We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEAUTIFUL resort!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL resort!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Visited the place in April 2012 and stayed for 6 nights. Its a beautiful resort to be around.
They have a private beach with water sports activities as well as a nice Pool.
Rooms are beautifully done and the service is prompt. Cleanliness and Hygiene is at par with a 5*
Very quiet and peaceful place to be.

They have a store in the resort (mostly need to buy an adapter for chargers).

Restaurant is good, only buffets for breakfast and dinner. It has a wide spread.
vegetarians would get bored with the potatoes and bean all the time though.

Over all, a very very nice stay. Weather is April is very pleasant can get a little cooler in the evenings buy the beach side

Room Tip: Take the rooms facing the pool/ beach on the 3 floor with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nivedita_mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Nivedita_mumbai,

The management and staff thank you for your review and most wonderful feedback. It has been a long time since your visit with us and we appreciate you having made the time to provide the hotel team and future guests with your views on Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed and appreciated all the facilities and services we have on offer.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    286
    91
    35
    35
See reviews for
125
539
21
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lymington SO41 8PD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at Jalsa Beach

Upside
Pleasant hotel in a lovely natural setting, staff attentive and charming, great shower in room

Downside
Astonished we could not swim in sea, the lagoon is only about 3 foot deep, and virtually dries out at low tide. Hotel is literally miles from anywhere or anything, so had to go to the extra expense of hiring a car, just to get to a beach deep enough to swim in ! although hotel does have a pool, if that is all you want.
Food completely geared for Indian/Asian guests, who seem to make up 90%, virtually no interesting options for european guests, why do Virgin market this hotel to european clients ? after 2 weeks we felt completely let down and mislead on the food front - quite an important issue for a lovely holiday - you can only eat so many steamed vegetables or pasta tubes. (all buffet service for the 2 weeks we were there)
Booked a de luxe sea view room, and had a view of the pool house roof ! room 309.
No snorkelling from hotel, have to pay for a boat to take you out - lagoon too shallow
If you want a quiet holiday this is for you - there is literally nothing to do and hotel is miles from anything - if we had not rented a car we would have gone literally mad with boredom - we were in bed by 9.00pm every night, not what we had hoped for or expected.

Incredibly rude boys in the Boat House they need to be reminded who the client is! they are organising pedalos not super yachts ! shame since the rest of the staff are lovely.

Sadly would not recommend to Europeans

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you booked !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Netty09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Netty09,

As always our reviews are read by all management and staff members alike. When we receive reviews that highlight some negative perceptions it enables us to assess the product from a different perspective.

On the positive side we thank you for complimenting the staff's attentive and charming service, the rooms and the natural setting of the hotel complex.

As you correctly stated the hotel is located in a lagoon, however it is advertised the same.The lagoon does offer shallow water around the immediate coastline surrounding the hotel which varies according to tidal influence. It is clear that a hotel located in a lagoon was not the type of hotel you were searching for and we therefore understand your frustration. Surrounding the hotel/lagoon there are some beautiful natural beaches within a 2 min walking distance from the hotel beach itself. Wish I had the opportunity to discuss your options with you.

The occupancy percentage varies all through the year and is based on certain markets travelling more at different times of the year. My further views on your feedback regarding this topic is best left unstated as this is certainly not the correct place to discuss this topic.

Your views on the food selection has been well noted and you can be assured that attention has been given to these matters. We would like to offer the services of the management team to any guest visiting Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa as we can assist in resolving any issue during the accommodation period of the guest.

Finally regarding the boat house. Thank you for he feedback on this matter and be assured that this has already been dealt with.

We sincerely wish you a wonderful year further and again thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

The day we landed Mauritius was hit by storm. This made me think for once whether the hotel would be good enough to provide us the break me and my wife were looking for. The dark of the night and the storm actually took over the beauty of the place. The next morning, I still remember, was one of the most beautiful morning we experienced... The room opened into a lush green backyard next to a swimming pool and pool bar on one side and Jalsa Beach on the other. Though for a couple of days we had discomfort in our room when brought up to the management, they quickly upgraded us to a suite next to the beach. if you have plans to go for snorkeling or other water sports the boat house at the beach has it. The traditional dancers and pool-side party (complements to the hotel) was just another jewel to the crown. Now the food, the Indian food served was JUST FINE and the special dinner was not so special. Rather it was the same food from the buffet just served to your table. I think the chef can add more flavors to it. The pool bar was amazing with a variety of beverages to cool off your mind while you sit in the pool and enjoy your vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aman_GGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Aman_GGN,

The management and staff thank you for your positive feedback! We are pleased to read that Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa assisted in creating another memorable holiday experience.

Your comments on your first impression of the hotel and grounds on the morning after the storm was wonderful to read. Furthermore we are pleased to read that the management could be of assistance over and beyond the service our team offers in each respective department. With that in mind the management of Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa are always delighted to be of assistance to our guests!

The Sega show as detailed in your review is a highlight for any visitor to Mauritius. It presents the traditional dance and music of Mauritius and allows for the guests to meet the management team in a unique environment.

We eagerly await the next time you and your wife need "a break".

Wishing you well and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The location is very remote (over an hour's hair-raising taxiride from the airport) perfect for a secluded lazy get away. The hotel is very nicely presented but could benefit from a small shop selling those things you've run out of, shampoo etc. I had no complaints with the accommodation which was large, clean and nicely decorated. The shower was fantastic!! I would have liked a mirror over the table to sit and do my hair but in the end I didn't really bother as it was fairly relaxed. The staff in the restaurant couldn't do enough for you although I did get quite bored with the food by the end of my week's holiday. It was ideal for me who only wanted to sunbathe, read and sleep but a younger person or couple may find it too quiet. Beware the beach is non-existent!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Elaine V,

The management and staff sincerely thank you for your positive feedback. The reviews we receive are read by all members of our team and we take great pride in the positive feedback received.

We are overwhelmed that you have given a 5/5 rating for Sleep Quality, Rooms, Cleanliness and Service. However we will be looking into your feedback to get that overall rating to the same level.

As you correctly stated Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa does offers a relaxed and peaceful environment set in the beautiful surroundings of the east coast. It allows our guests to get away from the busy rush of the city areas.

We are pleased to read your comments on the rooms as the intention was to provide rooms which offers more space to enjoy. On a personal note I share your sentiment on the shower pressure.

Your feedback on the service is equally well appreciated as the team provides service with a personal touch as you well noted. The restaurant team has already received your feedback.

Finally we wish you a wonderful year further and hope to welcome you back for another visit.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed for 5 days and the hotel was very peaceful away from the city. The customer service was good but can improve. The Food is good but you feel it repetitive after a couple of days. The couple dinner arranged by them is not up to mark. It's the same dinner but served to the table. It should be better. Overall satisfied by the hotel/location but service can improve.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trgowtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Trgowtham,

The management and staff thank you for your positive feedback and recommendations. The reviews we receive serve as a measure of the product we deliver to our guests and you can be assured that your feedback has assisted us.

We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with the location and peaceful environment Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa has on offer. We take great pride in the level of service provided by our team but as per your recommendation we will push the limit further. Our kitchen team is currently working on adding new flavors to the buffet and private dinners we offer.

We look forward to welcome you back to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa.

Best wishes and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

i stayed in Jalsa for 5days and the hotel was really good.I found a/c was not effective and complained at the reception and the staff was good and ready to help,however even after checking the a/c it didnt work.As the weather is hot in december month in mauritius one needs good a/c in the room to relax.Finally i got a call from manager Richard that he would upgrade us to a suite.Me and my wife were delighted when we were upgraded to MOONLIGHT SUITE.
The room was really big it had a private balcony ,a lobby,a jacuzzi and a big washroom.The hotel only had two suites and luckily we got upgraded to a suite.We thank Richard for upgrading us and making our honeymoon so special and the best thing about this hotel is the staff which is really humble,polite and ready to listen.Food was really awesome and if you are an INDIAN you will get all varities of food from veg to non veg .

Overall our honeymoon was awesome thanks to Richard again and JALSA!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan_rohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Ryanr Rohan,

The management and staff thank you for your positive feedback. It was pleasure to meet you and most certainly a pleasure to assist you. My only regret is that your holiday with us was too short. Perhaps next time we will have the pleasure of having you visit us for a much longer holiday.

Thank you for choosing Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa as your holiday destination.

We congratulate you again on the bond you have created and wish you an abundance of happiness together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very good holiday returned on 07/01/13 . Our room (deluxe seaview) was very clean and tidy lovely view over the lagoon and gardens.All the staff were friendly and welcoming and always had a smile for us they were all excellent and should all be congratulated too many to name.The food is very good if you could not find what you wanted you just had to ask and your choice would be cooked for you no problem. A stunning setting lovely lagoon beautiful weather worth every penny go try it out.

Room Tip: Deluxe seaview room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Bill S,

The management and staff thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased to read that you have had a memorable holiday at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa.

I share your sentiment that the staff at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa adds tremendous value to the holiday experience of all our guests; each and every one an asset to the hotel.

Thank you for having chosen Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa as your holiday destination as well as for recommending the hotel as a destination of choice.

Best wishes and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poste Lafayette
10.8 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
15.8 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
11.6 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#4 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
14.5 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius

Property: Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius 41519
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the gentle shores of the Indian Ocean, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa overlooks a turquoise lagoon with stunning mountain scenery. Found along the North East coast of the tropical island of Mauritius, at Poste Lafayette, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is the perfect choice for those looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalsa Beach Hotel And Spa - Mauritius
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius Poste Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing