.

Your reference to 'The Italian Job' has left a smile on my face. Our Team travels on that road daily (myself included) and yes the road does wind about just 'a little'. Build in a time when perhaps the pleasure was in the journey and not the pace of reaching the destination. Glad you enjoyed it!

Your feedback on the pool area is well appreciated. The pool side setting with Rum Point Bar does offer an area of total relaxation with cocktails on order. You are correct in stating that most guests prefer this setting to the actual beach itself. Furthermore we are pleased to read your compliments on the All Inclusive package on offer with regards to both the food and beverages. As you correctly stated the value Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa offers is phenomenal.

It was a pleasure to have had you visit Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa and we thank you for having chosen the hotel as your holiday destination.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    301
    96
    36
    36
See reviews for
137
556
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We've just returned from two weeks at Jalsa Beach and Spa Resort. We had an
executive room on top floor with two balconies, one was huge with fantastic
views and the other one was more sheltered and had a view of the gardens. The
views from this hotel are absolutely stunning. We couldn't have been look after
better, the staff are truly amazing, soo friendly and nothing is too much
trouble. A lot of honeymooners come here and it is quiet so if you like a lot of
entertainment its not for you. they have music at the bar in the evenings and
once a week there is a cocktail evening with local mauritian dancers and a disco
once a week. The hotel has one very small shop but there are no other shops in
the vicinity but a local bus will take you to the nearest town and is very
cheap.

There are a lot of gorgeous types of Indian food in the buffet plus a few other
dishes but the chef will cook you anything you want at no extra cost. We had
fillet steak, spaghetti carbonara, moussaka, lobster etc, specially cooked for
us and as long as you let the staff know during the day that you would like
something different they will cook it for you that evening. They only want to
please you and make sure you have a great holiday. They had an offer on in the
spa for two aromatherapy full body massages (very nice and relaxing) for about
£39 total for the two. The beach is quite a small cove of white sand and most
days we were the only two people on it as a lot of the Indian guests like to go
out for the day and come back late afternoon and relax near the pool area. There
is a grass area with lots of comfy loungers and there are always spare ones so
no need to put your towels on! The sea lagoon is very shallow so impossible for
swimming but nice to cool off and paddle. The pool is great but needs to be
heated at this time of year. Some days when not too breezy they served lunch by
the pool and at the front of the beach area. The all inclusive bar closes at 10
o clock but we had enough drinks to last us for later!!


Weather lovely at this time of year, constant breeze and sunshine but not humid
and not too hot, average about 24 degrees. We hired a car for two days for
around £40 a day, well worth doing, they drive on same side as UK and the roads
are good. We explored the south and north of the island and saw all the great
sites. We went in a submarine at about 100 feet deep which is quite expensive
but well worth it to see a wreck and the lovely fish. The best thing we did was
a trip over to the absolutely beautiful island of Il aux Cerfs. This is a must,
we had a very good package costing approx £30 each which included the trip over
there by speedboat which was exciting, a snorkelling trip to the reef for about
an hour in a glass bottom boat which just waits for you or you can just have the
boat trip without snorkelling if you wish to. We then were taken to a beautiful
waterfall followed by a nice lunch of fresh fish and chicken etc with as much
beer, rum and soft drinks as you like, also fruit to follow. We then relaxed on
the island until the last boat back at 5pm. The island only takes about 10 - 15
mins to get there and you can just go to the island without any lunch, waterfall
viewing or snorkelling which costs about £8.

There are good taxis at the front of the hotel and the drivers are superb. If
you don't want to hire a car and drive around the island the taxi driver will
take you on excursions and wait for you. A lot of our English friends at the
hotel did this and said it was excellent, of course it is more expensive than
hiring a car but a good option.

This was a wonderful holiday and were recommend it. WELL DONE JALSA BEACH AND
THANKS TO ALL THE STAFF FOR MAKING OUR STAY SO ENJOYABLE.

A.Heather

Room Tip: For the best view choose the top floor (there is only ground, middle and upper floor.) We had room 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Angela H,

The Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa Team would like to thank you for such a wonderful review and positive feedback. You can be assured that your review has been shared with all the Team Members whom you met during your visit. Reviews like this serves as a great reward for the commitment the Team shows each and every day.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the spectacular views from the Executive Room. Mauritius offers incredible beauty and Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is blessed with one of the most beautiful coastlines around the island.

We are also delighted to read that you have enjoyed the menus on offer and that the Team was able to provide you with something extra to taste. Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa will always strive to meet the individual needs of our guests. We are always pushing the margin further with a sense of excitement about every new item we produce. A lot of passion in our kitchen...

Most importantly we thank you for the wonderful feedback on the service provided by our Team Members. It is what Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is known for.

We thank you for having chosen Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa as your holiday destination of choice and for becoming part of our family.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Jalsa beach Resort in Jul,12 for 6 nights. This resort is situated in the eastern coast of Mauritius. It is quite far from the main city area - like any other hotels/resorts around the beach area. They claim to have a beach of their own - but one cannot call it a beach. It is an extension of the sea around which the hotel is situated on one side and other side to be the main sea. There is not much to do at this resort apart from boating and swimming. The pool is decent and the bar attached the pool has some drinks to offer but is expensive compared to the cost outside. There are multiple places to visit in Mauritius and better plan for car before than deciding to go out to any place as you might face problems in taking the bus route - which is not frequent. Since we went through travel agent, all our trips were pre-planned and hence we did not face this issue. The buffet section in the restaurant has good varieties and one may not have issues with the food. The staffs are slightly sluggish in nature and not open to support guests much with their needs - management needs to look into this and better the service - especially with behaviors. Overall, nice stay. Choose for the rooms closer to the pool side as you might get the free internet connectivity sitting in your balcony since at the pool side bar this service can be availed by all guests. Do try the scuba diving which is available from the hotel through external agency ( from Pady ) at extra charge. It is worth trying. Of course bargain or they will take you for a ride !It has a glass boat but more than often the boat is non-functional. Pleasant stay overall and enjoyed the stay as well .

Room Tip: Choose rooms closer to the pool side on first floor - to enjoy the better view of the sea and also t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dev17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Dev17,

On behalf of the Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa Team I would like to thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to read many of your positive comments but have also taken note of the matters which was a concern to you during your visit. These matters will be looked into further. I am however very pleased that, as an experienced Tripadvisor contributor, you rated your holiday experience at 4 out of 5.

We thank you for having chosen Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa as your holiday destination and hope to welcome you again soon.

Best wishes and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirunelveli, India
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

i am saravanan from india i stayed in this hotel may 4th to may 10th in restaurant i asked finger bowl they cnt serve i asked drinking water they cnt serve in restaurant no shower cap in room no bath soap in bathroom complimantry bfast no variety of food when we check out no bell boy we carry our lockage to van worst service i asked morng bottle water 7.30 morng they told after 8am only get bottle water i suffered so much
my id saravanan_barani@hotmail.com

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saravanan_barani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Saravanan_barani,

Your review has been read by the Management of Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa and we have investigated the matters raised further to that. Having responded to many reviews and having been a part of the Management Team for several years I feel the need to stand firm in our response.

In cases like this I believe that Tripadvisor as a review platform fails the hotel and potential travellers to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa. In other words; I feel the review is not a fair reflection. 'Running' down this very page and the pages before it is clear that the review is in stark contrast to the views of other traveller's to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa.

Tripavisor hopes to receive feedback on areas such as Value, Location, Sleep Quality, Rooms, Cleanliness and Service. This serves a useful tool to all potential travellers. Further feedback on these matters would have been appreciated.

I understand your frustration for wanting more amenities available to you. However, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa definitely provides all our guests with room amenities in accordance to the hotel package selected. Amenities are replaced daily and this definitely includes water and soap.

Having read your review several times I can only think that perhaps there was a communication problem. If this was indeed the case then I sincerely apologise for that.

Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa will continue to provide excellent service and the management remains at the disposal of any guest.

We send you our best wishes for the year ahead and hope that we have a another opportunity to change your view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to come to
Mauritius for our holiday and were so impressed with the customer service here at Jalsa. Every part of the experience excelled itself, the staff could not have made the experience any better. The bar staff were so friendly and helpful as well as knowledgeable. Throughout the whole trip we were treated like royality and I couldn't fault anything at all. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody and particular mention has to go to Richard the general manager who made sure our stay was perfect. We even got upgraded to the suite, which made the holiday even more magical. This is an excellent hotel and having stayed in many hotels, Jalsa know how to treat their customers and make the holiday worthwhile.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteEd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear CharlotteEd87,

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review and positive feedback. You can be assured that your review has been shared will all our Team members. Your words serves as a great inspiration for the dedication and passion our Team brings to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa. In fact your review has left me without to words to add as you have said it all. Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is all about our guests whom we invite and include as family.

I hope that we will have the privilege to welcome you again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We went there for our Honeymoon and I think it was quite a good choice. Serene and Peaceful..!! Spacious rooms. Pretty good facilities but the pool table was broken and we could not use it. It seems to have been lying like that from a long long time. Breakfast and DInner options were good. Unfortunetely, our complementary dinner was not provided unless we asked for it. Apart from minor hitches like this, I think it was a pretty good place to visit and relax especially after a hectic wedding schedule..!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool/beach would be better than the ones very close to the reception area..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Souj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Souj,

On behalf of the Team I would like to thank you for your wonderful review and for having selected Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa as your honeymoon destination.

It was some ago that you visited us; however your feedback is much appreciated. Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is indeed a wonderful place to relax. The setting is one of the best 'mother nature' has on offer and the hotel serves as a great escape from the everyday run around.

Most importantly we again congratulate you on the bond you have created and hope to welcome you back soon to share in one of your many wedding anniversaries to follow.

Best wishes and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Staff at this resort is very friendly. Stay is very relaxing and satisfying.
Rooms have a balcony/sitting area overlooking pool/garden. Deluxe rooms have balcony overlooking sea(MUR 500 extra).
Buffet dinner included with the stay is delicious and contains lots of Indian delicacies. If you are vegetarian or can't live without Indian food, you'll relish this! The musicians who perform at the restaurant during dinner are very entertaining.
Resort includes a private beach and provides activities like kayaking, pedal boating, snorkeling free of cost but have to pay for activities like scuba diving and double seater tube.
I would recommend this resort for a very relaxing and satisfying stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anup2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Anup2001,

The entire Team at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa wish to thank you for your positive feedback. It serves as great reward to the Team.

We appreciate your feedback on having had a relaxing holiday with great service. With only 66 rooms set in the natural beauty of Mauritius we pride ourselves on offering total relaxation and tranquilly. Personal service with an attention to detail is the 'cherry on top'.

We are especially pleased to read your feedback on our vegetarian selection at meal times. We cater for a number of different dietary needs and have recently improved our selection. Your feedback tells us that we are heading in the right direction.

Thank you for recommending Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa as your holiday destination of choice and if I recommend you returning soon for some more relaxation.

Best wishes and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poste Lafayette
10.8 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
489 reviews
15.2 mi away
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Casuarina Resort & Spa
#4 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
1,260 reviews
14.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,378 reviews
11.6 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,548 reviews
7.2 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius

Property: Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius 41519
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the gentle shores of the Indian Ocean, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa overlooks a turquoise lagoon with stunning mountain scenery. Found along the North East coast of the tropical island of Mauritius, at Poste Lafayette, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is the perfect choice for those looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalsa Beach Hotel And Spa - Mauritius
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius Poste Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing