We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place for Indian travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at this property for a week and had a very nice experience. The room was very spacious and house keeping was up to the mark. The staff here are very courteous and friendly.

The restaurant here is just good. They serve Indian cuisine which is actually a blend of Indian and Mauritian cuisine. But we could easily manage the food for a week without any problem.

We had some problems with AC of our room and the staff at reception helped us to shift the room. But the maintenance people were saying that the AC is working fine even when I was sweating. They din't even have a thermometer to cross verify that the AC is working fine.

We rented bicycles from the hotel to explore the near by nature. I was truly amazed by the nature's beauty in and around the resort. Anybody staying in this hotel I would advise them to go around and explore. The bicycles are not maintained properly. The chain of the bicycle which I got used to slip when going uphill. Also a lock was not provided with the cycle as staff at reception had misplaced the keys and they couldn't find the keys when I took the bicycle for rent. So I felt that the amount which I paid as rent was not worth.

The pool area and the water sports on the private beach are kept very tidy. Unfortunately we couldn't try out the water sports because of bad weather. The garden of the hotel is also maintained very neatly.

Overall I had a very nice stay at this resort and would strongly suggest to any Indians who are travelling to Mauritius.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Rohith H,

The management and staff thank you for positive feedback. You can be assured that your review has been shared with all the Team members of Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you have appreciated the spacious rooms and the attention to detail by our Housekeeping department. Often the dedication of the Housekeeping members goes unnoticed as the cleaning procedures take place when guests are not in the room.

Furthermore we are pleased to read that you have complimented the menus on offer. You are correct in your assessment that we serve a fusion of Indian and Mauritian cuisine as part of our buffet. This provides a taste experience for our guest which is after all part of the excitement of travelling to different destinations in the world.

Your recommendation for guests to make use of the opportunity to explore the local surroundings on bicycle serves as great advice. The natural beauty surrounding the hotel should not be missed!

Lastly we thank you for having made Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa a part of your holiday experience and we hope to welcome you again!

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
There are newer reviews for Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 825 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

I spent my honeymoon last year here, nice stay, prefer to take super deluxe rooms on 1st floors near pool side, Good variety of Indian foods comparing other resorts. Many Indian honeymooners come & stay over here. But very far away from city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AM5597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear AM5597,

The management and staff thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased to have been part of a memorable holiday experience.

As per your review Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa offers a peaceful environment which is well suited for honeymoon couples from all over the world. We also have wedding packages on offer and have celebrated two weddings on our beach in the first weeks of March 2013.

Your recommendation for an upgrade to a Deluxe room serves as great advice with the added value of a sea view which can be enjoyed while relaxing on the balcony/terrace with a beverage of choice.

Again congratulations, wishing you well and thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have literally just got home from a 9 night holiday at the Jalsa beach hotel and what a hotel it is. On arrival our bags were taken up to our room and a hot towel followed by a fresh fruit juice drink was gladly received whilst checking in. We were then shown to our room an executive room with roof terrace over looking the swimming pool and beautiful views over the secluded cove. The room had a modern twist with a glass screen from the bedroom through to the shower room which is a little daunting at first but you soon get used to it. The room was cleaned daily. Fresh towels, tea, coffee and water were also replenished each day.
The restaurant has a varst variety of choice for the buffet breakfast and dinner with a menu to select from for your lunch. If by any chance you dont see anything that takes your fancy the waiters and waitresses will soon arrange for the chef to cook anything to your requirement. The evening meal is a little more formal but not to strict just as long as trousers are worn and a long sleeve top or even a polo shirt was ok just no t-shirt the way it should be we thought.
The pool and bar area was a beautiful place to spend a lazy day in the sun with enough sun loungers to accommodate everyone whether you wanted to sit round the pool or look over the cove and watch the fishermen in the water. Drinks were brought to you once ordered from the bar so maybe it would have been nice if the barman had taken your order from your sun lounger. The pool was empty most of the time til round 5 o'clock when the Indian couples tended to arrive back from there executions.
The Hotel is located on the north east side of the island which means a fare travel to most places but there's no need to hire a car. The reception staff are a true gem to the hotel and will arrange for a taxi to take you anywhere you want and sort out all the prices for you they will even arrange for a picnic to take on your journey. The staff at the hotel make you feel so at home and will really do anything for you always checking you have everything and if there is anything they can do to make the stay even more special.
If you don't like being treated like royalty then this hotel is not for you, even if the weather turns wet there is still fun to be had using the on site spa which realise help you feel relaxed.
This is not a hotel to be missed you will not regret your stay.

Room Tip: Highly recommend upgrading to the top rooms over looking the cove it well worth the extra money
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Carl A,

Firstly I would like to apologise for the lateness of my reply. All reviews submitted to Tripadvisor are read thoroughly by the Team and such a wonderful review should have received my immediate attention.

Your feedback has been a joy to read and I have already complimented the Team on the excellent service given to you and for that matter to all our guests. Again I will state that a small hotel offers the benefit of service on a personal level and our operation is more like a family than a business.

We hope to have you visit us again and we thank you for having chosen Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa as your holiday destination.

Best wishes and thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here last year with my parents and 3 other siblings and we loved every minute of it. We all concluded it had been our best holiday ever. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The sea view from the pool area with the clear blue sea and white sand was just heaven. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Dee S,

A short and very sweet review. The management and staff thank you for your kind words and we are very pleased that we have made your visit to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa a memorable one.

Your review title reminds us that as staff members of Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa we need to step back at times to appreciate the absolute beauty Mother Nature has provided in and around the hotel - 'Heaven' as you said.

Wishing you and your family well.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Jalsa beach hotel and spa, overall we had a very relaxing stay.
We are used to allinclusive hotels having travelled to many destinations, this has to be the quitest hotel we have stayed at almost like having it all to yourselves.
99% of the the staff are very friendly making it a very pleasant experience, the only problems we encountered was a 100% Indian buffet but after a short friendly chat with a very approachable general manager "Richard" this was sorted with a european choice aswell, with the chef also willing to accomodate any special requests.
The beach is not the best we have seen , but is clean &regually swept of sea weed, the lagoon is ok for a swim but not the best for snorkling.
The hotel gardens are very pretty with and array of beautifull plants and numerous birds.
Our room was spacious with a huge bed and nice view , cleaned to a good standard daily.
Our package included local drinks with the wines being south african and ok which is more than can be said about most allinclusve hotels, the barman always being friendly with thanks to "Durhan"
Shame about the weather but thats just the way the dice rolls .
Please contact Richard with any problems on your holiday he will do the upmost to sort anything!
Shame the spa was too expensive .

Room Tip: sea view rooms nice , but all much the same
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LEE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear LEE C,

The management and staff thank you for your wonderful review. Be assured that it has been shared with all the management and staff members of Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa.

Having met in person on numerous occasions I have had the privileged to get to know you better. Reading the review which followed your visit at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa has therefore served as a great compliment to all the members of the team. Being a small hotel the management will always be available to our guests and we encourage that any guests call upon this offer should they wish to.

I am very pleased to read your compliments on the selection of beverages on our All Inclusive menu in comparison to other hotels. Your feedback on the dinner menus have also been noted and a special thank you has been given to the Chefs who tailor made some dishes as per your request.

Most importantly we feel very proud with the heading of your review, ‘Excellent Service’, this is what Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is all about!

We hope to have the privileged to welcome you again.

Best wishes and thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Me and my husband visited Mauritius for our honeymoon in May 2012. Jalsa beach resort is a good value of money. nice beach facing rooms with beautiful view
,Regarding room facilities cleanliness there was hardly anything to complain.
beach is good to walk and relax in the evening. Pool is very good and so is the "Rum Point" bar beside it.
The only minus point we felt was that, they did not ask for choice in special romantic dinner and served Indian food and they are not so good at Indian preparations. Please be specific before romantic dinner about your choice of food.
I must say this the Best place for couples.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nilam8880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Nilam8880,

From your review heading we certainly look forward to have you visit Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa again! The Team would like to thank you for your positive feedback and wonderful comments. We also thank you for having chosen Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa as your holiday destination and we are pleased to read that you have had a memorable stay with us.

Best wishes and until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Although this review comes in very late, i had visited the hotel in Oct 2010 with family( 5 month kid in tow).....The hotel ambience is nice along with quaint location awat from the hustle and bustle of the commercial location. explore town of Post de flaq and Lafayette to truly get a flaovour of the creole culture..
Overall the holiday was good as maurtius has lot to offer in terms of places to see, however the experience could have been a lot better if some of the pointers below could have been addressed.

Pros:
clean & spacious rooms, excellent buffet, nice swimming pool, private beach, scenic view, uncommercialised

Cons:
location is remote and far off from nightlife
Check in time is longer
some of the staff were not courtious....( hope things have changed for the better)
Dress code for lunch/ dinner was a downer ( not open to this idea as am on a holiday and not business meet/ gala event)-->

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RakeshNayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear RakeshNayak,

We thank you for your feedback. Your review has been read by the management and all team members. The management of Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa encourages all feedback from our guests which serves as a valuable tool for assessing our progress.

However, your review dates back to 2010 which is a very long time ago and not a fair reflection of the current services and facilities on offer by the hotel. Tripadvisor allows travellers to get an insight into the current status of hotel operations in order to make an educated holiday choice. A review from 2010 may be misleading.

Fortunately I am pleased to inform you that all the positives you have mentioned have remained the same (if not better). The services provided by our staff have become one of our strongest assets as is well noted in the reviews preceding this one. Room availability is respected according to standard industry times but the hotel will always do our best to provide a room as soon as possible depending on departures occurring on the same day. Finally, dress codes for both the restaurant and swimming pool are still in practice, this is done in accordance with the standard associated with Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa.

We take liberty in inviting you to visit Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa again in 2013. It will be pleasure to welcome you back!

Best wishes and thank you for having chosen Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa as your holiday choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poste Lafayette
10.8 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
504 reviews
15.2 mi away
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Casuarina Resort & Spa
#4 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
1,275 reviews
14.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,068 reviews
11.6 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,627 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius 41519
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Price Range: $119 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the gentle shores of the Indian Ocean, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa overlooks a turquoise lagoon with stunning mountain scenery. Found along the North East coast of the tropical island of Mauritius, at Poste Lafayette, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is the perfect choice for those looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalsa Beach Hotel And Spa Mauritius/Poste Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing